We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service & quality food”

Gilligan's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Sketty
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
swansea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service & quality food”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staff were extremely courteous and attentive . Atmosphere was very warm and welcoming. Good selection of starters & mains, with lots of variety. Very much enjoyed my first two courses, but slightly disappointed by the dessert (chocolate orange gateaux).

Overall, a good experience and would visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fyscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    28
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SWANSEA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A must try, had heard good reports from friends,didnt really fancy much on the menu, but food probably best weve had for a long time, up there with the best. if not the best. Friendly staff ,nothing I can complain about,will go back. Good value dont forget you can take your own wine and beer,soft drinks available not expensive like most places of this standard.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DEANO47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly and quality dining”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My family and I went here for a little celebration. I found the restaurant through Trip Advosr and read many good reviews, and having been Iid like to add to them!
We were warmly welcomed into our seats and asked if we had any drinks to be opened - they promote the BYOB policy they have. But don't fret, there are wines by the glass and bottle available, plus plenty of beer too.

We were given the evening menu, plus the specials, which all looked incredible. I had the beef filo pastry parcel, which was very tasty and crispy. Another one of the group had the pate, which came with plenty of toast. For the main course, I had the cod that came with a fantastic tangy and creamy sauce. The saute potatoes and vegetables were both very well cooked. The desserts were great too, not too sweet and well prepared.

A really good experience, and I would return soon if I lived in Swansea, but my parents have vowed to go back soon. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catrin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent night out”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a lovely meal last night. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The staff were very, very friendly, happy, helpful, and made us feel very welcome. The food was absolutely gorgeous, loads of choice from the menu and also from the specials board. All of the party I was with enjoyed their food. We were not rushed in any way which was very refreshing. I would certainly recommend booking as we went on a Wednesday night and it was packed. I will certainly be returning here very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went to the restaurant last night for the first time and wasn't disappointed. Good menu offering unpretentious food at excellent prices. 2 or 3 courses available Wednesday/Thursday from £16.95. Friendly, attentive staff who struck the right balance with their service.

This is just what Sketty has been crying out for and it was nice to see it full with a great atmosphere on a midweek night. I had the mushrooms starter and salmon off the specials board and both were great. The cod also looked very nice.

The BYO idea is spot on as it keeps the costs down, especially if going out it a group but at £3.50 for a large glass the house white was excellent.

Only change I would make is replacing the sweetcorn with something else like white cabbage but that's just my own personal preference and by no means detracts from an excellent meal.

Will be back without question.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lh571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilligan's Restaurant also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Gilligan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing