We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly”
Review of Chatcoombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sketty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chatcoombe
Ranked #1 of 1 Sketty B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at Chatcoombe with two other couples for 2 nights.
Lovely B&B with excellent hosts
The breakfasts were fantastic!
Lovely rooms with everything you could wish for.
Thank you very much Merle and Richard

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCluskey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
34
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at Chatcoombe for one night during our holiday visiting different part of Wales. It was a last minute booking and Merl and Richard could not have been more welcoming and accommodating! It was a lovely and very comfortable room! The wide range of choice for breakfast was fantastic! Merl and Richard were wonderful hosts, full of great advice for our holiday! We definitely recommend Chatcoombe to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Due to work in Swansea I stayed for a week at Chatcoombe and simply could not have been made to feel more welcome! Merl and Richard are the most wonderful hosts who make you feel so at home in their lovely house. The breakfasts are outstanding, the rooms lovely, location brilliant but above all their welcoming personalities make this a real hidden treasure. To anyone visiting the area looking for somewhere to stay, you could not find anywhere better! I will definitely be staying again on my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassondani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My sister and I stayed for 3 nights to attend our nephews wedding Richard and Merle fab hosts great location comfy bed and fantastic choice for breakfast would highly recommend more like family home than a BB

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lala48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here last Friday as we were going to a 25th wedding anniversary at Sketty Hall. We arrived last because of bad traffic and Richard and Merle couldn't have been more helpful. Richard even took the time to drive us to the venue.
Very comfortable and clean accommodation and the best breakfast I have ever had in a B&B. Can't recommend it highly enough. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Richard and Merle made us feel welcome and at home from the moment we arrived, when we were offered a very welcome cup of tea after our journey, until the moment we left when Richard and Merle stood on the steps and waved us on our way. The breakfast was stupendous. If we could have scored it higher we would! It was also superbly situated for visiting our Nephew in Sketty.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SumatraJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, South Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents who stayed here for a few days in March 2013.
The guest house is located in a central, but peaceful location within easy access of the seafront, Clyne, Mumbles, Sketty, Singleton park (University) and local shops. The guest house is close to the local university - about a 5-10 min walk, so perfect for those here on business or pleasure.

The guest house is on a lovely quiet road, and there are some views towards the sea. I describe this as a hidden gem as I hadn't known about this place until I did a web search on visit swansea bay.com.

The proprietors were very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
The facilities in the room were excellent - tea, coffee, etc replenished daily, a comfy bed and good en-suite.

The breakfasts were also excellent - there was plenty of choice and the quality of the food was outstanding.

All in all I am very glad I picked this guest house for my parents - first class service and very friendly proprietors. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again & can highly recommend it to other visitors to Swansea.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElusiveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sketty
1.5 mi away
The White House
The White House
#15 of 22 in Swansea
161 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,525 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 22 in Swansea
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatcoombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatcoombe

Property: Chatcoombe
Address: 20 Rhyd-y-Defaid Drive | Swansea, Sketty, Swansea SA2 8AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Sketty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sketty
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed and Breakfast in Swansea of exceptional quality, Chatcoombe is ideally located to visit the beautiful Gower coastline, Mumbles, Swansea City and the Maritime Quarter. We are a few minute's walk to the University, Singleton Hospital, National Pool and Sketty Hall. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chatcoombe Sketty, Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing