We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel like a relation dropping in”
Review of Chatcoombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sketty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chatcoombe
Ranked #1 of 1 Sketty B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed for two nights with Merle and Richard (who has a cousin in every corner of the Gower)
Sketty is a good springboard to launch into the Gower and there's no problem parking nearby. Merle and Richard are indeed wonderful hosts - the breakfast would shame large hotels, though I'd be tempted to cut down on the massed rank of marmalades as you begin to wonder how old some of them are. Our room was small but well equipped with a slight condensation issue in the bathroom. We would certainly go back as by the time you leave you feel like you're related. Richard told us some great stories about his childhood and the trains into Mumbles and watch out for Merle saying, "Don't be sad now..." when the sad bit approaches.

Room Tip: The room without the ensuite has the best view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FGoesToHinchleyWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatcoombe, Owner at Chatcoombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

We would like to thank all our guests for their excellent reviews.They are really appreciated.Thankyou for taking the time to write them.
(Just as an aside,to reassure future guests,all preserves are stored chilled,checked daily,and all have manufacturer's date coding).
Look forward to seeing you all again,Kind Regards, Merle and Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Chatcoombe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a night when working in Swansea. What a lovely place! The welcoming you get is warm and straight away we got offered a cup of tea. The room I stayed in was incredibly cosy and had everything you could possibly need. The breakfast choice is just unbelievable! There was so many choices of fresh fruit. The cooked breakfast was delicious. I really can't rate this place highly enough. Richard and Merle who run it really have got it right!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheggers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at Chatcoombe with two other couples for 2 nights.
Lovely B&B with excellent hosts
The breakfasts were fantastic!
Lovely rooms with everything you could wish for.
Thank you very much Merle and Richard

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McCluskey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at Chatcoombe for one night during our holiday visiting different part of Wales. It was a last minute booking and Merl and Richard could not have been more welcoming and accommodating! It was a lovely and very comfortable room! The wide range of choice for breakfast was fantastic! Merl and Richard were wonderful hosts, full of great advice for our holiday! We definitely recommend Chatcoombe to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Due to work in Swansea I stayed for a week at Chatcoombe and simply could not have been made to feel more welcome! Merl and Richard are the most wonderful hosts who make you feel so at home in their lovely house. The breakfasts are outstanding, the rooms lovely, location brilliant but above all their welcoming personalities make this a real hidden treasure. To anyone visiting the area looking for somewhere to stay, you could not find anywhere better! I will definitely be staying again on my next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassondani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My sister and I stayed for 3 nights to attend our nephews wedding Richard and Merle fab hosts great location comfy bed and fantastic choice for breakfast would highly recommend more like family home than a BB

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lala48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here last Friday as we were going to a 25th wedding anniversary at Sketty Hall. We arrived last because of bad traffic and Richard and Merle couldn't have been more helpful. Richard even took the time to drive us to the venue.
Very comfortable and clean accommodation and the best breakfast I have ever had in a B&B. Can't recommend it highly enough. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sketty
1.3 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#12 of 22 in Swansea
214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hurst Dene Hotel
Hurst Dene Hotel
#19 of 22 in Swansea
62 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
The White House
The White House
#15 of 22 in Swansea
167 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#10 of 22 in Swansea
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatcoombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatcoombe

Address: 20 Rhyd-y-Defaid Drive | Swansea, Sketty, Swansea SA2 8AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Sketty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sketty
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bed and Breakfast in Swansea of exceptional quality, Chatcoombe is ideally located to visit the beautiful Gower coastline, Mumbles, Swansea City and the Maritime Quarter. We are a few minute's walk to the University, Singleton Hospital, National Pool and Sketty Hall. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chatcoombe Sketty, Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing