We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget the locals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tudor Lodge Jameston
Ranked #1 of 2 Jameston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't forget the locals”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Booked a Sunday lunch for 5, they allocated a table for 4. They added another place setting on the end of the table, right by the strong breeze from the open French doors. The Manageress said 'you are only local so you won't mind will you', it was not a question but a statement. She does need to realise that it is the locals that keep coming back all year round not just in the holiday season. I have been here several times in the past, and although the décor has changed slightly, it is a pity that more emphasis has been put on the accommodation side. The front garden is set out with tables and benches and is a really nice place to have a drink and chat. There is a marquee to the side as additional seating and eating area. Not much for children to do. They have themed nights which are of no interest to me personally, but think they may appeal to others. Menu was OK, slightly overpriced compared with other establishments in the area. Food was average, Soups under-seasoned, pureed vegetables and bland. Mains were acceptable, but gravy was awful, and went cold very quickly due to the positioning of the table. Dessert was excellent if on the smallish side. Waitresses and Bar staff were pleasant and friendly. Don't think I will return, there are better places to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank taff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    24
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
60
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights at the Tudor Lodge very recently as we were participating in a cycling event at Tenby. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and within a short time ,Christine, the Manager showed us to the accommodation which comprises about 5 very recently refurbished bedrooms of various layouts and sizes in a characterful building adjoining the inn. Our room was a very clean, generously sized double room , beautifully appointed with a very stylish and large en suite. We were delighted by this "find" as the room exceeded our expectations.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Friday evening and again were very pleased with the service, the variety and quality of the food. The sea bass was particularly good and the white chocolate cheesecake too good to resist.
A three course dinner for two, with drinks came to £50 which we feel was good value for money.
Christine also arranged for us to have an early breakfast on the Saturday in order that we could meet our start time for the event.
We did not eat at the hotel on Saturday only because we had been invited to a barbecue, otherwise we would have happily dined there again. Sunday breakfast was again comprehensive and deliciously cooked.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Pembrokeshire, and may well return ourselves later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cycleman010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saas-Grund, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

During our travel we treated us to the deluxe suite at the Tudor Lodge and were very pleased. The room has only shortly been refurbished to a high standard and looks really handsome. It is large with a very generous bathroom suite and provides a comfy bed. I imagine it can get rather noisy at night, when they are housing a wedding party, but was quiet the time we visited. Also our friend’s bedroom was large, airy and modern, all kept very clean. Breakfast was really luxury as well, with a large buffet choice and lovely cooked options. We can also recommend their Steak Night, nicely cooked pub food at a very reasonable price (the a la carte menu looked tempting as well). The staff are very helpful and welcoming, so we can only recommend this as an option for the Tenby area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capricorno-vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We booked this as a base for a couple of nights to explore Pembrokeshire and we weren't disappointed.

The accommodation is behind the pub, so no customers wandering around too close by. The room we had (5) was very clean and well decorated. There were a couple of issues but we reported these to the staff - one of them being that the TV looked like it was about to fall off the wall! When we came back from our first day out, however, it had been sorted. Very comfortable room and the bed was huge! Lovely wet room type shower and lots of little smellies should you forget your shampoo etc.

We ate in the pub on the first evening and the food was lovely and reasonably priced. The breakfasts far outshine anything else though - we had the large Welsh breakfast and it was amazing! Very tasty and plenty of it!

There were two small blips though; one was that on one of the mornings the bins were emptied very early and these are situated right by the accommodation - maybe take ear plugs if you're thinking of staying early in the week! The second was, we had been to their sister pub, the Carew Inn, for a meal and wanted to go for a glass of wine in the Tudor Lodge when we returned (9.30pm), however, the bar was closed and they were getting ready to go home! Bit strange seeing as there were several guests staying in the accommodation!

All in all, this is a great base for exploring the coastline, with Freshwater West being about 15-20 minutes drive away and Tenby about 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obmaroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was treated to a 2 day mid-week break in late June for my birthday. My husband can't remember how he found the hotel on the web, but, as always, after reading Trip Advisor reviews the deal was sealed. It is situated off a main road in a quiet village a short distance between Tenby and Manobier. You do need a car to access both but that would be recommended anyway to get the most from a visit to the area which has many attractions for both children and adults.

The room we had was thoughtfully furnished and finished to a high quality. The attention to detail to make your stay comfortable made you feel very welcome. A good selection, and the biggest quantity I have ever experienced of tea and coffee in the room with equal amounts of milk and cream! High quality toiletries and even tea lights to make the most of the generous bathroom with slipper bath. The staff were all wonderful and anything you needed or wanted like extra speciality tea, a table in the busy restaurant without a reservation, a variation of breakfast items or just a natter, they tried hard to accommodate and succeeded in making us feel special. We are foodies but also have achievable expectations of various eateries. There was nothing to criticize here. Very reasonable prices for exceptional quality products and cooking with efficient service with a smile. We indulged in lunch and dinners utilising main menu and specials, both to an equal standard. Excellent fish, perfectly cooked steaks, real chips or good tasty local potatoes, the crispiest, lightest batter which stayed crisp throughout, home-made tartare and pepper sauces and the most favoursome soft fruit on the breakfast table. And about the breakfasts... Good selection of cold, hot to order, highest quality bacon, sausage and tasty eggs and mushrooms, but one warning, unless your hunger can match the quantity of the large breakfast, tailor to suit (if you don't want to be embarrassed like me). Staff and their commitment for you to enjoy your stay are what makes a great place brilliant.

Room Tip: 5 rooms are all in an adjacent annexe and were quiet when we stayed even though they were all occupi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed for one night in room no. 2, very clean, furnished to a high standard. Lovely bathroom lots of little extras. Excellent breakfast.We needed to check in early and this was no problem at all. The staff were very helpful. Would defiantly stay again.Thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golding467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross On Wye
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights beginning of June (mainly based on reviews here). We were very pleased with our choice. Bedrooms are newly developed and very well laid out and furnished. We had a lovely bathroom and comfortable bed etc. The location is a little way out, but only a shortish drive from coasline at Manorbier and about 10 mins back into Tenby. Food was excellent - very well cooked breakfasts etc and we ate in pub restaurant one night and had a good meal, well priced. It is popular with locals too, which is a good sign. Staff were friendly and attentive. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We went for room with a BATH, some only have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memberRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jameston
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#1 of 1 in Hodgeston
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castlemead Hotel
Castlemead Hotel
#3 of 6 in Manorbier
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge Jameston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge Jameston

Property: Tudor Lodge Jameston
Address: Tudor Lodge Tenby Road, Jameston SA70 7SS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Jameston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jameston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge Jameston 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2012 we undertook the conversion of an unused part of our traditional Country Inn into 5 luxury boutique en-suite rooms. They are individually styled and luxuriously furnished, each room having its own character and theme. All bedrooms are provided with LCD colour TVs, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer, luggage stand, iron & ironing board. Bedroom 1: Built into the arched roof, this bedroom has a luxury Kingsize bed in a Gothic frame, it has a luxuriant feel - treat yourself to a royal retreat. Located on the first floor, it is large and well lit, enjoying morning sunlight through the feature windows. Views over the children’s play area and neighbouring fields. Bedroom 1 has both a bath and large enclosed shower, toilet & wash basin with complimentary toiletries. Room rates are from £90 per room per night including breakfast. Bedroom 2: Also built into the arched roof, this bedroom has a luxury Kingsize bed in a Gothic frame. The room can also accommodate a third bed to make a triple or small family room. Located on the first floor, it is large & well lit, and enjoys evening sun. Bedroom 2 has a fabulously appointed bathroom, in white and red, with a walk-in shower & slipper bath. It also has toilet & wash basin with complimentary toiletries. Room rates are from £90 per room per night including breakfast. Bedroom 3: Located on the first floor, it enjoys evening light. Bedroom 3 has a seaside feel, finished in greens & blues - a holiday haven. It has a double bed and is offered for dual or single occupancy. It has an enclosed shower, toilet & wash basin with complimentary toiletries. Room rates are from £65 per room per night including breakfast. Bedroom 4: This bedroom has a luxury Super Kingsize bed, it can also be configured as a twin bedded room. It has a Hollywood theme so you can have a glamorous getaway. Located on the first floor, it is large & well lit, enjoying morning sun and views to the East. Bedroom 4 has a large enclosed shower, toilet & wash basin with complimentary toiletries Room rates are from £80 per room per night including breakfast. Bedroom 5: This bedroom has a luxury Super Kingsize bed, it can also be configured as a twin room, and the room can also accommodate a third bed to make a triple or family room. It has a lovely purple and white colour scheme - it's the bosses' favourite colour. Located on the ground floor, it is large & well lit, enjoying morning sun, and a short walk to the dedicated guests' terrace. Bedroom 5 has a large semi open shower in a wet room - so no steps to tackle. This, along with ramped access to our ground floor makes this room especially suited to those less mobile. It also has toilet & wash basin with complimentary toiletries. Room rates are from £80 per room per night including breakfast. We provide rooms on a bed and breakfast basis, but if you desire we can provide room only accommodation, however we do suggest that you take advantage of our breakfasts to set you up for the day. Tudor Lodge Bars & Restaurants are also at you service to meet all your refreshment requirements. We also have a sister establishment, Carew Inn in Carew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tudor Lodge Jameston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Lodge Jameston Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing