We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night here recently as we had booked a meal at The Hardwick in Abergavenny.The friendly new owners ensured we had a very comfortable stay in this peaceful location.We found the room was cosy and very clean.Nice big bathroom with toiletries and fluffy towels.Really enjoyed the breakfast which is taken in the bright airy conservatory.Good choice of breakfast dishes cooked to order.Would definitely recommend this B&B as there are some lovely eateries nearby and good walks in stunning countryside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenmthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here during the Abergavenny Food Festival, we expected it to be really good. It was only average apart from the breakfast which was very good with plenty of choice.
The room was OK but so many cushions and stuffed toys on the beds are not necessary. The bathroom was a let down it was very difficult to flush the loo and the shower was not up to standard.

Room Tip: Do not chose the twin room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edgware_LondonNevuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed at Llansabbath with a group of friends last week for three nights. We had comfortable rooms with beautiful bathrooms and lovely views of the garden and surrounding countryside. Chris and Lilian are extremely friendly hosts and we had great fun at breakfast time! The breakfast menu is very varied and the food really delicious. I would have liked to stay longer and sample more of the choices! There is a nice little sitting-room which was great for us to meet up in as we were a group of 6. Chris was very helpful with local knowledge/directions/train times etc. I'd love to come back to Llansabbath sometime!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dohu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here on the 24th and 25th and although I was apprehensive of staying in a b&b at first, when we arrived we were met by chris and shown to our room and all the apprehension washed away. The room we stayed in was the 'willows' aptly named for the lovely view of the willow tree out of the window, was wonderful, spacious, very comfy. The adjoining shower/wash room was rather larger then expected and spotless. Fresh milk was available just outside the door in a little fridge(a nice touch so not disturbed) to go with the coffee, tea or hot chocolate that was supplied in the room. The breakfasts in the morning were deliscious and of a large quantity with plenty to choose from and although breakfast is between 8 & 9 we, weren't rushed nor were the couple refused, that ordered theirs at 09:15. Me and my partner enjoyed a nice run each morning through the beautifully scenic surroundings and even hiked our way up one of the beacons(can't remember which one) which again was lovely. Abergavenny is just a short drive away, a little town that offers some nice little places along with a few pretentious ones. We ate in a few of the local eateries, I would recommend the 'hen and chickens' pub that serve up some lovely food and offer a nice service. We also took a drive to the skirrid pub which is 6 miles from the b&b but was definitely worth going to, lovely food, large portions and in a very quaint little pub that hosts a lot of history and a very nice host to top it off. The only issue with the whole visit, came from the Indian restaurant/take away in Abergavenny called 'the bayleaf' which although the food wasn't too bad, the host was damn rude and was overpriced, £6 for two pints of flat coke poured from a bottle left on the floor behind the bar, need I say more?. Overall very pleasant accommodating hosts, lovely scenic location, peaceful and we will definitely be visiting again :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadpole952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I am awake in my crappy room in the middle of the night being kept awake by the owners television blaring intomthe quiet night. This has got,to be the WORST place to stay in Wales. Do not ever be enticed to stay here. We are the ONLY guests and the owners are making so,much noise we cannot sleep. And themplace is cramped and hot and horrible. There is no fridge. The place is miles frommanywhere and you would expect amgood nights sleep, but themowners make so much noise you might as well stay ina city where at least you could get a meal.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not directly above the owners TV room. Better still don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llansabbath, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

I think these are a very confused couple.As for who rated us 5 star it was the Welsh Tourist Board
not only are we 5 star but we have won the gold award every year since 2009.This couple stayed
with us on wed and thurs .Thursday we watched no t.v.at all as we were out and Wednesday we went to bed at 10 p.m. No t.v.was on in the middle of the night.We think this review is without any
Basis in fact its total fantasy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Llansabbath Country House to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed from Friday 26th through until departure on the 28th July. Upon arrival we were greeted by Lilian one of the ownders, we also met a number of cats including Fabian who I nicknamed Dribbles for obvious reasons because she does, and numerous chickens. We were shown to the Willow Room by Lilian. Passing from the entrance to the stairway it is obvious that this property has been well thought out with numerous awards. The Willow Room was excellent and the bath room larger than average all spotlessly clean and the wonderful white cotton bed sheets and superb bath towels plus a favourite of mine a power shower. The weather upon arrival was hot and we walked along the country lane to the local church by the river. A fantastic location for peace and quiet as well as leaving us free to keep the window in our room wide open during the whole time we were there, superb when sleeping to breath real country air and also to enjoy the sounds of the country side. We spent a lovely weekend visiting various places and restaurants etc and cannot speak to highly of the many friendly people we met in Abergavenny both in the shops and also the old fashioned retail market. Another feature of the stay with Lilian was her husband Chris an ex Bristolian like both myself and my wife hence the Gert Lush title which for those who do not know Bristoleeze is in fact a descriptive reserved for the very best of everything. Chris was great fun and we spent many times laughing on our city of origin. Any cause for complaint none and with WiFi as well we had all we could want.
Oh by the way I should mention the breakfasts because their menu actually has more items thereon than the average hotel including the very best Porridge (Porage as spelt on the menu) I have ever tasted.
Yes a wonderful weekend and one which we really are keen to repeat if only to see "Dribbles" and the Chickens. Sorry Chris and Lilian no offence meant thanks again for a great time.

Room Tip: No tip would be required as all the 5 rooms at the property are all individual and we are sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

What a lovely surprise this guest house was, down a very long country lane stands a house that looks just like any other house but wow step through the door and it all changes to 5 star plus, a very warm welcome and the rooms are so big and comfortable. The breakfast is to die for, free range eggs melt in the mouth bacon + loads of fresh orange. tea or coffee with refills if needed. We now wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Phantom F, Owner at Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

This response is to clarify that as of February 2015, Llansabbath Country House B&B has been under new management by myself, Dawn, and my partner Aldrin and our family. The infrastructure of the house as a B&B remains largely as it was when reviews prior to this date were made, although we have very much made the place our own from a completely blank canvas. We aim to provide first class accommodation and breakfasts in this beautiful house, and are aiming for 5 star status with all renowned grading associations. We look forward to welcoming you to Llansabbath Country House B&B soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanover
2.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
937 reviews
2.6 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
544 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plas Derwen
Plas Derwen
#6 of 31 in Abergavenny
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B

Address: Llanover Lane, Llanover, Abergavenny NP7 9BY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Llanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanover
Price Range: £78 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawn and Emily warmly welcome you to five individually styled rooms, sleeping up to ten adults in this tastefully modernised former farmhouse. Spacious en-suites. Powerful showers. Exceptional breakfast choice and quality. Fine/mid-range evening dining such as the locally popular Hardwick restaurant is 6 minutes away or the Michelin starred Walnut Tree Inn only 12 minutes drive away. Garden, countryside and mountain views can be appreciated all year round. Monmouthshire Golf Club is only 2.5 miles away. Monmouth and Brecon Canal, the Usk Valley Path, Offa's Dyke and the Three Castles Walk are within a 5 to 30-minute drive as are Sugar Loaf, Skirrid and the Blorenge mountains. The Brecon Four Peaks Walk (Corn Du, Pen y Fan, Cribyn, Fan y Big) and the waterfalls at Pontneddfechan are an hour away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B Llanover, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing