We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay”
Review of The Studio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cwmdu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Studio
Ranked #1 of 2 Cwmdu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at The Studio and were really pleased with our choice. It was very comfortable and the view from the room is stunning. Cathie could not be more helpful. She is a lovely warm hostess who cooks a delicious breakfast served piping hot and spot on time. The Studio is well stocked with tea/coffee/milk and there is a small refrigerator so it was easy to help ourselves to hot drinks whenever we wanted one. I read the review written by Wildheart just before we left for our stay at The Studio so I was slightly apprehensive prior to our arrival but when we arrived I wondered if they had been staying at the same place. The little garden for the guests to use is very private - only overlooked by sheep. Also, Cathie and Jeff use the same parking space that guests use. We had no issues with the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j.fordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello and thank you very much for your review of the Studio. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as we do try hard to make each and every guest's visit the best we can. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and your delightful family and we do hope that you will return to this part of Wales again in the future.

with warmest regards
Cathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having discovered the studio, I'm a bit reluctant to give it a good review in case there is no availability when I want to stay there again - and I know that we will want to stay there again! Cathie and Jeff give you the best of both worlds, the privacy and space we normally associate with self catering accommodation ( your own private entrance through a gate and up some steepish steps) and the luxury of having your breakfast cooked and, of course, no washing up. The free range bantam hens' eggs are delicious. Parking is in the layby in the narrow country lane, so if this bothers you, perhaps this not the place for you but we liked the location and the views and I really cannot understand the previous review about untidiness of the drive - a tidy wood pile and some plants some of which are brambles - this is the countryside! The little garden has some good views and we didn't feel that it lacked privacy. Neither did we have any problem with flies inside (although there were plenty in the garden under the tree) and our windows were open constantly. if you don't like the table being laid in advance for you, simple put the crockery to one side. There was no problem with mould or slugs so don't let the previous review put you off this charming B&B - we won't! Cathie clearly wants you to enjoy your stay and goes that extra mile to ensure that you have everything you need from information about the area to catering for special diets. She's also chatty and fun but never intrusive. We felt relaxed from the moment we arrived and wished our stay had been longer. Thank you Cathie and Jeff!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lily22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review and for taking the trouble to let others know that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you visit and as such lovely guests we would be delighted to welcome you back if you chose to return in the future.

We always value honest feedback about the Studio and try our utmost to make everyone's holiday whether it be short break or longer stay a pleasurable one.

warmest regards
Cathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Having read the reviews, I was really looking forward to my stay here. However, having just returned from touring, this was the least impressive of similar priced accommodation.
There is no doubt, the location is stunning. Upon arrival you are greeted with a driveway you can't use, but the owner uses and it looks untidy. There are steep and narrow steps up to the rear doorway. The windows were open, understandable on a hot day, but the flies that inevitably get inside have free access to the uncovered tea and coffee tray. Worse than that, the table by the window is already laid for breakfast, so there was a large bluebottle sitting in a cereal bowl. Also, you can't sit and enjoy the view out of the window from the table comfortably,because it's covered in crockery.
The small rear garden has a tiny table and two chairs, but also a view of a large tank and the owners property, and is not at all private.
The bathroom smelt musty, and there is mould on the wall under the sink and black mould around the taps and plughole in the bath. It would definitely benefit from a refresh.
The bed was clean and comfortable. However, I woke during the night, and needing the loo, discovered 2 slugs crawling up the cupboard door towards the kettle. Uurgh!
Cathie does cook a delicious breakfast and seems eager to please, and it is with regret I have written this review, as I hate to think I have upset anyone, but I value true reviews on this site.I wouldn't want to stay again due to the issues highlighted above.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Wildheart65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent 3 nights here to go walking in the Brecon Beacons. We received a very warm welcome from Cathy and were instantly made to feel welcome.
The separate accommodation is cosy and comfortable. The cooked breakfast is delightful and delivered hot to your door; with the bacon, sausages and eggs all being locally sourced.
Cathy is a great hostess who is warm, welcoming and attentive.
Good food and a warm welcome in the local pub to.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi Guys

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are always thrilled and a little humbled when people take the time and trouble to comment on their stay and despite the Welsh weather throwing everything it had at you we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at the Studio. We know that little breaks away are an important part of our busy lives these days and we do are utmost to ensure that you really enjoy your stay and with such lovely guests it really wasn't hard at all. Thank you for your kind comments on our breakfast, with such delicious local produce here on our doorstep we are very lucky and once the weather improves we will once again be providing the eggs from our own little hens which are quite delicious and you couldn't get much fresher. We do hope you return and get the opportunity to see Wales in the sunshine when the scenery is spectacular and in my opinion there is no nicer place to be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The location of the studio is amazing with spectacular views and scenery. Cathie was a delightful host, offering us lots of helpful advise about the local area, and we had a delicious breakfast in the morning. Easily one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r_smith36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you so much, we are always very appreciative when our guests take the time and trouble to tell us and others that they have enjoyed their stay. We know from both guest feed back and personal experience that people do find reviews helpful in making decisions about where to stay and we are delighted that you feel we are one of the best B&B's you have visited.

We do hope you will get the opportunity to stay with us again as you were charming guests and would be most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Studio is the ideal spot for exploring the Brecon Beacons. It's also the perfect accommodation for people like us who don't enjoy sharing a breakfast table! Having somewhere to sit comfortably in the evening and plenty of space for all our gear is a real plus too. We were made to feel very welcome and feel that the facilities including a good choice of drinks etc was very generous. Not forgetting the very tasty home made welsh cakes! Every last detail seems to have been thought of, including a tumble dryer! Access up steep and narrow external steps could present a problem for those less mobile and be a worry for anyone with a toddler. We only scratched the surface of all the walking there is to do, so hopefully will be back one day. Thanks Cathie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

"Perfect spot surrounded by beautiful countryside" I couldn't have put it better myself. Thank you very much for your review of the Studio and for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and would like to return to explore more of what this lovely area has to offer as there is so much to see and do. Your comments about the steps are very valid, but do remember there is an alternative way to access the Studio which misses out those steps altogether and gives people the chance to say hello and thanks to the chickens on the way, for all those lovely fresh eggs they provide for breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were originally planning to stay just 1 night for a family event in the area which ended up being cancelled but had had such a lovely chat with Cathie to book we decided to make a weekend of it and still go (for 2 nights).
Best decision we've ever made, the room is spacious with double bed & single large sofa to watch the big tv (after your lovely country walk) and even a collection of dvds if you fancy a night-in.
The room has a mini kitchen area with fridge, tea/coffee facilities - have to note there are 5 varieties of tea which was a treat!
We arrived to tasty chocolate cake and were awoken the next morning with a delicious hot breakfast (cereal etc. is already in the room too!) with eggs from Cathie & Jeff's own chickens no less. Breakfast is served on your own little table in the room with stunning views of the valley.
Within a few minutes of a lovely pub (Farmers Arms) serving proper pub-grub dinners, and on several walking routes the Studios location couldn't be better - we recommend the horseshoe walk!
Our stay was so good we booked another weekend stay before we left. Huge thanks to Cathie & Jeff for such a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathie-theStudio, Owner at The Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write your lovely review. Although it is sad that your family event was cancelled, we were delighted that you decided to come and stay with us anyway and even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We think we are very lucky to live in such a beautiful part of Wales and really do enjoy being able to share all it has to offer with our many visitors. We look forward to your return visit and hope you will find the Cwmdu Valley just as enchanting in the Autumn as the summer. The walks will be here just waiting to be taken, the hot chocolate will be ready and all you'll need to bring for a wonderful relaxing weekend will be some slippers and a good book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Studio

Address: Tyffynon, Cwmdu, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1RU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Cwmdu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cwmdu
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a lovely, rural location and stay in your own Studio Annex - a B & B that is much more than just a bed. Situated between Abergavenny and Brecon in the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park, The Studio is set down a quiet country lane with views of the Black Mountains from every window. Completely separate from the main house, with private entrance and its own pretty garden with table and chairs. The Studio is light and spacious, with a double and single bed, as well as a large comfortable sofa, Flat screen TV, DVD and CD player and free WiFi. There is a good local pub serving food just five minutes' walk away and a small fridge is provided with fresh milk and space to pop your picnic or a bottle of wine. The en suite facilities include a full length bath to soak away aching muscles after a good day out as well as a power shower. We bring you a hearty cooked breakfast in your own room with the emphasis on quality ingredients locally sourced. Or if you prefer a leisurely start,we can supply you with cereal, locally baked bread and home-made jams and a toaster and leave you to it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Studio Cwmdu, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing