We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub!”
Review of The Farmers Arms

The Farmers Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cwmdu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Farmers Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Cwmdu B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Really enjoyed our visits to this pub in August 2012. Very good food and nice homely feel about it. Good locals and nice beer. Have no hesitation recommending this pub to passers by and people staying locally (as we did).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Looks can be deceiving! The flowers outside are better tended than the customers! No one in pub, which has lovely stone flags on floor, we were allowed to take our small and well behaved dog in and she sat happily under our table. The Landlord was not there. The food was OK, not brilliant, but OK. We went back in the evening and the lunchtime staff looked nervous, the Landlord just looked at us and gestured to us to get out - no curtesy, no hospitality, in fact we could have eaten outside as it was a nice evening but his attitude was dreadful. We won't be recommending this pub!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Crumblepie870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Food and drink ok, but avoid this pub if you have a dog; you'll end up eating outside in the cold and dark. The landlord even closed the door behind us since he was getting a bit chilly inside. No wonder we were the only people there. We won't be going back!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

After a long journey we had a lovely warm welcome from the family & staff! Great variety on the menu service with a smile food was delicious would highly recommend the farmers arms for food or drinks keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TheRoyalHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

There were new people running this pub to our last visit. The food was well cooked, good quality and at and at an acceptable price. I was not too keen however on being automatically offered the highest percentage alcohol bitter than being told about the range (I drink bitter for the taste rather than the effect) The volume on the television could also be turned down a bit.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JockBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

A fantastic little pub in the middle of Cwmdu. Always had a good reputation for food but unfortunately we didn't have time to sample the menu this visit but it is worth mentioning that even as a village pub visitors get a warm welcome.

Room Tip: Sorry, haven't stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I have never stayed at the Farmers Arms, but I have eaten here on a number of occasions whilst camping at the local campsite,
There is always a warm welcome and a varied and enticing menu. The food has always been of a good quality, and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_from_Soton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmdu
0.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
#4 of 16 in Crickhowell
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
733 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms

Property: The Farmers Arms
Address: Cwmdu, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1RU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Cwmdu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cwmdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Farmers Arms Cwmdu, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing