We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead loss lasagne”
Review of The Farmers Arms

The Farmers Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cwmdu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Farmers Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Cwmdu B&B and Inns
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dead loss lasagne”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stopped off for a quick lunch on route to somewhere. Not one of our better ideas. We realised after sitting down that the menu was pretty limited, it was very quiet in the pub and there was an uncomfortable atmosphere. However, as we were almost the only people there, it just felt too awkward to leave without ordering. It took nearly 40 minutes for us to be served the worst vegetable lasagne I've ever had the misfortune to encounter. It was also a misnomer as there was only one very small square of pasta adrift amongst the soggy motley mass of vegetables. Not a whiff of béchamel sauce just a bit of grated cheese (cheddar) on top - not stilton and cheddar as stated in the menu. Totally tasteless.This was accompanied by a portion of stale tasting spongy (microwaved) new potatoes and the best of a bad job, a decent portion of crisp but very basic salad. Had I paid around 7 quid for this then I probably would have put it down to experience and wouldn't have bothered to write a review. Staggeringly it was a few pence shy of 10 quid. It's just not good enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We visited The Farmers Arms for Sunday lunch. The pub was welcoming, cosy and a typical rural country pub. The service was first class from the young waiter and waitress; nothing was too much trouble.

The starter was fantastic value and could easily have been the main meal for its size, quantity and quality.

The main was really tasty - with a fantastic option for vegetarians.

Will return again for a Sunday lunch - worthwhile travelling that bit further out to have a quality meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highkick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A lovely pub/B & B. The hospitality at this establishment was faultless, superb food & ale, lovely accommodation with a landlord/landlady (plus dog) to match. The countryside of this area makes it well worth a visit using the pub as a base. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

we stayed here saturday night 22nd June. Very friendly atmosphere. Meal was very nice and made to feel really welcome by landlord and his wife. Would definately return hopefully next year with family over for a wedding nearby. Room was small but cosy and peaceful. Certainly a nice place for a base and just a short drive into crickhowell. Definately give it a try to allay any doubts you may have from previous posts. Lovely friendly community

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherekhan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Four of us ladies camped nearby and came to the pub which is around 400metres away from the campsite.the landlord greeted us upon arrival and we had a delicious meal in the restaurant. Following that we went into the bar and joined in on a game of Dom with the locals. We enjoyed it so much we returned for Sunday lunch which was superb.Would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Evendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Spent three nights here in early May 2013. In the smaller of the two rooms. Basic facilities but all I needed was a warm dry bed while my astronomer friends were camping down the road.
Shower could be more powerful but excellent cooked breakfast and local real ale. May I recommend the Breacon Diamond beer.
Helps if you know the name of the dog is Chester.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBY, England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

My husband & I ate here recently & found it to be warm & friendly, full of character & charm. We had a lovely meal & my husband enjoyed the locally brewed beer! We would definitely eat here again if we were in Cwmdu.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmdu
0.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
#4 of 16 in Crickhowell
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
731 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms

Property: The Farmers Arms
Address: Cwmdu, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1RU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Cwmdu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cwmdu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Farmers Arms Cwmdu, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing