We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Dolanog B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent four nights here whilst doing Glyndwr's Way. This included dinner on each night. The food was excellent and there was a good choice of very reasonably priced wines and beers. The best cottage pie ever!! John and Sue were great hosts and the whole stay was really relaxing. We would not hesitate to go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanG271, Manager at Dolanog Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others we do appreciate
It and we try to make our guest feel welcome you were all a pleasure
Hope to see you all again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

A wonderful ,friendly welcome and a stunning house and location. Meals were fantastic and we have seldom had more congenial hosts. I strongly recommend this place, especially if you are walking Glyndwrs Way - at the end of a tiring day it was like coming home!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanG271, Manager at Dolanog Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you John you were all a pleasure and we both enjoyed looking after you all
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I was booked in here by the office and they couldn't have picked better. The welcome was friendly, the room was spotless and very stylish, without being over the top, and free wifi. The owners were very accommodating as I was having to leave early in the mornings but breakfast was always available no matter what time. Bonus to this b&b is the fishing lake attached to the property which provides an excellent view when having breakfast. I would definitely stay here again if given the choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecoman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanG271, Manager at Dolanog Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you so much Ian for your kind words you know where we are if you need somewhere to stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked one night dinner, bed & breakfast as a surprise for my husband for our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived our hosts - Sue & John Gill made us so welcome...tea with fresh scones in a beautiful seating area overlooking the garden. Our room was beautiful. Sue had provided a mini bottle of champagne, a card & chocolates as a gift.
Dinner was at a time of our choice - a beautifully cooked 3 course meal & all for £15.99 each! The room was well appointed, the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was huge! Once again beautifully cooked. As we are keen walkers, we wanted to find a walk close by. John not only gave us details of a wonderful riverside walk, he even drove us to the start point so that we could leave our car on their drive!
Our total bill for dinner, bed & breakfast came to £96.98. Such a bargain!
Our only regret....that , on this occasion, we couldn't stay longer. We hope this will be the first of many visits to Dolanog B& B!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CantallbeWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanG271, Owner at Dolanog Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words we always try our best to please our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a lovely modern B&B with fantastic scenery. The local walks were breath taking with Lake Vrnwy only a short drive away.
Service was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome.
Can't wait to go back in the Spring/Summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pnutz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanG271, Manager at Dolanog Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you Dawn & Dave for your kind review looking forward to seeing you both soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Excellent hospitality, the hosts Sue and John are very friendly, great food, very clean, lovely scenery great to look out of the gallery, looking forward to the fishing pool opening will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

High standard of accommodation and food with very welcoming hosts John and Sue. Very comfortable room and a delicious evening meal. One night was not long enough and we hope to return and stay longer. All the better for being off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dolanog Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolanog Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tan Yr Allt | Tan Yr Allt Welshpool Powys, Dolanog SY21 0LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Dolanog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolanog
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to make our guests feel warm, welcome and extremely comfortable. We are a fully licensed 4 STAR Bed & Breakfast / fly fishing establishment set in the peaceful Welsh countryside near to Welshpool Lake Vyrnwy. Llanfair Caerainion Meifod Pontrobert and llanfylin We have a double room with ensuite a family suite with private bathroom. and a twin room with en'suite their is a gallery seating area that overlooks the newly built trout pool we also offer free Wi Fi throughout all room have TV/DVD players complementary tea coffee facility's and kingsize beds we also offer evening meals please order the day before ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing