We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Near Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Library Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Library Area
From Court yard towards barn Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Library Area
From Court yard towards barn
Living Room
Farmhouse style Kitchen
Wood Burner
From Library looking into Living room
Looking towards the hills from the front door
View from Court Yard
view down side of barn
Front Door
Kitchen Towards Dining area
Lower Entrance Hall
Downstairs Double Bedroom
Upstairs Master Bedroom
Upstairs Double bedroom
Upstrairs Twin Room
Downstairs Bathroom
Upstairs Bathroom
Upstairs Master Bathroom
From the air
Courtyard View
Welcome Stone
Enjoy one of optiobnal extras canoeing trips, please email for more details
Master Bathroom to master Bedroom
book our guided walking, nordic walking, or guided cycling, please email for more details
Book our Pilates classes in the Barn , or at our stuidos 400m away, please email for more details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dolanog, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melanie T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Near Perfection”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The pressure was on to find a place that satisfied 8 adults expectation. When I came across The Old Granary after searching for weeks I couldn't believe my luck. Everyone loved it. We were 8 adults and two early teens so party of 10 to celebrate my Partners 41st birthday. This place is spacious and I mean really spacious. Its modern without taking away from the true cottage feel.

It's properly heated allowing you to walk around in just a t-shirt all day long. The open plan of downstairs allowed us all to be together without feeling crammed. The kitchen is well equips, all you need is just your food. Every utensil or equipment you need is there. You won't be short of anything. With 3 bathrooms and additional wc there was never a queue and no one was jealous of the others bathroom as they all had its own special feature from jacuzzi bath to wet room.

The grounds and surrounding area are beautiful. We planned to do lots of stuff but just ended up staying all weekend just enjoying the luxury of the accommodation. We did a quick run to the supermarket to stock up on food and drinks and a quick walk up the lane to get eggs. Could you imagine 10 people staying in 4 walls for whole weekend and come away feeling relax and happy. We'll it happened here. We were able to play games play music without fear of disturbing anyone.

We have been scanning the calendar since trying to plan in our next get away here. Perfect location and perfect place. Thanks to the owners that have created such a lovely home and opening thorn others to enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevmorris...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Just come home from a lovely weekend away what a beautifully house and so social all the families loved it! The view the bedrooms the bathroom and the kitchen they owns have not wasted a bit of space! And have put much love into the barn. the only thing I would say but I'm sure there may be one there if you have little ones may be take a stairs gate just for peace of mind. We just used a suitcase
thank you for a lovely stay like forward to hoin back sometime soon

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you for your review. We do have a stair gate at the property, I am sorry that we did not think to leave it out on this occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to decide as it was so good.
Liked least: That i could not stay longer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B
Littledean, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic high spec property in beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Spacious, modern but character full barn conversion with spectacular views. Furnished to a high specification. We bought eggs and jam from the farmer. Good helpful communication with the owner. Ideal for large family gathering. We had a great time, and will certainly book again. Have already recommended to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular rural vies
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you had a good stay and hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Sep 2012
we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carrie303
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An excellent weekend break for all”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Recently returned from 4 nights at Old Granary Barn for my girls 30th birthday weekend.

The house is fully catered for everything you could possibly need and more.

I would definitely return to this house whether it be with family or friends.

We ordered Asda Online to deliver to the house shortly after arrival which was great as we had no need to go to any shops. I would recommend this as there are no shops/pubs etc for several miles.

Great communication from the owner throughout.

I will definitely be recommending to people I know.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor of the whole house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2012
Carrie

Thank you for your review. I was a little apprehensive (unnecessarily) about it because of the cleaning issues.

Best Regards

Marcus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMatt1960
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic holiday rental”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Rented out this property for the week leading up to our daughter's wedding. The property was amazing, so much space for our family. It had everything that we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The kitchen was exceptionally large which was great for the whole family and as there were three bathrooms it meant there was no queueing.
The beds could have been a bit more comfortable but overall we all had a fantastic time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large lounge & kitchen
Liked least: The beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2012
Thank you very much for this review. We are pleased that you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing