We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really beautiful, well furnished renovated barn...”
other travellers have booked this property
Library Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Library Area
From Court yard towards barn Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Library Area
From Court yard towards barn
Living Room
Farmhouse style Kitchen
Wood Burner
From Library looking into Living room
Looking towards the hills from the front door
View from Court Yard
view down side of barn
Front Door
Kitchen Towards Dining area
Lower Entrance Hall
Downstairs Double Bedroom
Upstairs Master Bedroom
Upstairs Double bedroom
Upstrairs Twin Room
Downstairs Bathroom
Upstairs Bathroom
Upstairs Master Bathroom
From the air
Courtyard View
Welcome Stone
Enjoy one of optiobnal extras canoeing trips, please email for more details
Master Bathroom to master Bedroom
book our guided walking, nordic walking, or guided cycling, please email for more details
Book our Pilates classes in the Barn , or at our stuidos 400m away, please email for more details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dolanog, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
boyda83
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really beautiful, well furnished renovated barn in fine Welsh countryside”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a lovely property located in the very peaceful and beautiful Welsh countryside. The M25 meant that we arrived late on the Friday night - the directions were easily to follow and the house had a very welcoming feel on arrival. Our party contained 4 adults and 5 children (aged 6-12) and all loved the Whitsun week away. The living area was very spacious with seating for all. The weather was so wonderful the tv/dvd were hardly required - the garden provided ample entertainment. The bedrooms were lovely and accommodated both families easily. The kitchen area was very well equipped and large enough that allowed catering for 9 to be a doddle. The local area is great with Snowdonia just a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthnairn
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent family accomodation”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This a large 5 bedroom converted barn with excellent amenities. It was clean and warm on arrival with all linen provided for 10 of us. The kitchen is large with plenty of crockery, cutlery, mugs and glasses to fill the dishwasher and still have enough left over. The two double bedrooms, and twin bedrooms, with bathrooms en suite are arranged to suit family units with a master bedroom and bathroom en suite as well. It was great to have a log burner, with some wood provided. Book cases full of interesting books, DVD's etc were also welcome. The attention to detail and standard of the fittings was beyond what is usually expected in a rented property. We had a most enjoyable holiday and would highly recommend this place for a getaway break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The spaciousness and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: Lack of rugs,cushions or curtains for sound absorption
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lgame
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas retreat”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

10 of us stayed at the old granary along with our dogs for the Christmas week, what a lovely place to spend Christmas. The barn had everything we needed to cook our Christmas lunch and the huge Christmas tree added to the cosy atmosphere! The views were stunning from the barn and the walks around the hills were just what we needed after over indulging! The barn had lots of room for us all to sit and spend time together but also enough space it you wanted some time to yourself, we would definatly recommend staying at the old granary for a Christmas getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you for the review. We are pleased you had a great Christmas at our holiday cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Break away”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We could only describe the Barn as fantastic, all the bedding, towels, crockery is high class, the place is full of high tech appliances, although we couldn't change the temperature on the fridge! so a bit too Tech for us, a folder full of instructions for all the appliances would of been helpful, that is not a criticism, just a suggestion, as we found out by googling that the fridge was actually on 'vacation' mode, and couldn't change it. so the temp wasn't really cold enough, we did find a smaller fridge in the utility room which we ended up using Plenty of space for us all, our Party consisted of 10 Adults and 2 dogs, and at no time where we under each others feet, we all had plenty of space. Eating is a dream as the Kitchen is so big, we all sat around the massive table for our meals. We loved all the huge windows as so much light flowing in, The log fire is brilliant, doesn't over heat you, we took 4 large bags of logs for the weekend which was perfect, the owner does leave additional bags of logs in the utility room at a £7 charge but we didn't need to use them. The bathrooms are great too, never a queue for the loo, having an additional downstairs Toilet was a bonus. The garden is a nice size although we didn't get chance to sit out as the weather wasn't good, but if you take a dog its very secure for them. The owner is a text message away, and will reply if you have any questions, however it is wise to prepay for the WiFi facility as there is no mobile network available. All in all we had a great break here, all of the Party loved it, it most definitely has the WOW factor, take my advice and book it you will love it..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The living accommodation, bedrooms, kitchen and the Fire
Liked least: Where to put the rubbish
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Thank you for the review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the fridge we have a intermittent fault on the fridge that the engineers have not been able to trace. A new fridge freezer was ordered on 16th November and will be installed on 12th December 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 star holiday!!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My family and I stayed here for 5 days for our 25th wedding anniversary, 8 adults, the barn is amazing, it has everything and more, We could not think of anything that was missing during our stay, bedding a high standard, towels lovely and fluffy, ( two things a woman always looks at) every pot, pan and utensil you could possibly need.
The walks from the barn into the village and around the woods are stunning.
We went to Bala lake to canoe, climbed the highest waterfall in Wales, (Pistyll Rhaeadr) and cycled round Lake Vyrnwy.
The housekeeper was there when we arrived and departed and could not of been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for her, the cleaning of the barn was excellent, everything was cleaned to a high standard, so thank you to the housekeeper.
Marcus (the owner) could not of been more helpful, a perfect gentleman at all times.
We all highly recommend The Old Granary, we and friends we recommend to wil most certainly be going again and again.
Many many thanks to you all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The barn is stunning and exceptionally clean....
Liked least: Having to leave.....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We aim to offer a high level of service and are pleased to have been able to do so for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
125carla
Cromer, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet and relaxing stunning property”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely relaxing 10 days at this wonderful holiday property, it is so well equipped with everything you need including very comfy beds. Would definitely recommend. Having two ground floor bedrooms was perfect for us as we had our son who has cerebal palsy with us and he had easy access to the whole of the ground floor , gardens and a wet room shower.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peacefullness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind review we are pleased you had a good stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phil_mari...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing property in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this fantastic property.
Booking process was excellent and prompt response from the owner Marcus (Thank you).
The barn is perfect for a large group due to its size, nobody was falling over each other.
The furnishings, facilities, décor, cooking/kitchen items, bedding and towels etc were all of a high standard and the property provided everything needed for a comfortable self catering stay. Lovely walks in the countryside and felt no need to venture far.
Would definitely book/stay again if planning a few days away to relax with family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of everthing.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thank you for this kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay as we aim to offer a high quality of service

Marcus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing