We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne Thierry Rodez - fantastic welcome and visit”

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Champagne Thierry Rodez - fantastic welcome and visit”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Spending a few days touring round the champagne region with a friend and having already seen reviews for Thierry Rodez Champagne House in the Grand Cru village of Ambonnay had already arranged a time to visit. Definitely worth it. Jesse speaks English and her husband Thierry makes the champagne! Little Lucas, their young son added to the entertainment. Jesse spent time taking us on a tour of their cellars and explained the champagne making process. Although we had visited one of the big houses, this was much better.

Thierry bought out both their traditional and rose for us to taste and it was lovely that they both sat down and drank with us. The champagne was excellent, some of the best we tasted.

The only thing to add is that if you want to buy you will need cash, but if you dont have enough there is a cash point in the nearby village of Bouzy which is 5 minutes away.

Their address is 1 Impasse de la Sec, 51150 Ambonnay, and email champagne.t.rodez@wanadoo.fr

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank anne_bridges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Coast UK
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very welcoming; so interesting and fantastic champagne!”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Had a three day trip to Reims experiencing a heatwave ! Amazing trip through the Reims de Montagne. We have done the Champagne Trail before and knew to take a picnic as the trip is the least commercial you will ever do and there's not even a shop to buy water!
We sat by the edge of The Marne river with a weir and a lock. Magical. Because of previous reviews on TripAdvisor sought out Thierry Rodez in the village of Ambonnay. Jessie greeted us in English and immediately agreed to take us round their cellars. We had been to Mercier the day before and on previous trips have done Pommery, Mumm, Castellaine, Piper Heidseck etc. but this whole experience was just a delight. They produce 10,000 pa and the whole process is done there which means they press the grapes in a wooden press and riddle the champagne themselves. When it came to tasting we were offered their Cuvee Extra Brut which we were very interested in tasting. It's just up our alley! We also bought mixed cases of their Rose Brut and the Brut Reserve. Our friends wanted a few bottles of the Demi-Sec as a dessert wine to celebrate the imminent birth of a grandchild and as none was labelled we watched that process which was done specially for them. The experience was really special and we will definitely be returning on our next trip. Their traditional champagne is 13.90 euros, Reserve is 14.90 euros. Extra Brut and Rose are 14.50 euros per bottle and you can mix cases.See photo of Jessie and husband at their house labelling our champagne.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
16 Thank PishPash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great stops on the champagne route”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We have been a few times to Reims/Epernay and on our most recent visit, we stopped at some of the more unknown and smaller champagne houses.

In Abonnay, there is a small champagne house called Thierry Rodez. You dont have to make an appointment, just stop there and ring the bell. Thierry's wife speaks perfect english and they were so welcoming. We learnt more about champagne making and the lifestyle than on any of the more "popular" tours. I would definately recommend it.

We also stopped at Contesse Lafond in Epernay. This is a fairly new champagne house but again, we were made to feel very welcome. You do not need to book here either. It was like sitting in somebody's lounge and drinking champagne. Castellene, also in Epernay is a good tour and tasting and worth a visit also.

Helpful?
8 Thank mich_cra_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful drive through the champagne vineyards, best stop Thierry Rodez in Ambonnay”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

While my husband and I were on our honeymoon two weeks ago, we rented a car in Paris, headed to the Champagne region and stayed in Reims for 2 days (at Les Telliers bed and breakfast -- which was wonderful). One of the days we were in Reims, we took a drive on the well-marked and easy to follow Route Touristique du Champagne heading towards Epernay. The drive itself takes you through endless vineyard fields as well as many small towns where the grapes are harvested and the champagne produced. It was truly a beautiful, picturesque drive and, although we enjoyed the tours of the large cellars in Reims, gave us a new appreciation of the tradition and lives of these vineyard owners. Do not be fooled by the name of this trail -- it is not touristy at all!

Our bed and breakfast proprietor suggested that we ring the door bells of local producers on the Trail and ask for tours of their cellars. He said that we might be lucky enough to find someone who is welcoming and happy to show us around their champagne cellar. And, as luck would have it, we did find a wonderful champagne producer in the town of Ambonnay. Before finding Champagne Thierry Rodez in Ambonnay, however, my husband and I rang three bells in the towns of Verzy and Verzenay but sadly nobody spoke English and we got the impression that July was when everyone takes vacation in Champagne and closes their cellars to tourists. Luck finally hit, however, when we saw Champagne Thierry Rodez's sign which read "We speak English"!

Thierry and his wife were wonderfully hospitable, showing us how and where they produce their champagne as well as their cellar where the champagne is aged. Thierry Rodez is not a large producer, so their space was small, but they gave us the most special look into how local producers in Champagne earn a living at this very specialized practice. Thierry's wife spoke perfect English and they shared with us glasses of their delicious extra brut champagne, which was the best we had tasted on our tour. Even better than Martel and Tattinger -- larger producers we toured in Reims. Thank you Thierry Rodez and family! It was our most favorite experience on our trip through Champagne.

I would definitely recommend a drive or bike through the trail, and if you do speak English, or even if you don't, I would highly recommend you stop at this producer!

Helpful?
22 Thank TGO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Champagne route - Bouzy”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We visited Reims, Eperney and Bouzy champagne houses in the end of March 2010. Very remarkable place was Bouzy - a small village of 900 inhabitants but with more than 50 champagne houses. Village is situated between Grand Cru and Premier Cru grape fields about 20 km from Epernay. Most of champagne houses are small ones but produce high quality champagne, not worse than world famous champagne producers with sound names but only with half of their price. Tasting and cellar tours were free in those places we were but purchasing of a bottle or two is recommendable . It was nice to get direct contact with owners. Tornay and Beaufort champagne houses were most hospitable and their champagne was excellent. There is possible to have overnight stay in Le Pelerine bed and breakfast for only 44 EUR.

Helpful?
20 Thank HenriSEstonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Champagne Route (Route Touristique du Champagne) also viewed

 

Been to Champagne Route (Route Touristique du Champagne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing