We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£9.50 SUN HOLIDAY BARGAIN!”
Review of Camping Birkelt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larochette
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Birkelt
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“£9.50 SUN HOLIDAY BARGAIN!”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Me and my partner have just arrived home from a week in the beautiful little Duchy of Luxembourg. we arrived at the site on the Monday (24/10/11) and we were greeted by 3 very friendly and very helpful members of staff who all spoke fantastic English, One of them was from the west country by the sound of it. We arrived expecting to pay tourist tax and a hefty deposit like we had at other Vacancesoloel sites but we were glad to find that they just took our bank details, and we didn't have to pay tourist tax, which was great, The only thing we had to pay was a ten euro deposit for the key card to get in and out of the site.

The site is only small, but very well positioned to explore Lux. It has everything you want whether your a young or old couple or a family. there is a great all weather swimming pool, and great little shop to get your bread from in the morning, and a Café which you can have a few beers in later on at night. The Caravans are little compared to British ones, but we knew that, however ours did have a big fridge and freezer and a TV which had a few channels that showed English shows. Luckily we brought our laptop to take advantage of the free WiFi, and although it was a weak signal, it more than served its purpose for us.

For food there are many places for you to go, for groceries there is a shop in Larochette town. If you turn right at the main road down to the centre of town and then turn left there is a small supermarket next to the ESSO petrol station, alternatively if you turn left on the main road out of the camp site in about 8km you arrive at a big super market (Cactus) in the town of Mersch which is the size of an Asda or Tesco over here. Food is about the same as britain, maybe a little bit more expensive for some things, but spirits wine beer and cigarettes are much cheaper than in the uk and the rest of Europe. If you want to go for a nice meal there is a fantastic place in the Larochette called Op Der Bleech, which make local specialities and more French and Belgium oriented cuisine. But be careful dining out can be very very expensive!

Luxembourg itself is a fantastic country, I cannot believe how much there is to see and do in such a tiny nation, I had plans to visit Aachen Metz and Maastrict but didn't get to see them as i was too busy enjoying Luxembourg! There seems to be a beautiful Châteaux in every town, but the best Castles for me were Beaufort, Vianden and Larochette, but i do suggest you try and see them all, as there all so beautiful and so well preserved. If you a fan of just driving around til you stumble upon a beautiful little town, or breathtaking view then this is the place for you i cannot speak more fondly of this place.

The Capital however was a bit of a disappointment for me. We got to the capital within half an hour and then it took me over an hour to find a place to park. The signs seem to tell you where the car parks are up until about half a mile before and then let you guess the actual location yourself. There are a few things to see and lots of good photo opportunities, but all in all, you can find just as much to do in the smaller towns in Lux.

Be sure to learn the Luxembourgian for Hello ( Moyen ) and goodbye ( addi ) it will get you some brownie points with the locals, and don't go expecting to be understood, not many people in Luxembourg know English, knowing basic French and German will help you no end.

This place, as cheesy as it sounds, was captivatingly beautiful, and it's people are warm and friendly to each other and outsiders (only 40% of Luxembourgers are native). I cannot thank the staff on the campsite more, and i cannot thank the people of Luxembourg enough for giving me and my partner a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Prof-C-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    46
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at the camp site as a base to explore Luxembourg. We stayed at the beginning of October and the campsite is positioned in a woodland area and it was so pretty because all of the trees were changing colour and it was visually spectacular. For people that like walking you can take the pedestrian path to the village of Larochette. Larochette is just as you see in the brochure. It is very pretty and there are some nice bars and restuarants on the square. When we arrived at the Campsite we were greeted by a young lady from Vaconsoliel our tour operator and she showed us to the Caravan. She was friendly and gave us some good information about the local area. The nearest large town is Merch which is approximately 10 km and there are shops and a large supermarket however there is a supermarket in Larochette which is closer for any provisions you may need. The caravan was new and was very clean and was very well equipped.It even had a television. Although we didnt use many of the facilities at the camp as were are a couple travelling without children the swimming pool looked very nice and the small shop was stocked with all the essentials and was no more expensive than the larger supermarkets. You can pick up fresh bread milk and Croissant in the morning.Whilst in Luxembourg we visited Larochette, Echternact which was lovely and well worth a visit and Luxembourg City. Luxembourg City is full of historical buildings and has some really nice shops.The city is almost split in two. There is a commercial area where all of the banks and finacial institutions are situated and then there is the shopping area which is seperated by the bridge. The parliamentary buildings one side the palace and juditiciary the other side.The country in general is very clean as are the shops and restaurants which is a huge plus for us.The scenery whilst driving accross country was breathtaking. There is lots of woodlands and forest and you can follow the wine trail if you like that sort of thing. It is not a place that we had considered as a holiday destination but we are so glad we visited and it is on the list of one of the most beautiful we have ever seen.It is approximately 264 miles from the Tunnell and Ferry Crossing. One useful tip would be that sometimes your satelite navigation will take you across the countryside and for us that was not a problem as we saw so much but if you have a large vehicle or if you are towing a caravan then it is probably better to follow all of the main roads to the bottom of the country untill you get almost to Luxembourg.We would recommend the campsite and we would certainly recommend Luxembourg as well worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JJGRIFFITHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at Birkelt for 4 nights on the way back from Venice. The area really is beautiful. The campsite is quite small but had everything you would need. There is a problem with wasps, they are everywhere!! We stayed with Eurocamp, the caravan was lovely, very spacious and modern. The pitch sizes were good too. Luxembourg City is really nice, lovely buildings. Oh and lot's of fab shops!! Would return as a stopover, but wouldn't stay longer than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cutelilfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Camping Birkelt, we have just returned from spending 10 nights there in our twin axle tourer.Like others have said some of the pitches are too small for a twin axle and awning.We had paid for a serviced pitch (electric and drainage) but on the pitch we were allocated the drain was higher than the caravan so we could not use it, also the pitch was very scruffy, with hardly any grass and if we had taken a full awning we would not have had room to put it up.After 4 nights I persuaded my OH to ask if we could move, and after a bit of persuasion we were moved to a lovely corner pitch with lots of room.The camp is geared towards children, but it was still quite.There is a good super market in Larochette (next to Esso garage)..Recommend you check your pitch before siting your van and if not happy go and ask for another one.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsEllisLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for only one night transiting back from further afield in Europe to the UK so didn't get much of a chance to enjoy what appears to be a great site. The amenities were very clean although the water pressure in the showers was poor. There are plenty of facilities including an all weather pool , a play ground and small skate park. There was a shop which had heaps of great bread for sale in the morning. There were some kids activities at night but as the site caters largely for Dutch families these appeared to be in Dutch. The site is set amongst forests above the village of Larochette. The village is a quick, but steep walk into town and has a number of restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading,UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We decided to try this park with our Sun £9.50,normally we opt for one of the dutch packs,which was funny as this park was full of dutch. The park only has a few mobile homes(eurocamp & Vacansoleil)thankfully the Sun uses Eurocamp at this site,as that meant we had an oven(really dont understand why Vacansoleil never put an oven or mircowave in self catering vans) and cleaner vans.
Getting to the camp was easy we used a sat nav(though mine didnt pick up site adrees so used road that site is off),and also avoided Brussels as theres no need to go around Brussels and sit in the road works and traffic.Drive up past Mons and the journey is much quickier,took around 4 1/2 hours from dunkirk and that included stopping.
Ok like the other reviewer stated there is no tv,but thats the same with any eurocamp site i've stayed at,we just take laptop and watch dvds.There was free wifi on site but wasnt great,and wouldnt work at all on my laptop,on my mobile it was a very week signal,maybe using by site centre the signal would have been better but i wasnt fussed enough to find out.
The vans them selfs were to sleep 6 but I wouldnt like to be there with 6 people,we had 2 and there was plenty of room.We did have problem with being locked out of toilet,but the staff sorted it quickly,and we got the idea its a problem with the doors.Also unlike other parks i've stayed at the vans are very close to each other-in fact too close!! we could hear everything the others in the vans got upto! need i say more!
The shower block seemed clean,as i had to use the toilets whislt we was locked out.I cant really comment on the on site shop,as it wasnt open at anytime we passed it,but i never use them as they normally so much more expensive. If you turn left out of camp and follow road you will meet Catus a large supermarket it was about 10mins away.
Whilst there we visted Bitburg,nice enough place.Luxembourg city-my advise dont waste money going on the hop on tour bus,unless you want to see europeon courts,and achan shopping centre,as there wasnt much else.The city centre its self is prob' the only place your sit in traffic within Luxembourg.When as much as the trees and countryside is lovely gets too much and you want to see life i'd say a vist to Tier in Germany is a great idea,its a large city centre with lots of history.
As for tabacco it is alot cheaper if you buy local brands,and still much cheaper than here if dont.But Drum is 4.80 for 50g and in Belgium was 4.40 for 50g. Just something i noticed,i dont smoke but have to get drum for friend.

Room Tip: Book via sun holidays for cheaper stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smurfy3msl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had a week here at the end of May which we booked through the Sun newspaper £9.50 holidays, although it is £77.00 for a week in Europe. This is the first time we had been to Europe with them. The actual booking was done through Eurocamp as they operated the mobile homes there.

I reckoned it would take us 5-6hrs to drive from Dunkerque so we stayed overnight in a Travelodge in Canterbury the prevous day and caught an early morning ferry the next. Unfortunately, I managed to get us lost in Brussels and then again in Luxembourg City so it took us 8 hours (we dont do satnav). As a consequence we didnt arrive until after 9pm and found the little Eurocamp office shut. There was a mobile number on the door which I rang and was told someone would be there straight away. We found out there were 3 Eurocamp reps on site and sure enough a young girl came down and gave us the key and barrier pass. Maybe it was because it was still pre-season but the camp shop had shut at 6 and the restaurant had closed at 9. Fortunately we'd bought some essentials with us, so we made do until the next morning.

We were pleased with the mobile home. It was reasonably modern, clean and well-fitted out. It had 3 bedrooms (although there were only the two of us), a separate toilet and shower-room, and a nice large wooden deck with a table 4 chairs and 4 sunloungers. It also had heating in all the rooms which came in handy a couple of nights. The setting was very pretty with mature trees and shrubs, lots of birds and our particular home had a good bit of privacy. To my husband's dismay there was no TV only a radio on which we could only find foreign stations. Fortunately I had bought my netbook with me and there is free WIFI throughout the campsite. The signal wasnt very good and it did lose connection a few times, but it was enough for us to get Radio 5live and BBC World news.

The countryside around Larochette was beautiful. We'd usually head off about 10:30am and get back around 5pm. We visited Ettelbruck, Echternach, Esch-sur-Sure in the Ardennes and Luxembourg City as well as the Mullerthal area where we went for a walk along the river to some falls. However, our favourite places were Trier in Germany's Moselle valley and Vianden in the Luxembourg Ardennes. Larochette chateau was also worth a visit. The roads were very good with little traffic and excellent signposting between towns, but rubbish signposting in the town centres. In the end we would just head for the Centrum/Centre and follow the blue Car Park signs.

The little shop onsite was pretty well stocked, although we tended to go into Mersch to the Topaze Centre for most of our shopping - it had 3ltr cartons of red Vin de Pays for Eu3.99 - needless to say we bought a fair few back. We also had lunch one day at the restaurant onsite which was ok, but fairly standard pub-type fare. Mostly we'd eat out in the day and then cook something up in the mobile home in the evening. The only downside to this we found out was that there wasnt a roasting tin and we couldnt find a cheap one in any of the shops. However they did provide a kettle bbq which came in very handy. All the staff onsite also had very good english.

As far as prices go - wine, tobacco and petrol were cheap; clothes and shoes were much the same as here; food I thought was dearer. If you want Golden Virginia there arent many places that sell it. There was a tobacconist in Luxembourg City where we bought some, but most of it we bought at Route 66 in Windhof on the way out of Luxembourg. It was £4.80 for a 50gm packet but you are restricted to 40 packs each.

Overall we had a lovely stay. The campsite was a very good base for exploring, we had lovely weather, the countryside was beautiful and the villages were quaint.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pushkathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larochette
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Grand Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 3 in Larochette
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 3 in Larochette
13 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Eden au Lac
Hotel Eden au Lac
#4 of 8 in Echternach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#1 of 3 in Diekirch
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auf Kengert Camping
Auf Kengert Camping
#2 of 3 in Larochette
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Youth Hostel Larochette
Youth Hostel Larochette
#3 of 3 in Larochette
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Birkelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Birkelt

Property: Camping Birkelt
Address: 1 Op Birkelt, Larochette 7633, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Larochette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Larochette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Birkelt 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Camping Birkelt Hotel Larochette
Camping Birkelt Luxembourg/Larochette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing