We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can”
Review of Camping Birkelt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larochette
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Birkelt
Certificate of Excellence
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed one night to tour the Vianden area. We rented the Pacific Camper. It was very clean and very comfortable. But I didn't get any sleep because the campers are way too close to each other...you can hear everything that goes on all around...especially the party until 4am behind us. There is no big breakfast. The restaurant opens at 10am, but they want you checked out around that time. The campsite is filled with retired folks and families young families with litle kids. We paid 114 Euros and still had to clean the camper ourselves. The campsite is too far from the Vianden Castle...21 kilometers. Next time we'll stay in downtown Vianden to get a good view, some privacy, breakfast, good night's sleep...for less money!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
375 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We camped here for two nights in a tent. It is a large campsite that obviously caters well to children (we didn't have any with us).

We had selected a camp plot close to the reception office for convenience, but that also meant that we were close to the centre of activities (and noise). If you have kids with you, this would be a great choice. If you are looking for a small, quiet location, this isn't the best choice.

Our plot was a good size that allowed us to park the vehicle next to the tent.

The camp shop is very well stocked and had a nice selection of fresh breads and pastries each morning. We cooked our own food but the campsite has a restaurant and a snack shop.

There were only two showers in the bathroom block closest to us but the facilities were clean. We had a good wi-fi connection.

The site is well located for sightseeing in the surrounding area. A day trip to Vianden and Vianden Castle is very much worthwhile.

Room Tip: Book a plot away from the reception block if you want a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A lovely campsite in lovely surroundings. We stayed in a 3 bedroomed static/chalet which was surprisingly roomy. The toilet was separate to the bathroom, very handy with children who always seem to be busting to go the moment you step in the shower. The chalets come with plenty of kit, a BBQ, patio furniture and sun loungers a radio with ipod dock,a fan, a hairdryer etc etc and ample cooking equipment. The pool is great, its in a dome which opens when the weather is good and its open until 7pm. There is a well stocked shop with good prices, a restaurant and a take-away/ice-cream counter. Also there is mini-golf and children's play areas with trampolines. We noticed the pitches for tourers/campers etc are a good size with room for your car too. The site is surrounded by woodland with good walks through and signposted well. You can pick up the Mullerthal trail right at the side of the site. The village is a 10 minute walk down through the woods and there are 2 castles easily reached from the site so its a good location if nature and walking are your thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We arrived at camping birkelt after a 4.5 hour drive from Zeebrugge, on our arrival the reception staff at camping birkelt greeted us in perfect english and booked us in.

Our pitch was very generous in size although on a slight incline which meant we all rolled to one end of the tent in the night! The pitches are allocated depending on your group, I.e families with young kids together, dog owners together etc this was great and meant it was really quiet in the evening with practically no noise after about 9.00 - perfect for watching the fireflies and bats!

The facilties were excellent with family bathrooms in addition to the usual bathroom facilities.

We ate in thr restaurant a couple of times, it was fine but the menu wasnt very interesting - thr snack bat was better value we did enjoy pizza night on Wednesdays!

The site felt very safe and was immaculate - rubbish is collect from your pitch twice a day!

Overall the site was great, a very international feel with the majority of camper s being Dutch, Belgian or German. We would definitely recommend it to other young families

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philandcarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed there for a week after booking a static caravan directly with the site rather than with Eurocamp (saved around £150). Our caravan had 3 good bedrooms and was very well equipped and maintaned. As has been said by many other reviewers, the site is very large, well spread out, very clean and with good facilities. The higlights are the swimming pool, which can be opened to the outside when the sun shines, and the location. It's located roughly in the middle of the Duchy so not really very far from anywhere else in the country. It's surrounded by forests which are full of well sign posted walking trails, if that's your thing. If it's not your thing, you might find the whole of Luxembourg rather short on activities for a family holiday. There is plenty to do outdoors (hiking,climbing,kayaking etc) but if the weather's not on your side and you have the varied interests of a young family to satisfy you might want to consider Luxembourg carefully. But I digress. The campsite, itself, was very good and if you've decided you fancy visiting rural Luxembourg, I would thoroughly recomend this site.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Spent a night at Camping Birkelt en-route to Monaco via Switzerland arriving mid afternoon. It's a big site located in/adjacent to a forrest. The pitches are quite spacious and boundaries are a mixture of shrubbery/bushes. There are also plenty of trees which cause a problem with TV or Sat reception but I guess are a god send when the weather gets hot.

We did not get time to explore the many Forrest trails although we did walk down to the local village - Larocette which appeared to be a nice affluent village.

Being a big site 400+ pitches, there are plenty of facilities which were clean and tidy and there is also a bar, restaurant and well stocked shop. Also plenty for the kids - covered swimming pool etc. etc.

In summary a very typical European site with easy access (although remote), good facilities, great for the outdoor type and well targeted to the children, would we stay there again - yes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is the 4th time we have stayed on this campsite. The sanitory facilities are first class and heated under floor, just the job on a cool morning.

Lovely walk down into Larochette via a very scenic route. Petrol station and supermarket in the village as well as several restaurants, bank, shops etc.

It is approx. 250 miles to the Dunkirk port and takes about 5 hours with a couple of stops.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Odefrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larochette
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Grand Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 3 in Larochette
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 3 in Larochette
13 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Eden au Lac
Hotel Eden au Lac
#4 of 8 in Echternach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Trail-Inn Natur & Sporthotel
4.4 mi away
Le Cigalon Hotel
Le Cigalon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mullerthal
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Youth Hostel Larochette
Youth Hostel Larochette
#3 of 3 in Larochette
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Birkelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Birkelt

Property: Camping Birkelt
Address: 1 Op Birkelt, Larochette 7633, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Larochette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Larochette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Birkelt 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Camping Birkelt Hotel Larochette
Camping Birkelt Luxembourg/Larochette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing