We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for kids”
Review of Camping Birkelt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larochette
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Birkelt
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for kids”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a big family on the campsite and couldn't fault it. Very clean and tidy and has free wifi all over the site which keeps the kids all happy. There's a great bar which overlooks the children play area and pool. Friendly multilingual staff makes this the perfect stop in Luxembourg. It's a 5 minute walk through the woods to the beautiful town of larochette. Happy camping!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Billingbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the Easter break. Booked via eurocamp. It's a beautiful location and very clean. Perfect base for sightseeing. Walking and cycling. Great facilities on site and only minutes from local towns. Would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauriann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I had a choice of three euro camp locations, France, Belgium or Luxembourg. If you want a buzzing, lively, up all night experience then don't come to Luxembourg. If you want peace, quiet and a slow relaxing holiday then this place is perfect. The reps (Rachel & Steve) made us welcome from the moment we arrived and they take time out to talk to you when they are passing. Luxembourg City is 15 miles away and is well worth seeing. Road connections into Germany are very good but it might be wise to invest in a Euro sat nav as the campsite is a little difficult to find. Well stocked shop with staff who talk English (for the lazy like me). I'll come back here again as it has recharged by batteries.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in our motorhome in early April, paying just over £40 (we pre-booked through the caravan club). The campsite had only just re-opened for the season and was really quiet but all the facilities were excellent, particularly the loos and showers which were spotless. There is a small shop selling basics and a bar and restaurant on site. We tried the bar but were the only people in it so it was a bit soulless, but I'm sure it will be lively enough come the Easter holidays. there is also a covered swimming pool which would be a bonus for families. The village of La Rochette is small but perfectly formed, but to get to it you have to negotiate a very uneven mud track through the wooded hillside. It's steeply downhill on the way there and takes about 10 minutes, but uphill, in the dark, it is really quite treacherous with many exposed tree roots and crumbling stone steps to trip you up. If you plan to walk back after dark a torch is a must. It's about an hour on the bus (no. 100 from opposite the church) to get into Luxembourg city centre and at only 4 euros return it is well worth doing (buy a day pass).
We paid up for a serviced pitch but were disappointed that it was not gravelled or hard-standing. It rained overnight both nights and we were stepping out onto mud in the mornings as the grass was completely worn away from 90% of our pitch. Camp Birkelt was fine and if you want to plonk in one spot and stay on site I would recommend it. However, if we pass this way again we wouldn't bother with it. There are probably cheaper and more accessible aires that will do the job for us just as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

we stayed here with keycamp and stayed in a mobile home. Visited trier in nearby germany, visited vianden - birthplace of victor hugo, and when we were here you could go about 3 quarters of the spa-francorchamps circuit from blanchimont to les combes (as it was main road back then)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mighty_Dippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A word of warning - if you are looking for a location full of wild nightlife, this isn't the place for you.

If however you're looking for a well run site in a stunning scenic location this could be the one.

We'd booked through Eurocamp and a quick and efficient check in its a short drive to the pitch. A large Dutch group of caravans had just arrived so negotiating the road to the accomoadation was slow but nothing on the site here is (normally) more than a five minute walk away.

The park itself is well maintained and situated - trees break up the various areas, or for those bringing their own caravans or tents pitches are divided by low hedging. The facility buildings around the site are low rise and blend into the surroundings.

Facilities wise there is a small onsite shop (though the week we were there the hours had been reduced) and a small restaurant/bar. Food in the restaurant was very good although confusingly we were told we should have made a reservation despite it being half empty!

A pool, a mini golf course and play equipment complete the scene for younger visitors but this is unlikely somewhere that kids/teenagers would feel entertained.

The park provides free wifi but its a bit hit and miss at times of peak use and the accommodation doesn't have televisions included so make sure you bring your own entertainment for the evenings.

What sets the site apart though is its location in the heart of Luxembourg's 'Little Switzerland'. The small town of Larochette is a five min walk away down a steep step path (another warning, this isn't a climb for those with limited mobility or fear of heights!).
Winding through Larochette and the wider region are a network of well marked paths that give stunning vistas over the valleys and cliffs.

The park itself is a short drive from all of Luxembourg's main sights (given the size of the country nothing is really more than 40 mins away), or there's the option to head cross border into Germany, Belgium or France. Roads are well maintained and once you get used to driving down a hair pin valley descent are easy to use.

We drove down from the Stena Line Crossing to the Hook of Holland and it was a 3hr 30 straightforward drive. Luxembourg isn't a cheap destination but its clean, well run and full of scenic beauty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skywalker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was the first stop of this year's european tour for my family. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. My 10 year old is happier in water than out, but the pool was a disappointment. The water was so cold a 10 minute dip was all she could manage during our three day stay (and the roof was never opened). It was peak season but overcrowding had already taken it's toll on the pitches and grassy areas of this site. it was not a pretty place to stay. What you could see of any pitches was a mix of bald mud and long overgrown grass. Toilets and washing up areas were clean but there were often queues, especially for showers. toilet blocks appeared to close for a long period over lunch, though you were told to use another. Some signs giving directions to the next nearest block would have helped. There were queues for the play equipment - long enough to give up. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday-Mum-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larochette
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Grand Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 3 in Larochette
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 3 in Larochette
13 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Eden au Lac
Hotel Eden au Lac
#4 of 8 in Echternach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Trail-Inn Natur & Sporthotel
4.4 mi away
Le Cigalon Hotel
Le Cigalon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mullerthal
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Youth Hostel Larochette
Youth Hostel Larochette
#3 of 3 in Larochette
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Birkelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Birkelt

Property: Camping Birkelt
Address: 1 Op Birkelt, Larochette 7633, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Larochette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Larochette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Birkelt 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Camping Birkelt Hotel Larochette
Camping Birkelt Luxembourg/Larochette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing