We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location or overnight stop site”
Review of Camping Birkelt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Larochette
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Birkelt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We holidayed in Switzerland with our caravan in June 2014 and stayed at this site for 1 night on the way and 1 on the way home.
It is a large and busy site we got pitches 299 & 300! pitches would be tight for the novice to reverse in to and access ways are narrow for larger rigs.
The facilities are all good and very clean, we ate in the clubhouse restaurant and the food was good the camp staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The site was very Orange during our stay as Holland were playing a match in the world cup tournament, the orange army of dutch supporters were good entertainment.
I would use the site again if we were down that way.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JungleJims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in Birkelt early June. We were given a great pitch for our tent and the ground was quite soft. The campsite is well signposted and easy to find. The swimming pool is a good size, great for kids, and open until 7. The pool can be covered or opened up and it remained covered during our stay, but the weather was hot so it was good to be out of the sun. The campsite is in a really good location, a short walk (down steps and then back up again) into the town of La Rochette, with its castle. We ate in a very nice, very cheap local restaurant just down from the castle. The campsite amenities were of a very high standard, always clean, lots of showers, toilets and sinks, and also a few plugs so we could charge our phones. We ate in the restauarnt one night, the food was very nice, a little expensive. The staff were all extremely friendly and could speak english which we appreciated. We were on a trip around europe so were 3 adults but there were lots of things for kids to do, which included trampolines at no extra charge. The other amazing thing was free wifi!! I felt that was a nice touch as a lot of campsites charge for wifi. If ever in Luxembourg again I would definately stay here again, but probably in a caravan :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knuckles83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Arrived here with motorhome and was bit concerned about number of permanent cabins on site BUT it is all laid out so well that it didn't matter. Found a pitch down by the edge of the forest which gave us shade an closeness to the dog walk. Toilets and shower blocks spotless. Washing facilities first class, though expensive. Had meal in restaurant. Very good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from a tour of Europe, camping and hotelling. This site was our first camp and it turned out to be the best. We had a great pitch, quiet, but not too far from the absolutely immaculate toilet block. All the staff were really friendly and helpful and their English was very good. The only problem was that this site set the bar for the rest of the holiday and no other site came near. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeacockNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a big family on the campsite and couldn't fault it. Very clean and tidy and has free wifi all over the site which keeps the kids all happy. There's a great bar which overlooks the children play area and pool. Friendly multilingual staff makes this the perfect stop in Luxembourg. It's a 5 minute walk through the woods to the beautiful town of larochette. Happy camping!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Billingbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the Easter break. Booked via eurocamp. It's a beautiful location and very clean. Perfect base for sightseeing. Walking and cycling. Great facilities on site and only minutes from local towns. Would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauriann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I had a choice of three euro camp locations, France, Belgium or Luxembourg. If you want a buzzing, lively, up all night experience then don't come to Luxembourg. If you want peace, quiet and a slow relaxing holiday then this place is perfect. The reps (Rachel & Steve) made us welcome from the moment we arrived and they take time out to talk to you when they are passing. Luxembourg City is 15 miles away and is well worth seeing. Road connections into Germany are very good but it might be wise to invest in a Euro sat nav as the campsite is a little difficult to find. Well stocked shop with staff who talk English (for the lazy like me). I'll come back here again as it has recharged by batteries.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Larochette hotels
0.5 mi away
Youth Hostel Larochette
Youth Hostel Larochette
#3 of 3 in Larochette
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 3 in Larochette
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge op der Bleech
Auberge op der Bleech
#3 of 3 in Larochette
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Grand Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 3 in Larochette
26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auf Kengert Camping
Auf Kengert Camping
#2 of 3 in Larochette
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Birkelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Birkelt

Address: 1 Op Birkelt, Larochette 7633, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Larochette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Larochette
Price Range: £37 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Birkelt 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Camping Birkelt Hotel Larochette
Camping Birkelt Luxembourg/Larochette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing