We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boheme

La Boheme
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Mersch
Price range: US$16 - US$49
Cuisines: French, International, Gastropub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: La Boheme is situated in the heart of Mersch, only 20 minutes away from the city of Luxembourg. To distinguish themselves, La Boheme aims to offer you an international gastronomical cuisine with fresh seasonal produce, incorporated in new and classic dishes.
Saarburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Though the food was honestly not too bad, if you look at the prices, you'd expect a somewhat more refined dining experience. Given that the place wants to come across as trendy, we were disappointed as it all seems cheap make-believe. Service was quite pretentious and did not genuinely care.Truly the centre of Luxembourg has better alternatives.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 77Cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average to poor experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We went there with friends and were not looking for a top restaurant. It turned out to be OK; correct and modern design, food was ok and reasonably expensive...

Unfortunately, at some point, someone from the staff started to sing Karaoke for about an hour. Was it the chef or one of the waiters? I can't remember... This is just not what people are looking for when they go dining!!! Since that became some kind of a full-time-job for that particular waiter, service seemed to have stopped altogether - very annoying.

We were happy when we finally could pay and leave. What a pity!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank JoaquimSpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel M, Responsable réception at La Boheme, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Google Translation
Désolé que cette expérience ne vous ai pas plut.
C'est moi qui chante tous les vendredis et samedis soirs, pour information il ne s'agit pas d'un karaoké, mais un interlude musical, effectué par un professionel car avant j'étais intermittant du spectacle
Jusqu'à ce jour personne ne s'est jamais plaint de cette animation, bien au contraire c'est ce qui fait toute notre différence. De plus, l'interlude ne dure pas 1 heure, au grand regret de la plupart des clients. Et le service ne s'arrête pas, 2 serveurs restent à l'entière disposition de la clientèle qui est libre de quitter l'établissement si cette annimation n'est pas de votre convenance.
Encore désolé.

Sorry if you not have liked this experience.
This is me singing every Friday and Saturday night, for information it is not a karaoke, but a musical interlude performed by a professional before I was performing intermittent.
To this day no one has ever complained about this animation, on the contrary it is what makes us different. In addition, the interlude does not last one hour, much to the chagrin of most customers. And the service does not stop, two servers are at the disposal of the customer who is free to leave the property if this annimation is not your convenience.
Sorry again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersch, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We (3 couples) have been there on a Saturday night. It was simply a nightmare. The starters with a so called ‘Mille-feuilles’, 3 slices of white bread, toasted until it was burned black. And tasted so... Explanation: this is to have a nicer look! Upon my remark that they should use black bread instead, the waiter sends me the kind of ‘YouAreAnIdiotGlance’.....
In the meantime, the table next to us complained that her starters are all cold-> return to the kitchen! No reaction at all. No excuses or proposals...
But it became worse: on the menu was a ‘T-Bone’ steak, 500gr/38€! The price might be correct, if the meat is good. We ordered 3, ‘cuisson-rosé’ . Result: 2x well done, mine ‘rare’. BUT: impossible to cut! And they have good knives. The 1st one gave up after 5 Minutes, 95% of the T-Bone went immediately back to the kitchen: No reaction. After 10 Minutes I gave up as well (last one fighting with the beast)! 30% impossible to cut, and I couldn’t chew anymore .
We asked for an explanation. The waiter came, and no explanation, nothing. We don’t know what French cuisine is, and all was correct. They don’t do a ‘geste commercial’. We had to pay everything....120€ per couple, and nearly nothing in the stomach!
I will not explain what happened then.... (But we had to pay!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MarcLamesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel M, Gérant at La Boheme, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour votre avis concernant votre expérience.

Nous avions pris bonne note de vos remarques lors de votre visite, et cherchions à trouver une solution jusqu'au moment où vous avez insulter notre personnel.

Quand au problème de la table dont vous parlez, il ne s'agissez pas de l'entrée, mais du plat. De plus nous avons trouvé une solution avec les clients, et depuis sont revenus et ravis.

Je suis désolé de ne pas avoir répondu à vos attentes, mais le personnel est passé régulièrement afin de demander si tout se passer bien, il n'y a eu aucune critique ou réponse, sauf à la fin du repas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the quality and the quantity of the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

the starter was good, it was not big but it was enough for me. The main course, some fish, was cold, dry cooked and so tiny that I thought it was a joke. And that for a big price. The restaurant itself is very stylish but not "warm and charming". The wines are also very expensive. The service was very friendly and nice. It was the first and last time I visited this restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank thessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionel M, Gérant at La Boheme, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire.

Notre équipe cherche à satisfaire tous les clients, c'est pourquoi toutes les remarques sont bonnes à prendre. Je regrette que nous n'ayons pas pu en discuter de vive voix lors de votre visite

Nous avons élargi notre gamme de vins et proposons désormais des vins au rapport/qualité/prix plus abordables (à partir de 16 euros la bouteille).

J'espère toutefois vous accueillir à nouveau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New discovery in the heart of Luxembourg!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This new restaurant is a discovery. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is splendid. It's a crossover of Eastern and Southern European cuisine with a high standard in the quality of the ingredients. Also the people are very friendly...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Boheme also viewed

Mersch, Luxembourg District
Mersch, Luxembourg District
 
Mersch, Luxembourg District
Mersch, Luxembourg District
 
Mersch, Luxembourg District
Mersch, Luxembourg District
 

Been to La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing