We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not great”

Logis Hostellerie Val Fleuri
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Logis Hostellerie Val Fleuri
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mersch
Scotland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel was a little disappointing as it could have been so much better. Stuck a little in the 70s/80s it was, however, quite pleasant but the smell of stale smoke in by non smoking room was a poor first impression. This was rectified but was just one of a few things that staff clearly don't pick up on such as a thick layer of dust on the display unit in the dining room. A good walk to eat anywhere else than the hotel, there isn't really much to do nearby. We did eat in the hotel one evening and the food was excellent but don't expect cheap, it is Luxembourg. Parking is on the street outside and could be limited if the hotel was busy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelScot94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, UK
Level Contributor
265 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We found the Hostellerie Val Fleuri whilst browsing through the Logis de France guide looking for places to stay in Luxembourg and are glad we did.

The location of the hotel is on what could best be described as a residential street, about 5-10 minutes walk from the Railway station and town centre. One of the houses does keep goats in their back garden but the noise from these is non existent, car-parking is available either next to the hotel on a ramp or on-street immediately outside.

The reception area is very well kept and the owner / chef is very welcoming indeed and speaks fluent English, French and German. After he found our reservation, which took about 30 seconds, we had the keys in our hands and up to the rooms which were on the 1st floor (the hotel has three floors)

The rooms were spotless and if you get one that is not facing the street, they have a very nice balcony too - lovely for sitting on in the morning having a coffee before breakfast.

The rooms are fairly spaced, although we only had singles so cannot comment on the double / family rooms, with all the usual amenities that you would expect. The single rooms appear to have showers and not baths, this may be the same for the other rooms but I cannot confirm this. The TV has a good range of channels including CNN and BBC world. The only slight downside is that the walls between the rooms are rather thin.

On to the restaurant, well the food is simply devine although be prepared - there is no menu to speak off, at least not if you are staying in the hotel. That aside, the set offering is wonderful and the chef has a very nice wine selection to match, although with it being Luxembourg and close to the Moselle don't expect to see many reds being offered.

Breakfast is fine, although the way you are offered fruit is a little quirky. There's no fruit bowl as such, each place that is laid up is given one piece of fruit - one day it will be an apple, the next a banana and so on. Cereals, ham / cheese etc are all provided but no hot selection which is fine for me but maybe not for everyone.

Given that it's only about 15 minutes to the centre of Luxembourg by train this really is a great little hotel if you want to avoid city centre prices or perhaps just want to be a little nearer to the countryside.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frontera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
343 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

As our old place in Luxembourg closed we had to find a new hotel for regular visit to Grand Duchy. Lucky to find this! Easy access by car to north and so near the station for a train to Luxembourg City.
Nice basic room with all you really need, extremely friendly owner (speaks really good English besides local languages), reasonable prices and tasty breakfast. Really, all we need when visiting friends in Luxembourg but not staying nights at their homes.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Parking may be a problem if more visitors with cars
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

This hotel is a good option to avoid the extremely high prices you find in hotels situated in the centre of Luxemburg. Rooms are quite nice, bathrooms are okeish (which is more than you could tell about most hotels in Europe), and brekfast is really very good. It's worth recommending.-

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — the restaurant was closed
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nonameSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2007

My wife and I stayed here at the end of a 3-day walking trek through the Valley of the Seven Castles. This hotel is very nice: clean, modern, well-run, and friendly. The chef is the owner. Breakfast and dinner are available at the hotel. It is located just outside of the center of the village. It is also only a 10 minute walk from the train station. The owners will shuttle you back and forth at your request. Mersch is about a 30 minute train ride from Lux City, probably about 15 minutes by car. I would recommend this place to my friends as a good place to stay in Mersch.

  • Liked — Small, personal, well-run, friendly
  • Disliked — There was nothing I really disliked.
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersch
4.8 mi away
Hotel Temps d'Or
Hotel Temps d'Or
#1 of 1 in Ansembourg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.2 mi away
Weidendall Auberge -  Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Grand Hotel de la Poste
#1 of 4 in Larochette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Motel Mersch
#1 of 2 in Mersch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.8 mi away
Eurocamping Nommerlayen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Hostellerie Val Fleuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Hostellerie Val Fleuri

Property: Logis Hostellerie Val Fleuri
Address: 28 Rue Lohr, Mersch 7545, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Mersch
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mersch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Logis Hostellerie Val Fleuri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Logis Hostellerie Val Fleuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Hostellerie Val Fleuri Luxembourg/Mersch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing