We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Wine Road Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ehnen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant Simmer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ehnen
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel on the Luxembourg Wine route. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant had a reasonable choice of local dishes and local wines.
The original hotel is what I would describe as "French Empire Style" and has a very nice atmosphere. We stayed in the adjoining annexe which was clean and serviceable with large rooms. perfectly adequate but would benefit from modernising. A good value hotel with good views of the river.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOD-Trip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel looked charming upon first arrival, however our check in was rather abrupt and we were hastily shown our room with no further explanations about the area or the towns nearby etc. There was no wifi or cable connection in rooms for the internet and so this must be done for reception, with once reception hours closing you must sit outside. The room itself was not quite what we expected, it was down a few long corridors and out the back of the hotel, in a dark and gloomy room with very worn wall paper and facilities. We ordered a double room but were given a twin and the tv was quite small. Aside from that it had everything we needed the beds were comfortable and the room peaceful. The breakfast was very average, with only some crossiants and breads and yoghurts with cold meat and cheese provided but it just didn't look very fresh or appetising. Overall an average stay and I wouldn't recommend to stay here unless you really had to for some reason.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a river view at the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnikadeBruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here 1 night, had a twin room with an extra bed for the child. Would definitely recommend a room facing the Moselle rather than at the back, it was much brighter and we had a balcony to sit out on. Decor slightly worn but overall the room and bathroom were perfectly adequate and we were more than happy with it. Staff were pleasant and friendly.
The restaurant was lovely, very good menu and excellent quality food. We were seated in the terrace part of the restaurant for both breakfast & dinner, lovely on a warm, summery day.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with a Moselle view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedo-epicureans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Nice hotel. A bit dated, but very clean and a good value. Ehnen was a quiet stop on the Mosel a pleasant bike ride from Trier or Luxembourg. The hotel has a nice restaurant for dinner, and breakfast was more than the typical French-style.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here for a night as part of a touring holiday. The hotel is dated and the beds (twin - no doubles) are squeeky, but otherwise was excellent. We had a balcony overlooking the river which was a very romantic setting. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast (continental) was amongst the best we have had. Would stay here again if going this way.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimandJulie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Right on the Mosel River on the Luxembourg side in a lttle hamlet. Peaceful, beautiful, old and quiet. Great service, very good dinner. We had tea and wine on the terrace while watching the river and took little walks along it. Near the hotel you can rent bikes to ride.
Staff was very nice.
Basic breakfast of ham, cheese, juice, cold cereal, rolls.
Would go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Restaurant Simmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Simmer

Address: 117 Route du Vin, Ehnen 5416, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Grevenmacher District > Ehnen
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ehnen
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Simmer 3*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing