We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the chef?”
Review of L'Ernz Noire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Ernz Noire
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grundhof
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago, a beautiful place, clean and very stylish decorated. A problem showed up after I ordered a normal menu of salmon fish. Apparently the chef was not able at all to do his job as it was a terrible experience. I complained about this and got a second table which was even worse. Finally I ordered a coffee with a cognac. Believe it or not but the hired (temporary?) server did not even understand French or English. I had to grab the bottle myself ... It was a total disaster and back in Sweden, where I live, I compared this hotel with the famous John Cleese "Fawlty Tower" sketches.

Anyway, I returned to this place 3 years later, where everything was normal . probably the original chef was back in town and I had nothing to complain of.

Now, this year in september 2011 I returned with my wife hoping that all would be fine. To my great horror the chef must have been totally out of his mind when serving my wife a so-called exotic salad. The air was filled with a disgusting stink of vinegar and even outdated olive oil. My wife almost spewed and even I could not keep myself in place. We complained and my wife got a second try which was the same or even worse.
Old olive oil, to much vinegar and a cold piece of chicken. Absolutely disgusting!

Ordering a Cappuccino resulted in a black coffee, not anything like a fresh cappuccino or espresso..

I've seen good reviews on the chefs capabilities at this hotel on other I-net site. But this story is not made up. The chef is a disaster at this place and should not have a license to work in any kitchen.

signed:

Bram Bottema
Sorunda
Sweden

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SM0FLY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2007

This hotel is very handy for exploring the Moselle valley.

First, rather gloomy, impressions can be deceptive. The young chef and owner was in charge at the desk and showed us to a spacious, comfortable room with one of the largest bathrooms we have ever seen.

The room was fairly quiet although it faces a busy road. In summer traffic noise could be disturbing.

The dining-room was very 'girly' in style, supervised by a lovely sommelier and the chef in person. We declined the tasting menu as being too copious, but the a la carte was full of local / seasonal produce. This chef is passionate about his food and his country. We had an excellent dinner.

Breakfast was fantastic, with home-made (by chef) bread and jams.

L'Ernz Noire was excellent value for money, we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ich empfehle den Garten mit Blick auf die Sauer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank paulusBrugge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank miguelmoutoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank freddo138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to L'Ernz Noire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ernz Noire

Address: 2 Route de Beaufort, Grundhof 6360, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Grevenmacher District > Grundhof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grundhof
Price Range: £65 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Ernz Noire 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Ernz Noire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing