We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wild and happy week!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tonbane Glebe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kerrykeel, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
agnieszka...
Banagher, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wild and happy week!”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Well...Where to begin? Donegal is a splendid spot, no doubt...And if you are ready for an adventure, that's the place to go. The coastline is a dream. We loved all the arches, caves, cliffs and beaches. And it is wild, I will say the wildest and the less spoiled area in Ireland. It is straightforward, with no pretence...which was refreshing. Tonbane Glebe cottage is the good base for all that. Children enjoyed the old phone, gramophone and different gadgets that decorated the house. Tom was more than welcoming and helpful. We had a great time! Hope to return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in the wilds of Donegal”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great short break in this beautiful cottage. The owner, Tom, was very friendly and just around the corner if we needed anything. The cottage is situated in a lovely part of Donegal, with a beach in walking distance and just a short drive away from Fanad Head and its impressive lighthouse.
Cottage had everything we could want and was beautifully decorated. Would recommend to anyone looking to get away from it all!

Thanks for everything Tom!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely wee cottage, clean with interesting ornaments/items throughout. Tom was very helpful and came to meet us and get settled in. The cottage is surrounded by lovely scenery, though it is fairly secluded. Gorgeous beach nearby and we took a walk to the local 'shebeen' where every one was very friendly. Lovely wee spot to get away from it all, we wish we had stayed longer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarleton...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me, my husband, our 1 year old and our dog had a lovely stay at Tom's cottage. Fanad is a beautiful location with breathtaking scenery at every turn. It is a great base for exploring all that lovely donegal has to offer. The cottage itself is located about a 15 minute walk to a fantastic long white sandy beach- perfect for swimming and refreshing walks. The cottage is filled with traditional Irish character and was clean and tidy on our arrival. Our host Tom was most welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. We had a stress free, relaxing stay at Tonbane Glebe and cannot recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Cottage, beautiful rural scenery, totally peaceful, brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was gorgeous. Tom, the owner, was was really lovely, and couldn't have been more helpful. He even found us a mechanic and drove me there when we had a little car trouble. Our children loved the cottage garden with fish pond and real shipwreck to play on, also the horses in the fields beside the cottage. We loved the quiet, the beautiful views and scenery everywhere we went - the beach is gorgeous and only 5 mins from the cottage and we mostly had it to ourselves but there are sandy beaches and rockpools everywhere to explore. Perfect for long walks. There are a couple of cosy pubs down the road from the cottage, one where you can get food. We drove into Portsalon one evening and got lovely fish and chips from the takeaway which you can eat at tables outside overlooking yet another gorgeous beach.The children loved Archery Arcade run by Ed so much that we booked them another session which he does indoors if raining but usually on the beach at the bottom of the road. There is also a fishing harbour down there. Ed's phone number is on lampposts around the area. We also loved horseriding in the stables in Milford in the mountains, flyfishing taught by George in the garage in Kerrykeel, clay pigeon shooting, visiting the light house, the children enjoyed the adventure place in Kerrykeel for a day rockwall climbing and bouncy castles etc. We had such a brilliant holiday and there was so much to do we are going back next year because there was loads more we wanted to do but only had a week. Just a really beautiful, magical place. Loved by the whole family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and how welcome we were made.
Liked least: Nothing really - we had a fantastic holiday. We had ordinance survey map which was brilliant as I imagine it would be quite hard to find your way around without one
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole G
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A perfect rural retreat and amazing countryside”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Loved the quirky cottage and location. Very comfortable and perfect for us with walking, fishing and sailing all on the doorstep. Tom is very friendly and helpful. Do buy the local Irish OS map for the area before you go as its invaluable! Glad our dog was made so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its a lovely old cottage, but if you want something totally modern then choose somewhere else and also our dog was very welcome
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica P
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tonbane”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If I were to describe the cottage in three words, cosy, clean and welcoming. The owner Tom from the start made sure me and my partner had everything we needed he went as far as to even buy us milk and give us lifts to the shops. Right from the start we were made to feel at home. The post office is within less than 10 minutes walk and the beach 20. The cottage pre dates the famine and was used as a meeting place, it is lovely and cosy ,full of treasures that tell stories from Toms travels. I would love to stay again and would highly recommend the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner Tom was very hospitable
Liked least: The cooker is a bit tricky to use
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
It was a pleasure to have you here in fanad I do hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing