We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky chance took us to Ambassador Lodge!”
Review of Ambassador Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambassador Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Milton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having been disappointed by previous rooms in Cambridge we were lucky enough to find a spare room in Ambassador Lodge for a single night. Fizz could not have been more helpful leaving us a key and making sure everything was ready for our late evening arrival. The room was most comfortable, the bathroom was small but adequate and the breakfast enormous and more than adequate. A really nice place to stay, we hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuysGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights in April. Lovely room; modern, clean and well furnished. Shower cubicle in en suite a shade small but ample room for shower etc. Ample parking spaces, off road.

Proprietors very friendly and welcoming and willing to give time to advise on trips, places to visit etc. Unlike many establishments you are free to help yourself to items from dining room or eat brought-in meals there using establishment's utensils.

Breakfast and service outstanding. As good as anywhere we have stayed and the whole package is excellent value for money, especially compared to other Cambridge prices.

This will be the first place we will look for in any future visits to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for a weekend recently and I must say it was excellent.
The rooms were spotless, bright, and airy, and the breakfast was first class.
The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Would love to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a brilliant b&b, the owners are so wonderfully chilled and friendly we had brilliant laid back experience. We are always a bit wary of some b&b's as some are connected to peoples homes and they can be a bit intrusive or over friendly so you feel like your staying in their home-not here. We were made to feel very welcome but the laid back atmosphere madethis a very relaxing place to stay. We had a early start ams were chuffed when they offered to so us an earlier breakfast to accomadate us. And what a breakfast! I've never seen such a choice of cereals with fresh mixed fruit and pastries availablem the cookes breakfast was absolutely delicious. The coffe was damn good too. A lovely sweet room and bathroom. We were very comfortable and had an easy night. Everything was very clean. Ambassadors lodge is ideal for visiting Cambridge as its not far away at all. Therearewalks near by too. Despite bring a quiet little village there are four pubs and a nearby shop we went to the pub next door for a wonderful delicious and cheap dinner. The lodge keep menus in their reception.
I highly recomend this place-if your nervous about the over zealous b&b owner who practically welcomes.you into their home you wont have that here they are much more professional and chilled. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Set in the quiet village of Milton, just outside Cambridge, this place is a real gem! Having just spent 6 nights at the Ambassador Lodge, I really cannot fault it. Phil and Fizz are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for either of them; they are always around for advice or just a friendly chat.
Forget the larger chains in the area; try a real slice of true hospitality. The rooms are quiet, well heated and spotlessly clean, they are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and a small flat screen TV. Downstairs there is a lounge that can be used by guests to relax, games for children, books to read and a large selection of brochures and information about the surrounding area and attractions.

As for breakfast, well I defy you to find a full English breakfast anywhere in the area to compete. Phil's breakfasts are legendary
Phil is up and about early in the morning eagerly waiting to please.
The village itself has no less than four pubs to choose from, the locals who were happy to include me in their conversations made me welcome.
Nature lovers and walkers can take a walk along the river, all the way into Cambridge, or enjoy a walk around Milton Park.

Milton Park and Ride are less than 5 minutes from Ambassador Lodge making for easy access into the city.

The Ambassador Lodge is excellent value for money and the rates are very competitive.
Give them a try you won’t regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangkokMark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our room is one of just 6 in this quite small bed and breakfast establishment and was rather spacious. It had a standard sized double bed which was a little small for my very tall frame but none the less was quite comfortable. In the room also was a single bed which we did not need or use. Whether the other rooms also have an extra single bed I do not know. The bed had an ample duvet again which we did not use as it was so hot. The room was well equipped with all the usual things such as tea and coffee a kettle etc. The bathroom was quite small with shower hand basin and toilet. The shower was extremely easy to control and had plentiful hot water.

Unusually downstairs there was a small lounge for use of residents which again was well furnished and had a wide selection of books and magazines for people to read. There was also a good selection of brochures for local attractions. The B & B is also quite close to Milton Country Park which provided us with a very pleasant walk only 5 minutes from the ambassador Lodge.

The bed and breakfast is in Milton and only a short distance from the Cambridge Park and ride bus service which takes you straight into the centre of Cambridge. This makes this bed and breakfast a very convenient place to stay if you wish to do anything in Cambridge city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank makesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My sister and I with our husbands just spent a superb weekend at Ambassador Lodge . It was
a wonderful experience ~ lovely rooms very comfortable ~ superb breakfast ~ and the owners just make you feel so welcome and can't do enough for you .We would certainly make this our first choice on returning to Cambridge ~ Thank you so much .

Room Tip: Only a few rooms but all looked very comfortable as was ours
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunoswalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jolly Brewers - Milton
2.4 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#3 of 123 in Cambridge
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Lodge

Address: 37 High Street | Milton, Milton CB24 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Milton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Milton
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run B & B in a small village close to Cambridge. Good access to A14 and M11. Walking distance to Business Park and Science Park. Good food available from local pubs/restaurant. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing