We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Expensive for a Basic B&B - but religious conversion at no extra charge!”
Review of Ayah Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayah Villa
Ranked #2 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our family (Mum, Dad, kid and baby) stayed 2 nights in a room at Ayah Villa. We felt it was pretty poor value for £110 per night. The communal areas smelled of cats, the room was faded and old fashioned (nasty carpet, net curtains, etc) with a tiny bathroom. It was situated at the downstairs front of the house so we were disturbed all night by traffic noise and returning guests. At 1am someone rang the bell because the front door had been locked and guests didn't have a key for it. Only the awful coffee from the famous coffee machine is available at breakfast and you miss out on the cooked breakfast unless you can wait till 8.30am. On the positive side the staff were very friendly and the bed was quite comfortable. So far a standard overpriced B&B, worth maybe half of the hefty price tag.

Our main gripe was the Jesus propaganda everywhere. The most annoying example was the Christian internet radio channel from the USA playing loudly over breakfast. We were too embarrassed to protest but it was very intrusive. Normally it would have been funny, but after a bad nights sleep it was irritating.

This is my first ever hotel review, but I chose Ayah Villa based on the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, so I felt that our experience should be made available to others.

Room Tip: don't stay in a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayahvilla, Manager at Ayah Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write a review. We am sorry that you were offended by the Christian element in our Guest House. This was not our intention. We agree that the carpet has seen better days and we are having it replaced next month (it would have been sooner but the carpet fitters can't do it any earlier). You stayed in a family room for 4 people and we feel that the price you paid was not unreasonable in Cambridge. We're afraid we can't do anything about the traffic noise but a tip is to take ear plugs with you when staying anywhere as there is always a possiblity that it will be noisy; the guests may be noisy and there is a sign on the door saying 'DO NOT LOCK THIS DOOR'. As for the coffee; we have a machine that gives you white coffee normal, white coffee creamy, black coffee, cappuchino, espesso, hot chocolate and tea. What more would you want? Do you get that choice from other guest houses free ALL day? I think not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

What a find! As soon as we arrived, we received an excellent welcome from the charming Louise. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Bed excellent, lovely bathroom with very good shower. In the morning we had a superb breakfast freshly cooked to order also with a great array of cereals, yogurt, drinks and fruit of all types. We couldn't fault this guest house and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Ayah Villa for a long weekend. Our room was roomy, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent from fruit, yoghurts and your choice of full english or any part of this. Nothing was too much trouble. It is located a few miles outside Cambridge and on a bus route if required. We will return soon.

Room Tip: Although we were a couple, we were given a family room located at the rear of the property overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevlancs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Lovely clean, light airy room and dining area. Best breakfast I have eaten anywhere. Bus stop right outside the door. Off road parking at no cost.

Room Tip: Family rooms are available with all single beds, making it an ideal place to stay if you have older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SillySally00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

New owners, only 1 month in the property. Very clean & tidy. Tea, coffee, chocolate, water all free any time of day or nite. Breakfast cooked to your choice, also cereals, fruit ,yougurt, toast, juice, the list seems endless. A must in a visit to Cambridge, good food pubs in walking distance. Roger & Ann Staffordshire.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rogermanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Ayah Villa truly is a little gem! The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are fab, friendly and helpful but not in your face and the breakfast was hotel standard, this B&B is somewhere you can feel at home!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The rooms including bathroom are on the spot
very nice, clean and comfortable. They provide free wireless
Internet access with strong signal in all rooms, a desk and
TV with hundreds of channels.
Free great coffee, tea, other hot drinks,
bottled still water all day/night long. Breakfast
customized, fresh, warm and plenty.
Warmly welcomed and an excellent service provided
by the managers Erica and Mike.
Very close if not the closest guest house
accomodation to the campus of the
Addenbrookes Hospital.
From the railway station (in the city center)
take the city bus 7 (about 10-15min).
The bus drives through the research campus and
stops in front of the Ayah Villa guest house
(Shelford Road 157). Bus comes every 15 min.
Rooms can also be booked contacting directly the
Ayah Villa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pianochopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine061, General Manager at Ayah Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

We would like to thank you for your positive comments. We have recently taken over the management of this guest house and are pleased with the positive responses we are now getting from our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
2.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
436 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,837 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,214 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayah Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayah Villa

Address: 157 Shelford Road, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range: £47 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayah Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
property description; A stylish contemporary Cambridge UK based bed and breakfast / guesthouse located just off the M11 motorway offering exclusive off street parking, ideal for business and leisure visitors. Located approximately three miles from Cambridge City Center, and London Stansted is 25 miles. The Ayah Villa guesthouse offers fully en suite single, double, twin and family rooms as well as a buffet style breakfast included in all bookings. Rooms are equipped with free view television and DVD facilities as well as wireless (WIFI) Internet access and travel cot available for family rooms (on request) all inclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ayah Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing