We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ayah Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayah Villa
Ranked #2 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very very reasonably priced. Pluses included self serve tea / coffee machine, biscuits, juices, toaster, microwave available at all times to guests. It is one of few BnBs where you can choose to buy a microwave meal and be able to heat it up and eat it in the dining room if you don't feel like going out! Self serve continental breakfast and eggs on request.

Minuses - room was small and there was quite a bit of road noise when the window was opened, however you cannot fault the cleanliness of the place. Also a bit further from Cambridge city than expected (there is a bus across the road and a park and ride nearby).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWong84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    80
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
62
78
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Although the room was large, it was downstairs & a lot of noise could be heard from upstairs. Bus across the road, but was further away from Cambridge than we thought. We stayed two nights, but the bed was not made. Parking difficult to get in the parking bay at times. Did not feel particularly welcome. Definetely would need a car to get around to restaurants. Continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad m, Manager at Ayah Villa, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear guest,
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay here at ayah villa. I would like now to address some of the points made in your review.
Noise from other guests; we try very hard to keep the environment at Ayah Villa very calm and friendly and always try to remind this to guests if they are being overly noisy. Although this is issue does not occur very often if we were informed we would have seen to it right away.
Parking difficult; we are here 24hrs a day and should anyone have any difficulty parking their car in to a parking space, we would be more than happy to help guide them in to a space.
Ayah Villa is situated three miles from town centre as described on our website. Access is very easy via the number 7 bus just outside the guest house or a drive in would take about 10 minutes depending on traffic. Locally we have two restaurants that also have parking facilities, they are both exactly one mile from us which is approximately 15 minutes walking or 5 minute drive.
Here at ayah villa we do our very best to provide the best value home from home stay, our rooms are clean and comfortable and we always try our very best to make our guests feel welcome and cared for as they are all very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a two night stay here in June. We had a family room as we had our 2 year old with us. A warm welcome, clean and tidy and we were allowed to drop off our bags earlier then check in time. Breakfast was nice however there is no cooked breakfast facilities which we was not aware off till arriving - however this was better for the waist line!

Room Tip: The bus into Cambridge from opposite was about £8 return for two of us and quite a long journey. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed one night prior to a friend's graduation. It was clean, warm, welcoming, quiet and economical. Adequate parking (important in Cambridge!) and on a regular bus route to the centre.

Breakfast is "continental" plus eggs freshly boiled, fried or scrambled on request. Help yourself coffee, tea and fruit juice are available at all hours.

Not the softest bed I have had but I slept well. Not the poshest hotel in town, but it's just what I was looking for - a good economical bed and breakfast stop-over.

I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Great place to stay for everyone. Reasonably priced guest house, bus stop is just across the road with regular bus service (every 20 mins) into the city centre, parking space is available, quality of staff is professional and courteous.

Breakfast is a buffet style with a great many fresh and healthy things to choose, including homemade cakes, and boiled eggs on request, and a choice of white and brown bread which you can toast yourself. My request to have breakfast 15 minutes earlier than the 7.30 am start was accommodated, which was very helpful as I had to work in the city pretty early. The bed is very comfortable and the environment is very conducive for easy sleep at night.

The en-suite is homely, clean, spacious and warm, remote control TV, wireless and a wall-phone to contact staff if needed. Beverages are available at all times. Also, it was good to have boxes of tissues on bed-side tables.

The guest house is excellent value for money. Room for improvement would be regular removal of toilet-bin, making the bed and having more than one towel for a week's stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is a good solid B&B that offers good, clean, comfortable accommodation at a good price. It's not luxury but it offers everything you need and you feel very welcome. I was working in Trumpington for a couple of days so this place was a great find with several pubs/restaurants/shops within easy walking distance. There is plenty of parking too. You can use the hot drinks machine at any time and there is also juice in the fridge that you can help yourself to, and biscuits left out in case you want a snack. Breakfast is very tasty: it's a continental buffet, with a great range of fresh fruit, cereal, cakes, cheese and toast. You can also request eggs to be cooked for you. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

My wife and I (both aged 67) have just spent a night here after a wedding in Cambridge (not ours, I hasten to add!). Our welcome was genuine, the room was well equipped and spacious, a good nights sleep, and a really excellent continental breakfast with lots of choice. AND free coffee, tea etc any time from a machine that made excellent coffee and chocolate. Ample free parking. Recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on the from, next to the car park and the main Trumpington Road, but it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
2.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
1.7 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.6 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayah Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayah Villa

Property: Ayah Villa
Address: 157 Shelford Road, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayah Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
property description; A stylish contemporary Cambridge UK based bed and breakfast / guesthouse located just off the M11 motorway offering exclusive off street parking, ideal for business and leisure visitors. Located approximately three miles from Cambridge City Center, and London Stansted is 25 miles. The Ayah Villa guesthouse offers fully en suite single, double, twin and family rooms as well as a buffet style breakfast included in all bookings. Rooms are equipped with free view television and DVD facilities as well as wireless (WIFI) Internet access and travel cot available for family rooms (on request) all inclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ayah Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing