We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, comfortable rooms”
Review of The Lord Byron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lord Byron Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great pub, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here on business for 2 nights while working in the area. The rooms are in a courtyard setting outside the pub and are quite adequate with everything you need.
The pub is great and had a great atmosphere and good pub food and drink.
Cambridge is quite an expensive place to stay and I consider this good value. It's not a clinical as a Premier inn or Travel Lodge and has plenty of character and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    60
    41
    22
    16
See reviews for
25
71
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed here for 1 night this weekend due to a family function, I was a lady travelling alone as my partner was not able to attend. I was impressed with the hotel part and the public areas. I had room 3, it was a nice clean large room with crisp white bedding and soft white towels and lovely decoration. The room had a tv, tea n coffee making facilities, and large walk in wardrobe,including toiletries (soap, shower gel, shampoo). The room was fitted with air con unit for heat or to cool down. The bathroom was very large with a walk in shower so is disabled friendly to anyone reading this. Bed very comfortable indeed. The only 1x thing I can comment about was a noise in the bed room (think this was from the air con unit) it was not too bad for me but you can hear this if your trying to sleep. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was super, cannot fault anything at all. Its in a great location to Cambridge and very close to park and ride. I hope to stay here again but with my partner. I would like to just add as I was a lone traveller I felt very safe here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have just returned from a great weekend in Cambridge - we stayed here at the Lord Byron (it has changed it's name recently) - the rooms were impeccably clean and we had everything we would want in a room (toiletries, towels, tea/coffee, tv and free wifi (with strong signal).

The staff were extremely welcoming - we came back after a long hot day in Cambridge to chill out in the pub's garden with friends and had a very wholesome meal at extremely reasonable price. The fact that we could wander from our room directly into the gardens with such a bonus. And a great filling breakfast the next morning in the restaurant overlooking the sunny garden.

The Trumpington Park and Ride is close by giving very easy access to/from Cambridge town centre.

I cannot fault the Lord Byron and would recommend to anyone visiting Cambridge

Thanks so much

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Six of us took our seats in the dining room and ordered dinner shortly after 8pm... then to be told that they had run out of soup, not really a disaster, the alternative was ok and the food was overall unremarkable (although at £15 the lamb was over-priced). After finishing our main courses we tried to order dessert, only to be told that the chef had gone home! Apparently he waited until 9.30 and then went... so at 9.39pm we were too late! No one thought to tell us that we were subject to a strictly enforced time limit (and we were the only people in the dining room so the staff were hardly rushed off their feet). Fortunately the helpful staff at The Green Man pub and restaurant were happy to provide desserts for us, even though by the time we arrived there it was after 10pm when they normally finish serving food. We'll be going there in future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trumpington hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed for 1 night(28/4/12) - for a wedding. We arrived a good hour & half before official check in time, but the friendly staff were very helpful, & kindly allowed us access to the rooms, so we could get ready in a leisurely fashion, rather than a mad rush. The rooms were clean & well presented, & had everything you needed. The heating is completely under your control, which was good.
Breakfast was really good with again very friendly service (requests to vary the single offer of "full english" were all accepted with no problem). One very small criticism would be that the breakfast room is very dark, & would benefit from some extra lighting.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay, & wouldn't hesitate to recommend, or book again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

After a week of Travelodges it was a luxury to stay in a local pub. The Unicorn had all the charm we were looking for in a pub and comfort & cleanliness in our room. We had problems with wifi too, but it wasn't that important. We made friends at the pub (that was important). We took the bus into Cambridge from the Trumpington Park & Ride. It was very convenient and quiet. And I accidentally gave a rating for the pool. My hand slipped. There is no pool

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Wifi internet virtually non-existent – on the few occasions you get a connection it usually broke up after a few minutes. Poor mobile phone reception unless you stand outside. We had booked for three nights and for the first two nights had to listen to smokers from the pub talking and shouting loudly each evening from 10.30 until 11.30 and the only adjective/noun most of them knew began with “F” Thankfully no problems on New Year's Eve. Breakfast in a dark dull room and my hand stuck to the dirt on the varnished table! We explained we did not expect change of sheets or towels for three day stay but bins were not emptied nor tea/coffee making facilities replenished. Told at 4.30 pm on New Year's Eve that we would not get a cooked breakfast until 11 am on New Year's Day unless we had Continental Breakfast in our room which would consist of cereal (and presumably long life milk which was all that was provided for breakfast). We were given a £10 credit for the two of us in lieu of breakfast. No apology! Poor water pressure in the shower and in colder weather you need to put the bathroom heater on for 15 mins to heat up the bathroom before showering. Also in cold weather leave on the fan heater when you go out or you will come back to a cold room. Bed comfortable but all in all not a pleasant experience. Could not recommend the pub restaurant either - basic pub food. We had stayed here approximately four years ago but management has changed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
1.8 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,752 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
178 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
561 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Byron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Byron Inn

Property: The Lord Byron Inn
Address: 22 Church Lane, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lord Byron Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lord Byron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing