We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable but a bit overpriced.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lord Byron Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Lord Byron Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable but a bit overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst on business. The rooms are warm and cosy and the beds very comfortable. The only annoyance for me was the shower which was barely powerful enough to do its job (This really annoys me!). The walls are paper thin too and you can hear everyone in the rooms around you. Overall it was passable but without doubt a touch overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    54
    37
    20
    13
See reviews for
21
62
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed one night and was required to pay a 50% deposit for our two double rooms over the phone on booking even though when I received the confirmation it stated that no money was required until check-in.
The second couple arrived first and paid the remainder of their share plus 30% of ours due to an error which left a total balance outstanding of a mere £27.
When we arrived we wanted to do a quick change and come back to the bar but were refused our room key until the balance had been paid. We explained that we would only be about 5 or 10 minutes and would return with the other couple who would settle up. They weren't having any of it despite the check-in girl going to ask a manager.
Quite extraordinary and uncompromising. Talk about being made to feel unwelcome and setting a very very poor first impression. A lasting negative impression as well.
Drinks took an absolute age to be served for no apparent reason. The full size kettle in the room wouldn't fit under the tap so completely pointless. A trickle of water from the shower so I couldn't wash my hair.
Bed comfortable - only decent thing about the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trumpington hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went to the Lord Byron pub for dinner and weren't disappointed.
The staff were friendly, the atmosphere was relaxed and the food was excellent. There is a good and varied choice of food on the menu and it is extremely good value.
I will definitely be going back at some point soon and I think this is a useful place to meet friends without the hassle of traipsing into central Cambridge.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RG1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Eaten in here twice over the past two months.
It consistently provides good friendly service and food. The menu has a good choice of dishes. The prices are reasonable.
On both occasions we went for the sandwiches which were very good taste and value.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at The Lord Byron Inn at the start of the year and i have to say my stay 2 weeks ago was 100 x better. I was told they had 2 new chefs when asking about the new menu (as i was a bit apprehensive to eat there, last time was not great) , the friendly bar staff were fantastic informing me of the different meals they had tried on the menu and what i should try. They were spot on with the food i chose, the BBQ ribs were to die for!
I could not fault my stay here, nothing was to much to ask for. The staff make the place a home from home, really including you in with conversations at the bar with the locals. I would come back here indefinitely maybe for a weekend away and not for business next time.
As for the bad reviews this is a B&B not a hotel! Breakfast was also amazing, a little early but definitely better than what you would receive in a Travelodge or Premier Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie802013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My last visit was in 2009 with my wife when the Inn was still known as the Unicorn. It was great and it was on that basis that I booked us in at the Lord Byron for a 'guys only' excursion through England in November 2013.

I was extremely pleased to see that the Lord Byron was mostly just a name change. We stayed for two very pleasant evenings and our group had no serious concerns. It is a charming and comfortable English pub (but if you're over 6' tall you have to watch out for a few of the low ceiling beams) with enough room to have a private meal together but small enough for us to feel quite 'at home'.

All of the Lord Byron staff members were very friendly and solicitous of our needs. The bar service was fast and the beer selection quite pleasing. The meals were well prepared and very tasty. In particular the pork ribs got a very enthusiastic 'thumbs up' from the three of us who tried them. The other starters and mains menu items we tried were all very good, too.

The most negative thing I could say is that the Wi-Fi connection in the bar was a bit slow and the television signal quality was a bit 'iffy' at times.

Overall we were all quite happy with the experience and would absolutely stay at the Lord Byron again.

Room Tip: 1. The Lord Byron doesn't have a huge number of rooms so it's best to book as early as possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Popped into the lord byron expecting typical pub food. The bar staff were really friendly, the atmosphere was relaxing but the food was absolutely top notch. Simple but absolutely delicious. I eat out a lot on business and this food would be expected in a 4 or 5 star hotel. Hope you get the same chef i did!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cw106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
1.8 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
1.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
1.4 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Byron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Byron Inn

Property: The Lord Byron Inn
Address: 22 Church Lane, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lord Byron Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lord Byron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing