We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”
Review of The Lord Byron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lord Byron Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Although went in for carvery it was not available,Fathers day menu instead we chose meals off that,DELICIOUS !Always good service and cheery staff. Lovely garden to sit in and good for families. Never disappointed with this pub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    60
    40
    20
    15
See reviews for
24
69
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'm a very regular customer at The Lord Byron and have been for 2 years. I guess that speaks volumes. The staff are all great and very welcoming. The rooms are very clean and helpfully separate from the pub / restaurant itself so this helps keep my away from the consumption of alcohol every evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsarw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIchfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have just had a two day stay at this inn. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The rooms were basic but adequate for a two night stop over, and were also clean.The breakfasts were excellent and hearty with a good variety of choice.The rooms are set along side of the pubs gardens so you need to be aware that if the weather is good it might be difficult to get to sleep until the pub closes.Overall I enjoyed our stay and would use the pub again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kostos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked in here as I was attending a 3 day course nearby. My room was excellent with an en-suite shower. All clean and nicely presented, plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries. I ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very tasty, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room price includes a full english breakfast which was freshly cooked and yummie. I would certainly stay here again.
My only concern was the door to my room only had a yale lock and there was no safety chain fitted. It would had been better if the door was locked more securely.

Room Tip: Wifi worked better nearer the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I have a steak dinner each Thursday. This Thursday 10.04.14 we decided to cycle further afield to Trumpington. We hadn't been to this Inn is many years.

We were pleasantly surprised that it remains a family orientated Inn now with accommodation. The interior (some seating) perhaps in part could be updated, a little scruffy but overall it was very good, in particular the area by the traditional open fire.

We ordered two Sirloin steaks, the service was very good, friendly polite staff and the food arrived in a good time. The food was excellent, good quality steak and the accomplishing fries and tomatoes and onion rings in particular were of a great standard.

Certainly would recommend this Inn to people visiting Cambridge.

Steve and Claire Robertson

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Only Stayed for one night but room was clean everything worked staff were very freindly
nice breakfast in the morning and was in a good location i would stay here again if needed to stay overnight in Cambridge

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyDisco54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night for a social night out in Cambridge. Service behind the bar was good, breakfast in the morning was very good especially the friendly service. Room was nothing fancy but had all the bare essentials and cleanliness was good. Perfectly acceptable for somewhere to just spend the night if you need it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
1.8 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,718 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
175 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,281 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Byron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Byron Inn

Property: The Lord Byron Inn
Address: 22 Church Lane, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lord Byron Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lord Byron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing