We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lord Byron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lord Byron Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have been travelling on our honeymoon and were pleasantly surprised that an inn with only 3 stars beat some of the 4 and 5 star hotels for: Wifi - fastest and best connection we have had. TV, a bit small but shows did not cut out of reception every few minutes like other places we have been. Shower and bathroom facilities were good and looked to have been recently updated. We had dinner here the first night and breakfast on both days, and were not disappointed in relation to quality of the food or service from the staff who were very friendly and efficient.
The garden area and outside are in the middle of being updated and once completed should look quite good. (my wife got to see a hedgehog at night time scurrying around in the bushes which was a small bonus for her)
Would recommend this Inn for anyone wanting to go there in the future.

Room Tip: We had the the second last Room (number 8 i think) very Quiet quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    56
    38
    20
    14
See reviews for
22
64
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Chalet style accommodation rather than hotel, in the pus garden which is in need of a serious facelift, room reasonably comfortable but not well insulated and room above very noisy. Breakfast was ok when what was ordered turned up, but no effort was made for a gluten free diet although they were advised.when booked

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My 11month old daughter and I have just had the pleasure of an overnight stay at The Lord Byron whilst attending a wedding at nearby Anstey Hall. Literally one minute by foot to the Hall and two minutes to the village church, The Lord Byron is the perfect affordable option for those, like us, who needed a base for the weekend without the price tag of the Hall.
The staff at The Lord Byron Inn could not have been more helpful; from arranging an early check in, to providing a baby friendly breakfast place and helping me to lug bags to my room whilst laden with a wriggling teething toddler.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and had a TV and coffee making facilities. We slept incredibly well despite being closest to the car park due to the effective double glazing. The adjustable heating system meant that we could keep the room cool on what proved to be a sweltering day- much welcomed relief after an afternoon in the sunshine.
The breakfast was plentiful and the coffee excellent.
All in all I can wholeheartedly recommend The Lord Byron Inn for an overnight stay if you ever find yourself in Trumpington.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

An establishment that has potential but needs effective management. Stayed for 3 nights and was very disappointed. Room was good however the bathroom was very poor due to low hot water pressure that died at times such that shower was completely useless. Hotwater tap was loose and made supply problem worst. The one evening meal was extremely disappointing and poor value, we had to ask for menus, service was slow, starters came up at different times, main course only warm and on cold plates and looked very unappetising and chef had gone home before we got to sweet course. general area needs attention. A trailer is parked on grass with old furniture stacked on it, two cars in car park looked abandodned and tax discs had expired in 2013. Bins near accomodation were smelling in the warm weather. Will not stay here again nor recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trumpington hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Caerwys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I travelled and shared a room with a 70ish Mum. We were able to get the disabled room.
The room was clean in linen and smell, but the carpet needed attending to - the kettle was dangerous with wires hanging out and also had not been cleaned.

The food was normal pub grub but I have to say the team running the place were friendly and really 5 star.As a pub I would recommend - as a place to stay maybe it needs some tarting up as we say from Liverpool,; it is tired and needing help

However there is one great place - the pub garden - so well maintained and a TOTAL great place for kids

I would recommend anyone in Cambridge to make a trip for good cheap food and a place to keep the kids happy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Although went in for carvery it was not available,Fathers day menu instead we chose meals off that,DELICIOUS !Always good service and cheery staff. Lovely garden to sit in and good for families. Never disappointed with this pub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'm a very regular customer at The Lord Byron and have been for 2 years. I guess that speaks volumes. The staff are all great and very welcoming. The rooms are very clean and helpfully separate from the pub / restaurant itself so this helps keep my away from the consumption of alcohol every evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsarw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
1.8 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
1.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Byron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Byron Inn

Property: The Lord Byron Inn
Address: 22 Church Lane, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lord Byron Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Lord Byron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing