We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go and live in Anstey Hall, I love it so much”
Review of Anstey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anstey Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I had organised a short holiday in Cambridge and booked a place called Brooklands Guest House. We arrived on the Monday midday. That guest house proved to be worse than a flea pit in terrible decorative order. I don't know how they can still be in business.
Quickly looking on line, we discovered a local place called Anstey Hall. Primerily, it is a wedding and events venu but luckily for us, Anstey Hall had just opened it's doors to guests during the week. Unfortunately for us, they could only accommodate us until the Friday because of a wedding AND a corporate event. When we pulled up at the Grade I listed building in the charming village of Trumpington, John de Bruyne and his son met us on the stairs. They greeted us warmly and carried our cases inside. The interior is charming and very interesting. We were shown to our rooms after being shown over the house and all it's visitors rooms and bedrooms. As we were the only ones staying at that exact moment, he kindly gave us The Best Room, The Bridal Suit. We had a grand view from our first floor balcony overlooking the back lawns.
Breakfast consisted of a very good Continental spread> We lacked for nothing and the quality of the food was second to none. Anstey Hall proved to be a charming, welcoming and fantastic value venue for our party of six and was a brilliant base from which to explore Cambridge and the surrounding district. We loved every second of our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this quirky, boutique sumptuous house to stay in and be charmed by Mr. John de Bruyne, his delightful daughter Abigail, happy son John Jr, the beautiful Tracey, and Karol and co-workers. We loved them all
Thank you all with absolute sincerity for making our break one to remember for all the right reasons.
We hope to return in the very near future.
Pat & Gilly

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and very well furnished. Room price varies. Speak to them and enquire. All t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patrick567234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Found this place on bookings.com, and was a little apprehensive at first as there are no reviews.... So thought I'd be the first as my stay was lovely.

This place is odd, large country house, huge boutique style rooms, Not your average B&B by any means. Basically this place is has been a wedding venue (with rooms available) for some time and, from reading those reviews, are pretty good at it. They have just started doing B&B for a week or two hence no reviews on here.

Anstey Hall is in my opinion unique, it looks like a boutique style country house hotel, and if it was, would probably charge 3 times the price, but it isn't. This is someone's home, and they treat you (in the nicest possible way) like a guest. This is what makes it unique and why I think it's such a lovely place. All members of the family and the few staff (this is a big place) were very welcoming, happy, and friendly.

My room was great, very spacious, lovely decor, beautiful antique furniture, large wet room with shower and his & her sinks, as well as all the other things you would expect in a hotel room, even a little fridge - it was all very clean and tidy, I couldn't really find any faults with it - Okay, i thought the multicoloured hanging rail was a bit out of place in the room at first, but this is where I forgot that it wasn't a 5 star hotel (its very easy to do here). It's someone's home and that rail is
there because they like it.

The rest of the house is filled with weird and wonderful items some in keeping with the style, and some not, it's all a little quirky at times, but again reminds you that it's not a hotel, its a home.

The bar was a great place to spend time in the evening, guests and family members coming and going, but always happy to spend time for a conversation, and the terrace was a nice place to sit and enjoy the evening.

Breakfast was a self service continental style buffet with cereals, bread, toaster, croissants etc, lots of fruit, fruit juice etc, lots of different teas and coffees, and yogurts, cheeses, meats, etc - there was pretty much everything you could possibly want and I'm probably not doing it the justice
it deserves but all really good quality from the Waitrose down the road.

In summary - This place is an absolute gem, I loved it and will definitely be going back there again not only for future business trips but also as the perfect base for a weekend in
Cambridge. Yes there were a few things I didn't like at first, but after spending time there and getting to know the family a bit - everything is exactly their taste and character and that's what makes it such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulyandems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se supone que en el edificio principal se encuentran las mejores.No acepte alojarse en los anexos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CVL43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qualquer quarto irá tornar sua hospedagem inesquecível.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karênina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Giusi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank bloodflowers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: le stanze nell'edificio principale sono decisamente migliori
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Massimo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,942 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,516 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 37 in Cambridge
404 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anstey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anstey Hall

Address: Anstey Hall Maris Lane, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range: £78 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anstey Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast acommodation features:- Huge bedrooms, some with four poster beds.- Beautiful antique furniture and a world class collection of Post Impressionist paintings all around you.- Bathrooms with massive roll-top baths or modern wet room showers.- Tea and coffee making in each room.- An honour bar with a well stocked collection of drinks.- Free wi-fi throughout.- Modern TVs in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anstey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing