We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely surprise hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anstey Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anstey Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Trumpington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Normally stay in central cambridge but because if the Tour de France there were no rooms.
That was a bit of luck. As I booked antsy hall
This is an eccentric English manor hotel
It's a bit out of the ordinary but very charming.
The staff are very relaxed and polite.
The whole place us very relaxing
I had the best nights sleep in this hotel that I've had for several years.
Breakfast is rather unusual as it a serve yourself buffet style but it had loads of choice ( check out the fridge )
It's a great place with a great ambiance
Check it out next time your in Cambridge.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    63
    32
    7
    17
See reviews for
43
121
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

And it was fantastic! We love Tracey- she is the perfect wedding organiser and so easy to get along with!!
We loved everything about the place as soon as we saw it. Lovely atmosphere, gorgeous gardens, bedrooms are stunning. Our guests really enjoyed themselves and couldn't believe we found such an amazing venue.
Only thing that would add the cherry on the top would be a nice fried breakfast...!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I think this is a "love it or hate it" place. We loved it. The atmosphere was great, the staff very helpful and our chats with John were really enjoyable. So different to some of the the very modern, impersonal hotels we have stayed in. My husband could have stayed in the massive library all day. We had bedroom 2 which was fantastic, 4-poster bed and a great bathroom. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 635Dee_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Rhinolondon reviewer said it all really. This place is an unusual find. Not your usual B &B. It is a delightful, grand old English house of three story's ....and you are the guest. Lovely large garden and surrounds and you can walk to a great pub for dinner called the Green Mile. Lovely breakfast of self serve everything. However remember to look in the fridge, which I didn't until I had already eaten. I found cheese, ham, eggs, fresh berries, yoghurt, yoghurt with fruit etc as well as all the dry cereals and bread out of the fridge.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
702 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Anstey Hall offers something different. Cast off any preconceptions you might have that you are going to a run-of-the-mill hotel. Instead, you are a guest at an English country house with all of the informality and ease that this provides. Like real country houses, it has its challenges: the decoration varies from carefully stripped timber panelling and mouldings to ‘Pugin’ colour schemes. Bedrooms are large and eclectically furnished: our bathroom was equally large and recently equipped in high Edwardian style plus a modern shower cubicle. Breakfasts are informal: essentially ‘continental’ with the widest range of choice that you are ever likely to find – just look in the fridge and help yourself. (No ‘full English’ but you can make your own scrambled eggs). There’s a large terrace and informal lawn to the south that is perfect for sitting out when the sun shines. The staff are most helpful and the owner is a host in the true spirit of the English country house. The semi-rural setting is close to Grantchester and a couple of miles from the centre of Cambridge with connections by local bus – or a pleasant 2-mile walk along the river meadows. This is a stay that you are unlikely to forget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in May. Was very nice indeed. Staff very welcoming and answered emails very quickly about questions we had before we even got there.

No dinner facilities but there was a Chinese restaurant and 2 pubs nearby (a few hundred yards walk) and a waitrose if you don't want to eat out.

We stayed in room 1 and it was lovely. Nice big bed with lovely furnishings and a great feel to the room. Bathroom was excellent. Huge roll top bath with plenty of hot water. Lovely shower although this dripped a little (they said there were getting this fixed).

Grounds were very nice too. Not enough to spend a day looking at them, but a very pleasant view from the private balcony.

Breakfast was nice. Help yourself / DIY but that was absolutely fine for us. Was all very hygienically put out with a huge selection including smoked salmon. Very impressed.

all in all a wonderful stay. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Anstey Hall breathes history. At first I thought it might need some finishing touches. And the breakfast menu could be more extensive, adding a full English breakfast. But after comparing it to other hotels and b&b I think the fact that it wasn't perfect, and the breakfast food was accessible 24/7, were just the things which made us feel comfortable. Almost as if you were at home. The nice and flexible staff were great too.

Room Tip: Ask for one overviewing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmassop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumpington
2.0 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
5.4 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anstey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anstey Hall

Property: Anstey Hall
Address: Anstey Hall Maris Lane, Trumpington, Cambridge CB2 9LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Trumpington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trumpington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anstey Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast acommodation features:- Huge bedrooms, some with four poster beds.- Beautiful antique furniture and a world class collection of Post Impressionist paintings all around you.- Bathrooms with massive roll-top baths or modern wet room showers.- Tea and coffee making in each room.- An honour bar with a well stocked collection of drinks.- Free wi-fi throughout.- Modern TVs in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anstey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing