We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful & Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rectory Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rectory Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Coton B&B and Inns
Nîmes, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful & Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My French husband and I have been staying at The Rectory Farm for close to a month now due to his work commitments and may I say it is a delight to all senses! From the sweet serenity upon driving up to the elegant, lightly lit entrance to the sweet chimes of sheep in the near by pastor. We have been staying in The Chalet selection of rooms all fitted perfectly, with deluxe beds, style and comforting essentials (heating is wonderful but do not drape garments over, respectfully)

The breakfast selection is by far the best we have tasted and seen (we travel regularly) the continental display is a healthily, scrumptious selection of fresh fruit, natural yogurt, natural honey, pastries and fromage. Traditional full english is offered and I assume it only keeps to this high standard, the service is warm and friendly and to ensure you are completely at peace a crackling fire is always lit every morning - how luxurious for this coming winter?

We recommend this BnB highly, secluded yet close to Cambridge with easy access (note the driveway is a sharp right just off the highway) It is a true delight for business, for couples, for family and for all!

Room Tip: We love any room with a bath and they do have them available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    130
    69
    40
    39
See reviews for
91
234
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My companion and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Rectory Farm. There was a warm welcome from the proprietors, comfortable and spacious accommodation, an excellent cooked breakfast with attentive service and the location is very convenient for a visit to Cambridge

Room Tip: If you stay in the chalet part you can park right outside it. On the fitness front Rectory Farm offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I recently visited Cambridge for the first time and chose Rectory Farm because of it's charming a slightly secluded location whilst still being close enough to Cambridge City. We were looking for something that offered a little more luxury than your average B&B and as my husband is an avid tennis fan and plays regularly we were pleased that the facilities included a tennis court - sadly this isn't what we got!

The website promised a short walk to Madingley Park and Ride (but sadly with no clear public footpath and situated at the edge of the M11 motorway only this could only be reached via car as to attempt to walk it in the dark (in Nov) would risk life and limb!).

We were greeted on arrival by the owner who was pleasant enough and proceeded to show us to our room. We had chosen to stay in the main house rather than the chalet. Alarm bells were ringing almost immediately when I saw that our 'luxury' room which at the time of booking the owner promised me would have a king size bed (I am 6'4inc) contained two single beds pushed together! The room although warm and inviting was still small and the room's facilities did not reflect the over inflated price.

Not only was the room a disappointment, we were angered further when we attempted to have a game of tennis. The court was in an incredibly poor condition and covered in moss and was unsafe. At one end of the court there was no fence (only shrubs) into which we lost several of our own tennis balls - we were galled to read that the owner was in fact charging people for the loss of tennis balls that were given to guests to use - an absolute certainty on a court in that state!

We were disappointed with the service at breakfast - very little variety and no butter on the tables - and despite the owners random acts of kindness in throwing logs on the open fire, the room remained cold and uninviting - not to mention the incredibly confusing pricing structure for both cooked and continental which to this day remains a mystery to us!

I cannot recommend this B&B based on our experience and would advise anyone looking to stay in Cambridge to avoid this one at all costs!

Room Tip: Er.....I wouldn't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We drove to Cambridge and had quite a bit of trouble finding this place, but on our third pass we nailed the driveway and went in. The owners of the place were on holidays and their daughter (?) welcomed us in somewhat awkwardly. We were then shown to an adjoining building where our room was. We had to ask a few very obvious questions as the information wasn't forthcoming, such as "where is breakfast" and "how do we get inside the main house if we're in a separate building?"

The room we stayed in for two nights was clean but small and had a wooden beam across the middle on which my partner (185cm tall) hit his head on, a number of times - the first two times it was amusing, after that it just became an annoyance.

Breakfast was reasonable with two ladies doing their best to keep up - both mornings we were ignored a little and when we finally asked for some tea on the first day the lady we spoke to did apologise for making us wait but it didn't affect the wait the second day...

All in all a reasonable stay but we would not be back, we'd chance another place hoping to find something special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noemitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I recently stayed at this outstanding bed and breakfast whilst visiting Cambridge with a girlfriend.
This place is a real gem, elegantly furnished - lovely rooms - beautiful grounds and ample parking.
The breakfast was delicious and service friendly, helpful and charming. I travel quite a lot and would recommend this without reservation.

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally attractive - as I had a peak in some of the others as they were being cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1410295GANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north berwick
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked the hotel as a stop over break before heading down to London. The Chalet accommodation is excellent and from the number of cars in the parking area, it is also very popular! You check in at the main house and we were escorted down the drive a few yards to the accommodation annexe. The property is warm and clean and has been recently refurbished from the appearance of the corridors and rooms. Very comfortable bed and the shower in our en- suite was superb! All in al an excellent choice. A no hassle check out made this a most welcoming place to return to.

Room Tip: The local park and rude us about 15 minutes walk across the motorway and is well worth using. Parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent one night at Rectory farm (chalet) in November. We had warm and friendly welcome on arrival, owner also asked us if we need an extra bed for our 3 years old son, but we decided to sleep all in the same bed as it was huge!! Chalet itself was beautiful and our suite was spacious and cosy. There was an open plan kitchen (not in use) and sitting area, bathroom (bath with shower, wc) and bedroom. All nice and clean, except for the kitchen counter, which was dusty (I know, kitchen was not in use, but they could at least dust it!)
Bed was so big and comfy! We had a good night's sleep, the three of us! :) In the morning we went for breakfast in a lovely room in the main building with an open fire, really enjoyed the atmosphere and the view to the gardens. After breakfast we went for a walk, our son loved the black sheep and the horse!. Seen the swimming pool also, can't wait for the summer, so we can go back and try it!
The only downside was the noise from the busy road, which was not very close, but you could still hear it. Otherwise, lovely place, good location, 15min by car to Cambridge city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebenciuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coton
1.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.0 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Farm

Property: Rectory Farm
Address: Rectory Farm Madingley Road, Coton, Cambridge CB23 7PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Coton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectory Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N 50 acres of grounds, Rectory Farm is 2 miles from Cambridge centre. This country house offers an outdoor swimming pool that can be used in the summer, a tennis court, free Wi-Fi and free parking. Set in a grand period building, the elegant bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea/coffee facilities. Rooms also feature a TV and hairdryer, and all have scenic countryside views. Rectory Farm features a heated outdoor swimming pool with a diving board. There are also croquet lawns and a spacious terrace with outdoor seating. For an additional cost, a generous continental breakfast is served in the grand dining room, including fresh fruit and pastries. Traditional cooked breakfasts can also be arranged, using fresh local produce. Just 5 minutes' drive from Cambridge's scenic College Backs, the Rectory is 2 miles from Castle Hill and Kettle's Yard art gallery. The Grand Arcade shopping centre is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rectory Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rectory Farm Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing