We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B on outskirts of Cambridge”
Review of Rectory Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rectory Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Coton B&B and Inns
Northwich
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great B&B on outskirts of Cambridge”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Lovely old house set back from main road on a long drive with large gardens. Lounge to sit in. Beautifully furnished and decorated. Great value for money we paid 75 for the room exc breakfast.
It's a short walk to the Park and Ride. Only downside is proximity to M11 which didn't spoil our stay at all. We will return. Nice views from room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    141
    74
    44
    40
See reviews for
96
256
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My fiance and myself stayed here for one night after catching a gig in Cambridge and overall there were some good and bad points.

Firstly, the location (for us) was spot on. Just a short taxi journey from the city centre (approx £8) and set in a beautiful countryside landscape, we couldn't have wanted much more from a roof over our heads. Please do bear in mind that this is pretty close to the M11, so there is some road noise as expected, although unless your outside, this isn't an issue in the slightest.

We stayed in the Chalet, a superb converted out building with loads of space for a simple double room, and never heard a peep from the other guests whilst at the premises.

As with a few other reviews, i do have to admit that the reception was slightly frosty on check in, although we were not looking for a friend for life so in total honesty this didn't bother us in the slightest.

You might want to get up a little early for the extortionate cost of breakfast (which we didn't indulge in) and also to have a nice hot shower as the water does tend to run out - much to the misses amusement!

A couple of extra sugars and clean saucers would have been welcome, although i couldn't be bothered to walk over to the house to get this rectified.

Other than that, its a quiet, laid back, pretty little B&B and for £65, it did the job!

Room Tip: We had room 8 in the Chalet which is right in the back far corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meso_Ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The guest house is located just 2 minutes from the M11 down a gated drive with beautiful flowers, sheepies and even a horse!
The main house is a large impressive building with the barn chalet just over to the left.
We were greeted by Roger who is very pleasant who showed us to our room.
The room was small but perfectly formed. The bathroom had been recently renovated and was very lovely and modern, while the main room consisted of a double bed, wardrobe, desk and wall mounted TV. As I said, very clean and perfectly formed, however I'm glad I wasn't staying longer than a night as it was quite compact which seemed unnecessary given it is clearly recently renovated and isn't short on space.
Good information is provided in the main house for walks through the grounds to the local pubs, a beautiful garden, tennis court and even a pool is available - however the pool looked in need of a clean before you jump in.
An excellent location, good hosts, just go for a bigger room!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phee_Bizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wonderful grounds and property less than 2 minutes from our m11 turn off.
Greeted by Roger on arrival and shown to our room upgraded without even asking.
Character room in the main house that was as already stated in other reviews immaculately clean.
In the summer with the swimming pool , tennis court and stroll across the fields to the local pub ( The Plough which i thought offered good quality food main meals from £10 - £15) would make this a wonderful base to explore the city centre

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durdans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst visiting Cambridge. This lovely property is conveniently situated immediately adjacent to J13 of the M11, and was easy to find coming from the direction of the motorway, but would be easy to miss if approaching from the opposite direction as the signage was quite small and only faced one way.
The property itself is delightful, with extensive grounds to wander around. The proximity to the M11 means that there is constant road noise, not a problem at this time of year with windows closed, but I could imagine that light sleepers would struggle in warmer months with windows left open overnight.
Our bedroom was large and airy, with a huge comfy bed and large ensuite. Few minor gripes in that our shower was quite feeble and there were a few loose cracked floor tiles in the bathroom, but otherwise very comfortable.
We booked through booking.com on a room only basis, £65 per night which was excellent value when compared to other similar properties that we had considered. Breakfast was £10 pppn for continental, and a whopping £20 pppn for cooked breakfast. We opted for the former, good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts , hams and cheeses, replenished regularly.
Parking in Cambridge is very costly, so we took the Madingley Park and Ride, which is within walking distance of the property, and costs £2.60 pp for a return ticket, and runs every few minutes.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this property for anyone visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pillwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

On arrival we were met by Roger ( a charming gentleman) he gave us our key and then we followed him over to the chalet where we were expecting a room with en suite but Roger upgraded us to a junior suite....it was beautiful, kitchen, double doors off the lounge to a lovely view of farmland, together with a newly fitted bathroom and very well decorated bedroom. The sheets smelt very fresh on the bed and were changed daily together with towels! Rectory Farm is also only a 5min drive into the centre of Cambridge. We didn't have a chance to sample the breakfast in the main house but we will sample it on our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

What a find. Beautiful buildings and grounds, immaculately clean and comfortable room, very welcoming host, and excellent value for money.

The location could not be better, a few minutes from the Madingley Park & Ride, so very convenient for Cambridge City, and just a minute off the M11. Yet the lovely grounds make you feel as if you are tucked away in the country.

Amazingly self catering suites are available too. So good, I was almost tempted not to post a review. Don't want this B & B to be so popular that it's booked up next time I want to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coton
1.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,162 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,017 reviews
6.0 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Farm

Property: Rectory Farm
Address: Rectory Farm Madingley Road, Coton, Cambridge CB23 7PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Coton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectory Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N 50 acres of grounds, Rectory Farm is 2 miles from Cambridge centre. This country house offers an outdoor swimming pool that can be used in the summer, a tennis court, free Wi-Fi and free parking. Set in a grand period building, the elegant bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea/coffee facilities. Rooms also feature a TV and hairdryer, and all have scenic countryside views. Rectory Farm features a heated outdoor swimming pool with a diving board. There are also croquet lawns and a spacious terrace with outdoor seating. For an additional cost, a generous continental breakfast is served in the grand dining room, including fresh fruit and pastries. Traditional cooked breakfasts can also be arranged, using fresh local produce. Just 5 minutes' drive from Cambridge's scenic College Backs, the Rectory is 2 miles from Castle Hill and Kettle's Yard art gallery. The Grand Arcade shopping centre is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rectory Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rectory Farm Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing