We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great B&B”
Review of Rectory Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rectory Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Coton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at Rectory Farm for one night in March. I arrived 11.30 pm and found my name written on a envelope with the key in it. Room was located on the other side of farm (1 min walk).
So i didn't need to check-in formally or sign ant reg form.

Room was tidy and neat, and bed was quite cosy.

The actual farm was beautiful and i wish i could stay longer and enjoy more.

The only regret is as Rectory Farm is categorised under B&B accommodation, it was expected to have breakfast included to the price,

The don't serve Hot breakfast and it was only continental (well at least as far as we understood).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albaloo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Attended a wedding reception and stayed for 2nights. Lovely location and grounds and very welcoming. Quite a small room but nicely decorated and very clean apart from, we put something on top of the wardrobe and had an avalanche of dust. Breakfast is 8a.m. - 9a.m. Which we found a little early and only continental was included in the price. All the staff were very friendly and obliging. The wedding facilities are superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I only stayed one night but I was given a suite instead of a standard room. Great place, really feels relaxing and yet very convenient for Cambridge. Far far better than the standard hotel chains. Yes as others have said breakfast starts until 8am but worth the wait.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Lovely old house set back from main road on a long drive with large gardens. Lounge to sit in. Beautifully furnished and decorated. Great value for money we paid 75 for the room exc breakfast.
It's a short walk to the Park and Ride. Only downside is proximity to M11 which didn't spoil our stay at all. We will return. Nice views from room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My fiance and myself stayed here for one night after catching a gig in Cambridge and overall there were some good and bad points.

Firstly, the location (for us) was spot on. Just a short taxi journey from the city centre (approx £8) and set in a beautiful countryside landscape, we couldn't have wanted much more from a roof over our heads. Please do bear in mind that this is pretty close to the M11, so there is some road noise as expected, although unless your outside, this isn't an issue in the slightest.

We stayed in the Chalet, a superb converted out building with loads of space for a simple double room, and never heard a peep from the other guests whilst at the premises.

As with a few other reviews, i do have to admit that the reception was slightly frosty on check in, although we were not looking for a friend for life so in total honesty this didn't bother us in the slightest.

You might want to get up a little early for the extortionate cost of breakfast (which we didn't indulge in) and also to have a nice hot shower as the water does tend to run out - much to the misses amusement!

A couple of extra sugars and clean saucers would have been welcome, although i couldn't be bothered to walk over to the house to get this rectified.

Other than that, its a quiet, laid back, pretty little B&B and for £65, it did the job!

Room Tip: We had room 8 in the Chalet which is right in the back far corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meso_Ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The guest house is located just 2 minutes from the M11 down a gated drive with beautiful flowers, sheepies and even a horse!
The main house is a large impressive building with the barn chalet just over to the left.
We were greeted by Roger who is very pleasant who showed us to our room.
The room was small but perfectly formed. The bathroom had been recently renovated and was very lovely and modern, while the main room consisted of a double bed, wardrobe, desk and wall mounted TV. As I said, very clean and perfectly formed, however I'm glad I wasn't staying longer than a night as it was quite compact which seemed unnecessary given it is clearly recently renovated and isn't short on space.
Good information is provided in the main house for walks through the grounds to the local pubs, a beautiful garden, tennis court and even a pool is available - however the pool looked in need of a clean before you jump in.
An excellent location, good hosts, just go for a bigger room!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phee_Bizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wonderful grounds and property less than 2 minutes from our m11 turn off.
Greeted by Roger on arrival and shown to our room upgraded without even asking.
Character room in the main house that was as already stated in other reviews immaculately clean.
In the summer with the swimming pool , tennis court and stroll across the fields to the local pub ( The Plough which i thought offered good quality food main meals from £10 - £15) would make this a wonderful base to explore the city centre

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durdans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coton
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,095 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
2.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Farm

Address: Rectory Farm Madingley Road, Coton, Cambridge CB23 7PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Coton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coton
Price Range: £53 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectory Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50 acres of grounds, Rectory Farm is 2 miles from Cambridge centre. This country house offers a heated outdoor swimming pool (summer), a tennis court, ample parking and free Wi-Fi. Set in a grand period building, the elegant bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea/coffee facilities. Rooms also feature a TV, DVD Player, hairdryer, and all have scenic countryside views. Rectory Farm features a heated outdoor swimming pool. There are croquet lawns and a spacious terrace with outdoor seating. For an additional cost, a generous continental breakfast is served in the grand dining room, including fresh fruit and pastries. Just 5 minutes' drive from Cambridge's scenic College Backs, the Rectory is 2 miles from Castle Hill and Kettle's Yard art gallery. The Grand Arcade shopping centre is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rectory Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rectory Farm Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing