We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My stay at wynnstay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Ruabon B&B and Inns
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My stay at wynnstay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Spent 2nights at the wynnstay 21 and 22may
Staff were friendly ,helpful , and very welcoming
The food was lovely and the breakfast were great cooked as I like them ,
The new landlord I beleve has only been their a few months
But he seems to be on the right track
The only fault they didn't have any pendyrn whiskey
If he did guest whiskey he could build up a bit of a following
But otherwise it was a lovely stay
Judith Susan coppock

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    24
    15
    11
    23
See reviews for
28
26
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

With my dad and his mates all originally from various parts of North Wales, but all with a love of Wrexham FC, we needed to find a reasonably priced hotel that offered us good and easy access to Wrexham. The hotel itself was nice - the rooms were clean and of a good size and the staff were helpful and friendly. The drinks in the bar were very reasonably priced and I especially liked the cooked breakfast in the morning. All in all a very pleasant stay and a nice way for these "old fellas" to catch up.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groberts51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrecsam, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I am the person who was thrown out in the car park last May with a broken leg{see previous review}.I heard the management had recently changed and that the manager himself has left.I stayed for a meal and a few drinks and spoke with the new manager,who was extremely courteous and polite.The new team are doing their best to get the Wynstay up and running and back to its former standards.They are instigating a thorough clean up and i see that a new menu has started as of todays date.Many of the locals are returning and i wish the new management every success for the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa5560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Over the last 7 years we have stayed at the Wynnstay on a regular basis.and it's got to be said the standards have dropped terribly.it used to be a lovely, character hotel,and we love to stay in room 10. Which has a four poster bed, which used to have the lovely frill around the top.and that has dissapeared.so it just looks like a bed with poles at the side now.the decor leaves a lot to be desired, and damp patches in the ceiling.several times over the winter months we have had to complain about the room being cold, no heating on.we have stayed in nearly all the rooms and room 8 is very noisy .but on the plus side all the rooms have superb beds,I have a bad back and these beds are so comfortable. I have mentioned these problems to management and too be fair they have tried to rectify some of the problems and have been very helpful.yes we will still carry on staying at the hotel,hopefully standards will rise again.and the breakfasts and meals are fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Went here New year it was awful, toilets flooded both Male & Female, the female had water over flowing out of the toilet onto the floor out of the cubicle and there are only 3 toilets anyway management did not care.
The dance floor as soaking wet and at least six people fell over due to this luckly no one was seriously hurt. DJ did not annouce this till way late into the night but it was obvious anyway.
The buffett was meant to start at 8.30 no body knew where the buffett was (Not in the same room as entertainment) the buffet was not set out till 9.20 then there was no hot food till later then that very badly organised.
The entertainment was meant to be dinner/disco for over an hour it was karoke
It turns out the tickets were £15 each and this was not to go in the room where the entertainment was this was just for the buffett very expensive and this was not made clear.
I have lived in Ruabon for six years and this place has been my local in the last year it has gone seriously down hill we have stopped eating there as the food is awful and the choice is poor, the service is crap and the drinks are now really expensive.
There is a drug problem there now also we are never going back and looking for a new local as well. The management don't care, some of the older staff who have been there a long time try there best but it is a loosing battle. Generally also needs updating, shame as used to be good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ruabon hotels

Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is really really basic. Heh - its £60 per night.
I had a twin room for one night. Fortunately I was exhausted so fell straight to sleep. The beds are tiny and the cheapest possible. Everything is like that - the cracked cold Lino on the bathroom floor to the lavatory seat, everything is the cheapest possible style.
This is a pub with rooms. It was clean.
As the other reviewers have said it needs investment and tidying up. If it has competition then it will go out of business unless the food and beverage take is good.
It will sell rooms at that level but that is almost marginal.
I have stayed a number of times with shooting parties - I would not stay two nights and certainly wouldn't take my wife or family.

Room Tip: I havent found one yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Namshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Sunday 26 August and only chose the hotel as our friends live opposite. To begin with when we booked on line they say our room is not confirmed until payment is made but no request for payment was asked for. We rang the hotel for assurance and to offer payment over the phone. The person answering the phone did not appear to undersand what to do and said "just turn up, it'll be OK you're room is booked". We turned up and there was no record of our room. Luckily they could offer us the 'suite' of rooms which consists of 2 bedrooms with single beds, a kitchen, lounge, toilet and bathroom. The accomadation is clean but very tired looking. During the night someone was outside our room fiddling with what appeared to be an alarm. The beeping woke us -maybe a resident ghost!!! As it was bank holiday monday we were unsure of time for breakfast so we turned up with another couple at about 8.45. One lady was on her own and said she'd do her best to prepare our breakfast on her own but we all said we'd just have cereals until more staff turned up. A young girl arrived to help. They could do with lessons in customer service - the tables were not laid with side plates and knives, I was bought a full breakfast when I'd only ordered toast, beans and bacon. The food was basic but nice. They tried to charge us £70 for the room but reduced this to what we had expected to pay (£60) when we explained the mix up. I'd never recommend this to friends and would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryhartfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruabon
3.5 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
6.0 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Property: Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Ruabon LL14 6BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Ruabon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ruabon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Arms Hotel Ruabon, Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing