We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Ruabon B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel needs work”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work. Great location and easy walking distance to the pubs. Will be great up and coming village in the future.

Food here is excellent and definitely worth trying the fillet and sirloin steaks were cooked to perfection you get what you ask for so ask for rare and that's how you'll get it.

The room I had needs a lot of work and I understand the other rooms are similar but this is all being done up next year so should've more pleasant. Overall though it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    17
    12
    23
See reviews for
30
27
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cross Hands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed way back in April as we were attending a wedding in the opposite church. This was the first week for the new owner so it's a bit harsh to judge so early on.
On arrival we were greeted by a very nice young man who picked up on the fact we were Welsh speakers and spoke Welsh to us, half way through checking in a Lady came to join him and presumably wasn't a Welsh speaker and didn't understand what we were talking about - as it happens we were just giving a time for breakfast, no sooner were our backs turned she started having a go at the young lad for speaking Welsh! Something I had been really impressed with (in a non Welsh speaking part of Wales) suddenly became a very negative thing - don't ever frown on people speaking Welsh in Wales - yes there are some incredibly rude people who will talk about others in another language but we were only discussing breakfast and she wasn't part of that conversation anyway!
The room was very tired, hot water was very intermittent, the bed was very comfy and breakfast was absolutely stunning. We didn't get the chance to have an evening meal there but others from the wedding party did and had lovely meals. We chatted with the owner who seems a really tidy guy and I'm sure with a bit of investment in the rooms it would be fab. Also ditch the anti Welsh speaking attitude (only the one lady) or go and work over the border!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very friendly staff great food good comfortable room and very good breakfast.We stayed in room 11 lovely balcony but you will need to watch ypur head if sleeping on the left hand side of the bed Lydia was very attentive and courtious

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrecsam, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have called a few times since the new owner of the wynnstay, (Shaun) took over. Only to be pleasantly surprised. By the Chef who cooked the best breakfast, we have eaten in along time, it was well worth the value for money, it was cooked to perfection, it was lovely surroundings for a relaxed breakfast. Thanks to shaun and his team for the 5* food and the welcoming experience. Would Highly Recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnkaronlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Spent 2nights at the wynnstay 21 and 22may
Staff were friendly ,helpful , and very welcoming
The food was lovely and the breakfast were great cooked as I like them ,
The new landlord I beleve has only been their a few months
But he seems to be on the right track
The only fault they didn't have any pendyrn whiskey
If he did guest whiskey he could build up a bit of a following
But otherwise it was a lovely stay
Judith Susan coppock

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

With my dad and his mates all originally from various parts of North Wales, but all with a love of Wrexham FC, we needed to find a reasonably priced hotel that offered us good and easy access to Wrexham. The hotel itself was nice - the rooms were clean and of a good size and the staff were helpful and friendly. The drinks in the bar were very reasonably priced and I especially liked the cooked breakfast in the morning. All in all a very pleasant stay and a nice way for these "old fellas" to catch up.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groberts51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrecsam, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I am the person who was thrown out in the car park last May with a broken leg{see previous review}.I heard the management had recently changed and that the manager himself has left.I stayed for a meal and a few drinks and spoke with the new manager,who was extremely courteous and polite.The new team are doing their best to get the Wynstay up and running and back to its former standards.They are instigating a thorough clean up and i see that a new menu has started as of todays date.Many of the locals are returning and i wish the new management every success for the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa5560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruabon
6.3 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Wrexham
Travelodge Wrexham
#5 of 10 in Wrexham
175 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
586 reviews
6.0 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
760 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Property: Wynnstay Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Ruabon LL14 6BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Ruabon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ruabon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Arms Hotel Ruabon, Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing