We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harmony Hall Antigua
Ranked #1 of 1 Freetown B&B and Inns
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 29 November 2005

We spent 3 nights at Harmony Hall and absolutely loved it. The restaurant was outstanding, the staff were lovely, and the setting was unique. To us, this was Tuscany meets the Caribbean. If you're looking for a true get-away, this is the place to go. Days revolve around the leisurely, incredible meals, boat rides to Green Island, and quiet time on your patio. This a very remote area of the island - its a place to stay a while.

We opted to rent a car and make the drive from St Johns. We expected it to be a little harrowing, but the south-east side of the island is quiet - lots of goats and rolling hills. One day we took a trip into English Harbor, but other than that we were very content to stay at the inn. Americans can be hesitant about driving on the "wrong" side of the road, but if you concentrate, its not too bad ("stay left!)

I recccomend getting a massage. There is a grass hut on the beach - and the woman was incredible. Pains I had for months were gone in an hour.

In our opinion, this is not a place for kids. Its very quiet, romantic and there is very little for kids to do. We have kids at home, but we were VERY glad that there were none while we were there.

Enjoy Harmony Hall. The name is perfect...

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fritzsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
38
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2005

HARMONY
This is not a place to go for a long stay or if you are after nightlife, (i.e no weekday dinners, no books, no tv). It is however, a delightful place that is well worth a few nights stay or a stop-off for an meal excellent .

The rooms are simple and well designed. The food - although not cheap, is excellent! And you will have to go a long way to beat the breakfasts!

Day times can be spent on the small beach or at Green Island - and/ or with a long lunch.

This is not really a B&B - its is more of a timy boutique hotel.

Note; take bug spray and if you are there in the evening without a car there is a little bar/ resturant about 100yrds further down the road.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MFOWLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2005

We stayed at Harmony Hall for several nights on our way to Barbuda. It was a pleasant surprise. The ambience is lovely. Life revolves around the outdoor restaurant and art gallery....and rightly so. All the meals were delicious--fresh and well-prepared, inventive, luscious. Great wine list, too. We enjoyed kayaking to neighboring beaches as well as relaxing on Green Island. Our room was lovely--quiet and tastefully decorated. On Sunday night, when the restaurant is officially "closed," we and our friends enjoyed a sumptuous dinner on our patio--with tables set up with candles and fresh flower and platters of salad, lobster, vegetables and ramakins of creme brulee. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maryroush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2005

We were recommended to lunch here on our recent trip to Antigua. What we found was a perfectly relaxing, friendly place perched high on a hill overlooking a blue bay. The architecture is interesting as one feels that you are sat in a Tuscan garden but then there is the old sugar mill and tropical plants which brings one back to the Carribean. The food (Italian/Carribean) was sublime! Gorgeous fresh loster salad, devine pasta and to die for 'Brown's Bay Bananas, which surely is Devil's food! I would say that this is the best on Antigua and much better than Le Bistro. The staff were so friendly and the service 'efficiently relaxed' and unobtrusive yet attentive. We took a peek at the rooms and they are lovely and we will definitely be back there to stay. This is a quiet, sophisticated place so don't book if you are expecting steel bands, ethnic evenings and noisy water sports.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank janeyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2004

We spent the week leading up to Christmas at a unique charming place on the eastern coast of Antigua called Harmony Hall -- a renowned art gallery and restaurant with six comfortable spacious rooms in two villas. With spectacular views and lush landscaping, the atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing. Built on the site of a17th century sugar plantation, the sugar mill is the focal point of the open air restaurant. (You can even take the stairs and enjoy a drink at the top of the mill for an even more expansive vista.) We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast each morning (included in the room rate!) on one of the restaurant’s covered terraces. Some mornings we took a ride on their boat to undeveloped Green Island (about 10 minutes) to swim and snorkel or just lie on the quiet beach. After an outing for sightseeing or visiting one of Antigua’s many beautiful beaches we returned for a late lunch of delicious Italian fare that stretched through the afternoon. Most nights we enjoyed a light dinner from their room service menu delivered to our private patio. Harmony Hall is a special place that deserves a visit -- just for lunch and browsing the art gallery and shop or if your lucky enough, to stay for a week.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BoutiqueTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
0.5 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
575 reviews
11.7 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,859 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
4.5 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
13.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Hall Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hall Antigua

Property: Harmony Hall Antigua
Address: Brown's Bay, Freetown, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Hall Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HARMONY HALL will be closed from the 2nd May 2016 for renovations, and will reopen with a new look and the same great quality as always. A beautiful and secluded retreat located on the South East of Antigua near uninhabitated Green Island and beautiful Half Moon Bay that soothes and charms the soul with stunning vistas over Nonsuch Bay . The Historic sugar mill at its heart host the Harmony Hall Yacht Club. It is surrounded by the open areas of the restaurant which serves an eclectic Italian cuisine..... Let our expert chef surprise you transforming fresh ingredients into a gourmet's delight ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harmony Hall Hotel Saint Philip
Harmony Hall Antigua Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing