We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat with great food”
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We chose the resort as it was pretty new and the food was good

We had a wonderful week's break ( me, my wife and 2 teenage daughters) with a nice property ( town-house) lovely views and good food at the restaurant

The service at the restaurant was poor in general and the unmade 2 mile road to the property is a real pain

the lack of any accessible shop for purchasing milk, juice, fruit is also a downside

Watersports were great

Travel between the town houses and the main resort was haphazard and too far to walk in the heat of the day as it was up an extremely steep hill and was around half a mile

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markjg65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Our stay at Nonsuch Bay Resort was one of the best travel experiences I have ever had (and I am a very frequent traveler). The setting, the rooms, the food are all fantastic, but it is the friendly and accommodating staff that made our visit unforgettable. They were very flexible and gave you the feeling that anything could be arranged if you just asked.

Staff: The staff at Nonsuch Bay is world class. Within hours of our check-in it seemed like everyone on the grounds knew our name (several of the staff came over to introduce themselves). Everyone has smiles and greetings for you wherever you go. We were traveling with our 3-month-old son and everyone went out of their way to be as accommodating as possible. Special mention goes to Schena, who manages to the food and beverage operations. She and her team pulled out all the stops to make sure we felt taken care of, even personally delivering food to our room.

Restaurant: The Bay restaurant serves by far the best food we have had in the Caribbean. We were on the half board meal plan (highly recommended), so we got the chance to try most things on the menu. One problem I've always had with other places in the Caribbean is that the food is often middling, boring, 2nd-tier country club food. Not here: Chef Mitchell and Schena (the manager) have created a very special place that brings together the best ingredients, skill and talent in the kitchen, great service and a spectacular outdoor setting overlooking the bay.

Setting/location: The resort is very secluded. To call it off the beaten track is an understatement. Antigua is a small island, but you will travel the whole length of it to get to the resort. For us, this was fantastic. But if you are looking for nightlife and a different restaurant and bar every night this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for peace and quiet, an oasis away from it all and don't mind traveling down a dirt road for the last couple of miles to get there, this is your spot. Also, it was very windy while we were there. Great for sailing and kite surfing. But if you are wind-averse it might not be for you.

Other notes: Meal plan recommended if you don't want to do much driving. Lots of waterspouts equipment and basic instruction available. Go to the grocery store on the way in. You can get drinks from room service for about the same price as you would pay in a store. Recommend a rental car to get around.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_b_holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We enjoyed a four night stay at Nonsuch Bay and had a very enjoyable vacation. I traveled with my husband and four year old son. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment that was bigger than our entire NYC apartment! The furnishing are tasteful, functional and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with just about every item you would require. We had several balconies and one large deck, all with clear views to the ocean. All doors to the balconies have both top and bottom locks, something parents of small children appreciate. The amenities in the rooms are nice, one wish I would love to see in the future would be robes and slippers. It would be great to have had a robe to slip on after spending a day at the beach.

The staff was friendly but not overly solicitous. They all were knowledgeable about the island and gave good suggestion as to the best beaches, restaurants, sights to see. They helped us organize transportation and reservations on several occasions. The small efforts that staff members make can really make a big difference on your experience. Nonsuch Bay scores high in this regard. One staff member brought a bag of sand toys to us for our son on the beach (we did not even ask for this). Our cleaning lady noticed that we remove our shoes at the front door and provided us with towels outside so we could clean our feet before entering our apartment.

The restaurant, the food was great, we live in NYC and have access to some of the best food in the world here, so it can be hard to compete with our tastes! The steamed red snapper was amazing, I ordered it on several occasions. I do see what other reviews mean about a limited menu, my suggestion to the hotel would be to offer one new special each night. The menu, though somewhat limited did offer a nice variety of options that kept us very happy during our stay.

A must trip is to Green Island, and uninhabited island 15 mins away by boat from the resort. We spent several hours out there, playing in the crystal clear waters and pristine beach, the sand was as soft as flour! We were the only three people out there, truly an amazing afternoon!
Some practical info about this resort. The resort is very quiet, most apartments have their own pools so the main three pools are often empty, if you are looking for conversation or other kids around the pool you may not find this here.
The beach at the resort is small and again quiet. It was fine for us and our four year old. There is a nice breeze from the water so you never get too hot and there is plenty of shade. The are three shared pools, one off the restaurant (we never saw anyone in this pool), and two at each set of apartments. The units are set back from the main house of the resort, meaning you have to walk from your room to breakfast, or drive. This is not a big all inclusive style resort like a Club Med or Beaches, if these places are the type of resorts you enjoy then Nonsuch Bay would not be the best option.
As for the dirt road leading to the resort, it is bumpy but not all that bad. If you are from the northeast of the US, you will most likely not be put off by the road.

While we were there our son came down with an ear infection. The hotel staff again was very helpful with helping us secure proper medical treatment. They called a very well known doctor on the island (Dr. Rodney Williams) who came out to the resort to attend to our son. He had every type of medication you would need and was very gentle with our son.

All and all this trip was wonderful. The views are breath taking, the staff accommodating, the food quality above average and the rooms are amazing. We would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Nonsuch bay is one of the most serene, blissful resort in the Caribbean. Not only are the accommodations comfortable, spacious and extremely relaxing, the staff was incredibly hospitable. This resort has a wonderful sailing facility, with options for young children to competitive sailors. The all inclusive package is quite reasonable, including a gorgeous condo with a kitchen, incredible food named 2011 best chef in the Caribbean, serene pools and beach, and a plethora of on the water activities. I would recommend Nonsuch bay for a family vacation or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joylmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We recently stayed at this beautiful resort for one week with our kids aged 1 and 3. We stayed in one of the cottages right on the beachfront. The resort is fantastic as it's quiet, clean, has a great kids friendly beach, has brilliant food and very friendly staff. If you like a high-end, not crowded, luxurious and kids friendly resort, you want to go here. The sailing facilities are terrific also, with great staff and excellent facilities. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed there for 7 nights and it was my first time to antigua. The resort offers Cottages and Villas that are self contained with all the necessary equipment required with unblocked sea view. I stayed in a 2 bedroom villa which was very well designed, furnished, well maintained, clean and with natural air circulation along with central air conditioning.

The restaurant offered us good quantity of meals with the right balance of taste and is reasonably priced.

If anyone is on Holiday or Business trip, i would definately reccomend this place as a true Sanctuary with unblocked views, Private Beach, Green/Blue Ocean at your doorstep and lots of water sport acitivities. The only drawback would be that it is far from the city but in my opinion you can not get this peace, beauty and a piece of harmony within any city resort.

Looking forward to coming back to Antigua in May.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexmeccti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

A wonderfully quiet resort set around a picturesque bay made our holiday to antigua very special. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, even to the point of entertaining our 2 year old every morning at breakfast. Our 2 bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything we needed. I can recommend the sailing whatever your experience level. Very safe and great tuition. Restaurant was good with lovely breakfasts. We've already booked to go back again next year

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stwvensons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
11.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,912 reviews
12.9 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
491 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,341 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,826 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range: £273 - £768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, West Indies, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing