We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family getaway”
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I can't say enough about how much we loved staying at the Nonsuch Bay Resort. We stayed for a week with our 2 10-year-old boys in a beachfront cottage in mid-April. Our cottage was beautiful, clean and had everything we could need. We especially loved that every room had double doors that opened onto a large deck off the back of the cottage looking right onto the beach and bay. The resort is in a very remote location, which was a positive for us. It is quiet and low-key, not a bustling resort. If you are looking for a resort "scene", this is not the place for you. We found it to be the perfect place to get away from it all.

We found the food at the restaurant to be excellent and the service friendly. We did not experience the long waiting times that others have commented about. Yes, the service was slower than at a US city restaurant, but we enjoyed not being rushed and having leisurely meals. We did not find the waits to be too long, even with our kids. Given the remote location, it would be helpful if they added some more choices to the dinner menu. The lunch menu was great and had a lot of variety. Harmony Hall restaurant is close to the resort, but we found the food at the onsite restaurant to be better than Harmony Hall. The next closest place to go to dinner is English Harbor. But, since it is a good 30 min drive on dark, windy somewhat confusing roads, we chose to only go to English Harbor once during our stay.

We rented a car, and will do so again when we return next time. It is a quick drive to Half Moon Bay, which was absolutely beautiful. Our kids enjoyed the 3 onsite pools, and it was particularly nice that the onsite beach is in the shade in the late afternoon when we were all ready to get out of the sun.

We had a wonderful week at Nonsuch Bay and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

We choose to return to Nonsuch because it works so well for us. It is a small resort with the great versatility of self catering with hotel facilities. Being small it means that nothing is far away and children have a greater feeling of independence of getting themselves to sailing school etc. The sailing instructors in particular are fantastic. It is one on one tuition in a relaxed, fun but professional capacity which is wonderful for us in warm breezes and great sea temps. The staff are really friendly and the pace slow. The pools are great too. If you go with it you end up with happy children who are occupied doing something very worthwhile and which they love, having time to yourself just chilling and then the opportunity of joining in with the children when you want to and sharing fantastic family time. If you want full on organized fun this is probably not for you but if you want to chill in a safe friendly environment doing what you love, when and how you want to, then what is there to stop you from going back for more?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happygolucky50Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The staff are amazing! Ruth and Colleen and everyone treat you like family. Anything we needed, they helped us to get it. They never told us no. David at the bar makes some wonderful drinks. Natasha and the crew at the Sailing school are fantastic. Even my wife and son took a beginning lesson. The resort is secluded and off the beaten path. The views are just stunning. You feel very safe on the resort and we would let our son go off with the other kids and not worry. We made friends with families from around the world and from our own backyard. It is so family friendly without being a big mega-resort.

We did not rent a car but used the taxi service from Vernon's. Sam is the MAN!! and he took us wherever we wanted to go.

The food in the restaurant is Fantastic! Only complaints is the menu was same every breakfast, lunch and dinner and the service at dinner tended to get slow at times.

We took a couple of day trips but most days we just hung around the resort. One day we took a fishing charter out for a few hours from English Harbor. When we got back from the fishing the folks at Hamilton's wine bar let us put our fish in their fridge while we ate lunch and walked around. When we got back to Nonsuch Bay the Chef prepared our fish fresh for us for dinner that night. It was fantastic and we truly appreciated the gesture.

We left some sightseeing undone and can't wait to go back and will definitely stay Nonsuch Bay resort again!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We recently booked through Luxury Link a 3 bedroom 3700 sq ft hillside Villa when we arrived we were shown a 1900 sq ft townhouse. When we objected to the accomadation we got no help. The Manager Colleen arrived shortly after our objection and informed us this IS what we booked. I politley reminded her that there was no 3700 sq ft under this roof. The unit size was clearly marked on our contract. She did not argue the sized but again told me this is what I booked. I told Colleen when I get on the resort web site a click Villa only 3 untis come up 1 three bedroom and 2, 5 bedroom Villa and they show them on the hill not in with the town houses. Again she did not argue the fact but told me Luxury link does not book those Villas only the style we were in. She had no interest in our contract or discussing the resorts own web site. Finally I asked is the 3 bedroon Villa available and she said yes. Confused I asked why are we having this conversation; why don't you just move us? The answer was " that is not the unit we booked". now comes the cute part she finnaly agreed to move us for an additional charge of $7,000 for the 5 nights we booked and if we did not like that they would refund our money. A refund was not what we were looking for. We told them we would sleep on it and decide in the morning. We booked the restaurant for dinner that night. We had 6 meals 2 of which were dreadfull others were Ok. The setting for the restaurant was very nice.

I bit about the accomidation we were given. It had barly the ocean view we booked and the back yard where the plunge pool was looked like a construction site. Plunge pool was off the basement and not good as it did not join the kitchen or livingroom. I have some pictures I will post if I can figure out how.

In the morning I got up early and found suitable accomadations on the other side of the Island. In reflection Nonsuch was so remote it would have made dinning or golfing a chore. At check out we got our final suprise. Nonsuch offers to shop at a local store and fill your room with food or drink for a minimal charge. This charge was $100. The booze came from the hotel Bar and had bar pricing rather then store pricing. I read a lot of good reviews on this site so I am guessing we were one of the few to elect to rent one of the 3 Villas.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank RockTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A new high quality resort-it could use another more casual restaurant and a fitness centre. Great location, friendly and attentive staff. The one restaurant is very good, as is the only other one anywhere nearby, Harmony Hall about a mile away. Very good for sailing and trip to Green Island recommended.
Our waterfront 3 bed townhouse was perfect for parents plus 19,17 and 15 year old. Need to hire a vehicle as resort is off the beaten track and isolated.We had a Wrangler Jeep from Tropical Rentals-great fun and lots to see on the island.
A great place to chill out for a week.

Room Tip: We had a 3 bedroom waterfront villa away from the main resort (but still within the whole compound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastwellLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a two bedroom suite slightly up the hill from the beach. The view was amazing. We had our own veranda, huge living room, dining room and kitchen area with a fully equipped kitchen that had Viking appliances. The bed was extremely comfortable and the people very friendly. We had a car, which I would recommend and drove to Long Bay to snorkel, Half Moon Bay, one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to, and English Harbor for sight seeing. I would recommend having a car as the resort is very remote.

We plan to go back and this time take both or our sons.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danchel465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A mixed review.we had booked a 3700sg foot villa but on arrival given a much smaller townhouse approx 2000sg ft with no real explanation.Simply told we could have a refund if not happy Not much use for 6people just arrived late afternoon. We stayed the one night which they did comp to be fair Dinner in the restaurant was truly appalling..Slow service cold steak tough pork.The resort itself whilst really remote was very attractive.The landscaping around the tiny pool at the townhouse was non existing just scrubland

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jrosulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
11.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,883 reviews
12.9 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
472 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
4.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
12.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range: £271 - £696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, West Indies, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing