We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's windy, it's windy, it's windy!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“It's windy, it's windy, it's windy!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent a week here and don't like to blot the tripadvisor good reviews , however I use the site and would have liked to have known a few important factors on location. The resort is VERY remote ( several miles of dirt track) and located on the east coast that meets the Atlantic. Therefore the wind is strong and incessant. If you are looking for tranquil calm, Aqua Caribbean Sea then this is not the place to be, go to the west coast where the sea and beaches are to die for. Non such is for sailing and kitesurfing enthusiasts, perfect! As there's so much wind!! Beach was usually deserted because it was not pleasant to sit out. Also lots of seaweed.
Pools are unheated and cold ( prob because of cooling winds!), there's no gym , no spa and no hot tubs to warm up :( Ate in restaurant once but found choice limited, food quality average and prices expensive.
Villa was spacious but showing age in places . No curtains so very light and wooden slats around the building emphasised the howling winds.
People seem to love the resort and if you're into the sailing kitesurfing windsurfing then it is good conditions if you are more of a sunny beautiful beach lover then try elsewhere.
We drove 45 mins plus everyday to escape and also get to diff restaurants and calmer sea

Room Tip: Town houses are a ride away from resort and not in main resort, would not recommend location but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank faye f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    108
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
206
215
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Short three and a half flight from Newark. Great winter escape to Antigua. Apartment was spacious, clean, well-equipped. Weather was wonderful. Always east coast breezes. Beach is small and has some seaweed but didn't keep us out. Three infinity pools. Restaurant was more than adequate for breakfast and dinner. Away from the action of the west coast, but a short ride to the other beaches. We will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelist09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We wanted somewhere secluded, with excellent accommodation and off beach sailing facilities. Great food and service are a must too. We were not disappointed. Beautiful setting, fabulous apartment and excellent professional service from all we met. From David behind the bar who makes a mean cocktail, to the boys and girls managing the sailing facilities. We managed to avoid family week too, perfect. As always weather is tremendous here, with great winds for messing around in dinghy or hobbie cat on the water. All in the knowledge that a safety rib was only a minute away if needed. We loved our stay, highly recommend it and we are planning another visit already. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We came here for the second time this January with our two boys, aged 3 and 21 months. We rented a beach cottage 2 bed apartment. We visited the first time a year ago and loved it so much that we came back. For a young family, or for mad for it sailors or kite surfers, the place is perfect. The apartment we had gave us a huge place with a separate room for the boys, two bathrooms, a large living area and a kitchen diner and an outside verandah looking out on to the palm trees and beach - totally enclosed so no danger of a small boy falling down stairs. It's all well equipped - there's even a washing machine. We mainly self catered but the restaurant is also great. The beach area is good too for families, very private, no real waves, shallow for a fair way, sheltered but excellent for sandcastles. The sailing facilities are good - we took a package and then sailed a few days - there is a variety of boats to take and try. Kids Club is great or you can take turns. We also headed out to Harmony Hall one lunchtime on the speedboat and did some kayaking with the kids.

Staff are super friendly - special mentions to Zoe and Natasha (hello from rainy, windy London!) - and there really isn't anything else you could want if you want a quiet, friendly time. If you want the bright lights then this isn't for you - but then probably neither is Antigua. They have also now added a little shop for essentials and of course ice cream! Our tips: go to the supermarket on the way in and stock up - you can stick a lot in the fridge freezer, hire a car and go to Long Bay, English Harbour etc for a change, take a 2 bed apartment if you have kids as it's worth it, watch out for the sun - the on shore breeze can make it seem less hot than it really is.

Overall a great holiday at a really wonderful place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bed beach cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Existential_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I must admit I was a little nervous going to such a remote resort with the kids, however, this was one of best vacations yet. Beautiful beaches around this resort and wonderful people! Loved half moon and long bay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmk444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratfield Mortimer, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We just spent six days at NSB and loved it.

Accommodation was to a really high standard, very comfortable and spacious with a kitchen with all the gadgets (although we were on a half board package so never used any of it). We had a two bedroom apartment with a view of the bay, overlooking one of the pools and with a big balcony.

The team are all extremely helpful and keen to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. For example, unbeknown to us our flight home was delayed. The reception team had checked the flight unprompted, changed our transfer and found us to let us know.

I made good use of the sailing that was on offer and was well looked after by Micky, one of the very friendly and able watersports' team. The RS Elites were lovely to sail and I also upped the pace a little in a Hobbie Cat. The team also organised some low key racing one day. It was quite windy - ideal for the sailing and it also meant there were no bugs and the nights were comfortable.

It's a good base to explore English / Falmouth Harbours, a twenty five minute drive / cab ride away. We hired a car for a couple of days, which gave us the mix of staying put and exploring that we wanted.

We found good running routes (quite hilly) and equally enjoyed chilling on the white sandy beach.

The restaurant is top notch with a new menu every two days.

It's a really unspoilt corner of the island. Half Moon Bay is worth a trip for a walk and swim. We had a good lunch at nearby Harmony Hall which is worth a visit (albeit quite pricey). Green Island is also a fun trip.

We will return to NSB. We couldn't fault it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

You arrive at Non Such Bay Resort to a very warm welcome. All the staff are really lovely. After many visits to Antigua and other carribean resorts over the years, this is the best location we've stayed in for a long time. We went with our 2 year old Issabelly and picked this resort for being perfect for little ones. And it is. Because its off beaten track you feel safe letting little ones mix with other known kids and parents on beach. in fact its this that makes it so easy being here. Very private beach,and enclosed so very safe. The beach is lovely. They have kids club which Issy loved - her first time away from us. Natasha was amazing. She is the best and I hope they look after her well. Issy loved her! They also have lots of toys for kids so please dont pack any ! The restaurant is fab too. We hired Brenda from kidsclub to babysit so hubs and me could go and enjoy supper. Being only minutes from the cottage helped make us feel comfortable about this. Superb and lovely ambiance, There are 3 infinity pools which are all lovely, though there is no children's pool which was odd. I had some difficulty because the pools are deep so not good unless you are over 5ft 2 - I was on tiptoe or treading water to keep afloat to the amusement of my hubs! We hired a 2 bed beach cottage # 103, It was gorgous & enormous, and well equipped. ,we ate lunch most days on our huge veranda with Issy. Stunning views onto beach We didn't want to leave. All staff through out our stay were very accommodating & very approachable. Names to remember are Ruth, Delicia, Zoe all amazing on nt desk, & Natasha and Brenda in kids club, & Shcena who manages the restaurant. They made our stay unforgettable and assured we will be back January 15 if not before!

Room Tip: if you want to be closer to the beach aim for the cottages 100- 105 Please remember there is no gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oystermunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
11.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,646 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,216 reviews
4.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
12.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Property: Nonsuch Bay Resort
Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing