We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Antigua ”
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel to stay at and even work at!
They have amazing staff and people.
It was the best time going sailing and there is quiet a walk to one I the rooms but it's a good way to lose weight!
Defiantly worth it and would love to stay again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Aidenj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife, son and I have just returned from a week at Nonsuch Bay resort, in need of a good rest, good food and some Caribbean sailing.

The resort was everything we hoped it would be and more, and we really enjoyed a long overdue rest which was made especially enjoyable because of the attitude of the resort staff. The facilities were superb, from the accommodation to the restaurant and the sailing club, all of which we took full advantage of.

The staff however made our stay, from reception through to the restaurant, cleaning staff and sailing club. Nothing was too much trouble for them and all our requests were dealt with quickly and without fuss. They were extremely accommodating, which made all the difference to our stay.

We were there on a half board basis and the food was absolutely superb. A great choice of excellent fresh food everyday, served by superb staff. The evening meals were plentiful and eaten on a covered terrace with a warm Caribbean breeze making it a lll extremely comfortable.

The sailing was included in the package we bought and it was fabulous. Instructors were available and happy to come out with us until we were competent, and the range of boats they had was second to none. While we were there more were being ordered, and the large bay, sheltered by a reek and with warm trade winds constantly filling the sails made it very memorable.

We will undoubtably be back.

Room Tip: Mid level rooms give a great view, are not overlooked and only a stone's throw (literally) from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

To celebrate a 15th wedding anniversary - Nonsuch Bay was our destination! From day one we were treated with friendliness and courtesy, nothing was too much trouble. By the end of the holiday we almost felt like members of this lovely "hotel family". A wonderful place to relax and just enjoy!. Beautiful apartments with exceptional accommodation; very clean and well equipped. Any problem is quickly and very efficiently dealt with. We had a small issue with the air conditioning and were immediately transferred to another apartment. All the apartments overlook a very private and beautiful beach with a view out of the bay to the reef and Green Island. Whilst I mooched around by one of the 3 pools or on our private verandah - my husband took full advantage of the sailing package - even taking part in the Hotel's local Sunday regatta, sailing with a couple of island residents (thank you Bernie, Sarah and Carl!). There's plenty to see and do on the island, and, whilst Nonsuch's location can add up to 10/15 mins to your journey before you actually get to a proper road (!!) it really doesn't matter, it's all part and parcel of this beautiful island. And the weather wasn't bad either! We've been back for two weeks now and we're still relaxed....how long will that Antiguan mind-set last do you think?? Special thanks to Nonsuch and to its staff:- specifically to Huw, David, Zoe,Teritia, Paula and the watersports staff. Last but not least - thank you for the rum punch recipe! We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank porterpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Well, what can I say?!?!? Nonsuch Bay did it again. My husband and I had a return stay to what has become our favorite place on Earth. “Why?” you may ask… Well, what everyone considering NSB should know is this... The place is just BEAUTIFUL. What you see in the pictures is a true representation of the beauty of the resort, views, etc. The apartments, grounds and beach are immaculate. The apartments are spacious and well-appointed. The resort is located on a quiet cove and it is just a lovely place to be. But you should know... There is so much more that makes NSB "the" choice for us. We've had the pleasure of staying at another very lovely place on the island, but NSB is "tops" in our book.

It actually started before we set foot back at NSB. When I called to confirm my reservation a few days before, Zoe, in her warm voice, recognized that we were returning and remembered us from the last stay. How refreshing!!! They see thousands of people each year, so to get recognized felt really good! From the moment we arrived in Vernon’s first class car service, we were treated like VIP guests. When we pulled up, we were greeted by Terita and staff with the warmest welcome back ever.

From minute one, the kind staff at NSB rolled out the red carpet.

During our stay, the NSB family was always attentive, ensuring that everything was going well with our stay. We were made to feel as if we were guests in their very own home... Whereas one might think that staying at a resort would find you as just another guest amongst many others, with the NSB team, you are always recognized, greeted by name and they actually take the time to listen and understand what would make your stay the best ever, then they work so hard to make your "vacation dreams" a reality through their wonderful service.

During our stay, my husband and I celebrated an anniversary. In passing I happened to mention this. Well, to our surprise, when we arrived for dinner, the team had set up a special table for us with the most beautiful hand-picked arrangement of tropical flowers!!! They also presented a decorated cake to us. To top that off, when we arrived back to our beautiful suite, they had set a bottle of wine, beautifully presented with another floral arrangement, as a final surprise for the evening.

We enjoyed the wonderful hospitality in the restaurant... Chef Mitch and his team, including, but not limited to, Ms Cheryl, Vonda, pastry chef Shameka are truly amazing...we really enjoyed the food. I have to say, I've read comments from others who question the value, but let me tell you, the prices are comparable to what you pay in town for less inspired meals. I would spend my dollars in Chef Mitch's place any day. The bar was tops as well with Timmy and David serving up their wonderful creations...they are masters at their craft and went out of their way to make our stay so pleasant.

We cannot say enough about the front desk staff, Zoe and Terita specifically... They treated us like gold. They were proactive in their dealings with us- before we had even thought about certain things, they were already checking with us, making suggestions, etc. It was almost as if we had our very own personal concierge staff... But their approach was muh more friendly- we were treated like honored guests and not just the couple from apartment xyz.

The maintenance, security and housekeeping team members also contributed to a wonderful stay. Even the men who were working hard to maintain the grounds would stop to say a hearty hello. Our apartment was always in tip top shape and was so clean.

Finally, I'll say that Vernon, the owner of the associated car service, was a wonderful resource for us and was our personal guide during our stay. We trusted him and his team with all of our travel and tour arrangements and they delivered the best experience possible.

We are, of course, planning another trip back... and I'm sure it won't be our last.


  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank btonib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the moment we were picked up at the airport out trip was amazing. Our driver was very funny and friendly. On the way to the resort he showed us where he grew up and gave us the inside scoop on fun things to do on the island. Our villa was beautiful and was cleaned everyday. We had the sailing package and it was the highlight of the vacation! Any time you wanted you could ask to take out a boat. You could go alone or have someone come along and teach you to sail/sail for you. Again, the people was AMAZING and it was a pleasure to have them out on the boat with us-it never felt awkward or like they were intruding. The restaurant was breezy and beautiful! Order the curry chicken wrap with mango chutney, yum!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have just stayed at Nonsuch for a week, wish I had booked for 2 weeks. Beautiful resort with luxury accommodation. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant is superb and the service excellent. The dinghy sailing facilities are also great as the east coast of Antigua enjoys a warm breeze most days. A trip to Green Island can be arranged, good snorkelling and stunning location. The access to the resort is a bit tricky as the road is a bit rough but worth the drive. I will certainly return to Nonsuch.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place was wonderful. Condo had everything we needed plus some. We had a gorgeous view of a pool and the ocean. Staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. Food was delicious. It is a more secluded resort on the eastern side of island. Accessing more populated areas is easy to do by renting a car. (Most roads are paved, but there is an area of gravel you have to traverse to get to and from the resort-it takes about five minutes though). Renting a car allowed us to explore the beautiful island (that claims 365 beaches). Long bay and Half-moon bay, some of the most beautiful beaches, are a short drive away. I highly recommend! I did not want to leave and look forward to returning. And my in-room spa treatment was delightful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Britanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
11.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,888 reviews
12.9 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
473 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
4.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
12.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range: £299 - £704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing