We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best small boat sailing resort in the Caribbean.”
Review of Nonsuch Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Accommodation is mostly in large privately owned appartments which have been furnished to a very high standard. The restaurant is probably one of the best on Antigua although the menu didn't change during the week we were there. (Jan. 2011) There was a good choice of wines, with red wines being served at the correct temperature rather than the usual hot Caribbean temperature. As there were not many other guests at the resort when we were there we had the infinity pools and the beach almost to ourselves. This is a very quiet resort with no nightlife, but superb food - ideal if that's what you want from a holiday.
They have a brand new fleet of dinghies, catamarans and small keel boats which can all be sailed singlehandedly or with crew in the large open sailing area of Nonsuch Bay. With a constant strong breeze, the sailing conditions do tend to favour the more experienced sailer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmmanfordJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

superb sailing, fabulous food, very quiet location- great holiday if you want to sail!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herculesSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This is not a resort, rather it is a private development in which some owners rent their property. Our apartment was 1st class, immensely roomy with excellent quality furniture and fittings. It was ridiculously comfortable for a family of 6. A daily maid service kept it clean and tidy. Nonsuch is about 1/2hr to 1hr drive from most of the 'busy' parts of the island, hence if you want to get about regularly I recommend a hire car. Otherwise a very efficient taxi service will ferry you around on the odd night that you want to get out and about. Each trip will cost you up to USD100 return though, depending on how far you go.

Life here revolves around the excellent bar/restaurant and the sailing club. Both are superbly managed. You will get through most items on the menu in about 5 days so you will want to go out to eat a couple of times in a week. Otherwise buy provisions BEFORE you arrive and use the excellent kitchens in the apartments. I found the restaurant to be good value given the quality of food. Count on about USD35 per head for 2 course dinner (less for lunch). The wine list is fine and affordable. If you prefer total informality there is an extensive menu of cooked snacks available all day.

The sailing club has everything you could want in terms of dinghies, keel boats and cats. In addition if you want to wind or kite surf a local team of instructors called "40 knots" are on hand. Our teenage boys were up kite surfing with only 4 hours of instruction! The sailing is very safe with good local instructors and safety boats always out on the water. The bay itself is almost perfect for dinghy sailing. 2 miles long and 1 mile wide, protected by an invisible reef, with constant wind. In addition a regular procession of HUGE mega yachts enter the bay to spend the day (and even night) and they are fun to sail around. Young children are well catered for at the sailing club with daily activities. Our older children tended to spend most of the time on the water. 16yr olds and up might crave a little more action unless they come with (or make) friends in which case the bar is probably adequate fun for a week's stay. For more action they need to head to Falmouth Harbour which is 30 mins and USD80 return taxi.

For us this holiday was perfect. Not only were the staff universally friendly, they could not do enough for you if you asked for something. If I had to change one thing I would choose a date when older teenagers are present, or I would bring a couple of friends for my two oldest (aged 16) to hang out with in the evenings.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank latinbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

If you love to sail, or want to learn to sail or just love watching the beautiful water this is a great resort. We love quiet and relaxed holidays but we also like to meet new people and chat about our love of travel or sailing. Nonsuch feels like you are meeting people in a lovely home.The dining room is intimate with a beautiful view of the bay. The chef is first class, the food fresh and innovative and the service attentive and very professional.
The bar is a friendly meeting place where you can have a cold beer at noon or a lovely cocktail before dinner. The sailing school is a gem, the staff do all they can to make every age and skill level welcome. I am looking forward to returning as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer_hatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This was our second visit with our 7 year old daughter and 18 year old son. We travelled with two other familes with children age 9, 11 and 15. We love everything about Nonsuch Bay which is still really a fledgling resort. There were just 22 villas up and running during our visit. The setting is stunning, a beautiful bay with views out to Green Island, and all the stunning yachts and motorboats that are regular visitors. We love the sailing and Richard and his team provide a top class service from the beach with a good range of dinghies and of course the Elites (keel boats) .There is always something going on whether it is dinghy rugby, races or sail aways. The tuition is excellent. I also tried the kite surfing and will have another go next year. The accomodation is top rate. We had a fantastic beach front villa, and the staff are efficient and very friendly. Nigel is a top class chef and we all highly recommend the seared tuna. Our daughter has food allergies and was catered for really well. With Half Moon Bay, absolutely one of the best beaches in the world, around the corner (you need a car) this is a perfect resort for an active family with kids of all ages. Not cheap but worth every penny. A little spot of paradise!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny191272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My Husband and I visited this resort after finding it online. He is an avid sailor and we both just wanted to relax. Nonsuch Bay Resort provided the perfect combination. We rented a one bedroom villa in the main area and it was perfect for 2. It was nicely built and had a wrap around porch and 10 doors that opened up so you felt like your villa was part of the warm outdoors. They have done a good job with the grounds and are still working on making it better. Despite that all the units are not yet complete there was no construction going on and you couldnt really tell. The staff was more than accommodating and as time goes I'm sure will offer more services. The conditions were good for sailing most days, a couple days the winds were too high which was disappointing but the weather was sunny and beautiful. The resort still needs alot of things, it has only one restaurant which is expensive. After a certain number of days you just dont want the same options. They had very little in the way of quick foods - so no store to pick stuff up like fruit, sandwiches, pizza's, booze, snacks etc and they do need that badly, especially for baby and kids foods. There is very little on the island which adds to its beauty and charm but you are not going grocery shopping so the resort should do more in the way of offering preordered foods so your fridge/freezer is stocked when you arrive. They shld also offer a take out bar with fresh foods for quick pick up. You cannot and need not drive on the island as the roads are pretty rough and the resort is 40 minuates away from St Johns so take the shuttle and be prepared to be at the resort.
The sail boats are new and they have a good fleet. They did have only one race while we were there and should do them daily. They do also need to offer alternate sports facilities for those who dont sail like Tennis or a gym. Lastly, having a day care service one could contract, or small children's area would an asset to those who want to stay.

Bottom line, this is not a typcial resort which is what makes it a thousand times better than other places. If you love to sail, love the sun, want peace and quiet and terrific service this is the place for you.

We fully recommend it and would go back with family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BABW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Highly recommend this lovely resort. Great spacious and well appointed apartments and beach cottages -- not sure how well all those white soft furnishings will stand the test of time, but they are lovely now. (Personally I would not stay in a waterfront villa as there are on the far side of the resort and what the map doesn't show is that there is a hill between so they are rather cut off.) The accomodation has full kitchens for those who want to self-cater but we had half board package and the club house food was a highlight. The resort is not (yet) very full and rather quiet still (this is its first season). Quiet suited us, as it felt very exclusive and friendly, but quiet may not suit everyone.

There was a range of guests, mostly families but children of all ages and teenagers, who all seemed to be enjoying themselves, However, what almost everyone did have in common was sailing, At this stage, the resort is really best set up for sailors. (There is also windsurfing and kite surfing.) The sailing facilities and school are fantastic and the sailing has a very bespoke club feel with excellent kit and teaching. But if you don't sail there is not yet much to do beyond beach and pools, as the tennis courts, fitness centre and spa have not yet been built.

Excellent, cheerful and obliging service. Not always the fastest in the world, but we were on holiday.... We did not hire a car but would another time as it was nice to get out from time to time and cost of taxi trips add up. It will be interesting to see how its character develops as the resort becomes fuller. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freetown
11.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,884 reviews
12.9 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
471 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
4.7 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
12.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch Bay Resort

Address: Hughes Point, Freetown po 2208, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Freetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freetown
Price Range: £273 - £697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonsuch Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch Bay Resort nestles in forty exotic acres of the stunning bay carved out of the southeast of Antigua; embraced by lush tropical hills, a uniquely private and serene setting, a tranquil haven and home to wildlife including dolphins and turtles. Pure relaxation is blended with out-an-out adrenalin, and the finest luxuries with the simplest of pleasures. Resort facilities comprise a dramatically positioned restaurant, 3 infinity swimming pools, seclude sandy beach, 30 sailboats and tuition, kitesurfing, windsurfing, SUPs and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, West Indies, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nonsuch Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonsuch Bay Hotel Freetown
Nonsuch Bay Resort Antigua/Freetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing