We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day EVER!”
Review of Smiling Harry's

Smiling Harry's
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Freetown
Cuisines: Caribbean
Description: When entering the National Park "Half Moon Bay" just west of Freetown, you cant miss Smiling Harry's Restaurant and Bar.
Restaurant details
Description: When entering the National Park "Half Moon Bay" just west of Freetown, you cant miss Smiling Harry's Restaurant and Bar.
Watkins Glen, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Day EVER!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It's been 5 years (though the date I had to select says differently), but I think about our experience at Smiling Harry's almost daily and HAD to write about it! I recall saying to our friend who'd taken us there (who had grown up with a family villa just above Half Moon Bay which he still owns), "I don't think I could be ANY more content and happy than I am right now.....". Harry was an amazing host. The food was fantastic. It was a Sunday and we danced with locals to the music while we enjoyed the BEST rum punch we had had on the entire trip. My hubby was a "tv chef" at the time and Harry graciously allowed us to film. I felt like Antony Bourdain (a fave of mine) being welcomed into local lore! Going back with our grown kids is on my Bucket List!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorrieVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Local Place for Lunch”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Great place for lunch and close to a spectacular beach. The atmosphere has great local charm. They serve local food quickly and with a smile. The owner, Smiling Harry is always willing to chat. We also enjoyed the beach front location that Harry also runs. It was also in expensive and great value. We liked it so much we went twice. Highly recommend especially if you are going to spend the day at Half Moon Bay Beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annrcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had lunch here and the views are great, a perfect inexpensive local restaurant and Harry does smile as do his staff. The beach is great, could have stayed there all day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“traditional food”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

we enjoyed the fine traditional lunch at smiling harry twice…
we also bought a homemade chili sauce, which is hot (as it should be) and tasty!
he was so nice and also just to stop by for a drink when driving to half moon bay worth it.
his restaurant/bar name is just perfect for him. We really were smiling/laughing a lot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeiPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Rustic!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Friendly guy, local cheap food, average experience, no rum punch!!
Bar set back from beach. Locals eating here but not worth a special trip, beach however lovely, breezy and waves but gorgeous sand and sea color

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank faye f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smiling Harry's also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Smiling Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing