We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for on the beach food”
Review of Smiling Harry's

Smiling Harry's
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Freetown
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When entering the National Park "Half Moon Bay" just west of Freetown, you cant miss Smiling Harry's Restaurant and Bar.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not bad for on the beach food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We ate at Harry's at the suggestion of our taxi driver, Vincent. Apparently Vincent and Harry are old friends. Great cuisine? No. But it was serviceable diner-style food. Much more than you would expect from a beachside shack. We had barbecued chicken, read beans and rice, potato salad, and green salad. There is no menu, so Harry (who has a stunning resemblance to Samuel l Jackson, as Vincent pointed out) just rattles off two or three things to choose from. All in all, not a place to go out of your way to go too, but a perfectly serviceable option if you are looking for something to eat while swimming at half moon bay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Every beach should have a Harrys”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

It's all about the food and service here. After our family finishes on the beach, we stopped here for lunch. The service was efficient and the food authentic Caribbean. With daily choices available from a limited menu, you won't be disappointed. Casual, relaxed and by the beach, it was so good we returned another three times for lunch and the plates were empty every time. We loved it - I'm sure you will to!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very strong rum punch served here.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I loved visiting Smiling Harry's. He and his family are very friendly. We ate hamburgers and enjoyed fresh rum punch. And believe me, the rum punch can flatten you quick. It's really strong. If you have a rental car, have a designated driver.
The beach near the eating area (eating area is outdoors, but semi covered) is very clean and quiet. There is usually someone there selling local crafts to tourists. Worth the visit for the rum punch alone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SonyaInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

There is no one quite like Harry.
We love Half Moon Bay and Smiling Harry. For the past eight years we've spent the month of August in Antigua right above HMB. We go to the beach every day, and every day we stop at Harry's for drinks and conversation. Harry is a wonderful person, and his establishment is always full of interesting people from around the world. We even find our way to Harry's place when we stop in Antigua while o a cruise. That should tell you how much we enjoy Smiling Harry!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandtimegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkins Glen, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Day EVER!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It's been 5 years (though the date I had to select says differently), but I think about our experience at Smiling Harry's almost daily and HAD to write about it! I recall saying to our friend who'd taken us there (who had grown up with a family villa just above Half Moon Bay which he still owns), "I don't think I could be ANY more content and happy than I am right now.....". Harry was an amazing host. The food was fantastic. It was a Sunday and we danced with locals to the music while we enjoyed the BEST rum punch we had had on the entire trip. My hubby was a "tv chef" at the time and Harry graciously allowed us to film. I felt like Antony Bourdain (a fave of mine) being welcomed into local lore! Going back with our grown kids is on my Bucket List!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorrieVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smiling Harry's also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Saint George, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Smiling Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing