We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class Sunday Lunch”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Goodwick B&B and Inns
South West Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A first class Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First, a confession, I use this hotel often. It is friendly, serves good beer and has very good group of people working here. The crowning glory is the Sunday Lunch Carvery. Cooked by the owner and raconteur that is Bernard. The food is always hot and very fresh, often a problem with carveries. Our meal yesterday was exceptional. What Bernard does with herbs and spices can only be described as magical. The flavours are wonderful. If you're in the Fishguard/Goodwick area, search out this gem. Finally, it's worth a visit to receive a measure of Bernard's wit and gentle insults.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_james_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in the area and just by chance visited the hotel for a Sunday lunch time drink. We could n't have any food as we had a dog with us but it seemed very busy with locals enjoying Sunday lunch. The owner and staff were very friendly as were the locals who came outside to have a chat and offer advise on the local area. The beer and largers were in tip top condition so I would recommend a visit to this hotel if you are in the area don't be put off by the by the sign outside!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you're on the north Pembrokeshire coast path, seriously consider this pub / hotel by the ferry terminal. Excellent welcome, friendly clientele, clean rooms and great breakfast freshly cooked to order. Eight of us stayed on a Thursday night and the place was lively with the Aber Jazz festival kicking off. Better to stay here than in Fishguard itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

If you happen to find yourself in the vicinity of Fishguard, Wales, on a Sunday and you're looking for lunch, look no further than the Glendower Hotel. If Carling did Sunday lunches, they'd invent this hotel because they served up probably the best carvery lunch ever. Not a pub for real ale-lovers, so only four out of five, but the locals are friendly and the food delicious. Worth going out of the way for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Have eaten Sunday Lunch here on several occasions and I have to say that the food is excellent. There is a great variety of meats to chose from, and all are cooked really well. Roast beef, Pork, Lamb and Gammon. Add to this the lovely crunchy roast potatoes, fantastic leeks and a variety of other vegetables, this is a roast dinner that's hard to beat. You also have a selection of starters and desserts, although there wasn't a hot dessert there were plenty on the sweet trolley to pick from. We will definitely be back.. Great !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goodwick
0.5 mi away
The Seaview Hotel
The Seaview Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Tara Hotel
#4 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
0.5 mi away
The Ferryboat
The Ferryboat
#1 of 20 in Fishguard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Property: Glendower Hotel
Address: Goodwick Square | Pantyrychen, Goodwick, Fishguard SA64 0DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard > Goodwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Goodwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Goodwick, within easy walking distance of Fishguard Harbour, the Glendower Hotel is a friendly family run hotel with a traditional bar and a genuine local atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Goodwick, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing