We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a large group/Chester Races”
other travellers have booked this property
Hillfort Lodge - 5 bedroom accommodation.  Ideal for families/groups of all sizes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillfort Lodge - 5 bedroom accommodation.  Ideal for families/groups of all sizes
Lounge1 with log Burner. Patio doors opening onto large decking area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Hillfort Lodge - 5 bedroom accommodation.  Ideal for families/groups of all sizes
Lounge1 with log Burner. Patio doors opening onto large decking area.
Double Room
Family Room (1 x double bed & 1 x bunk bed set)
2nd Lounge Hillfort Lodge
kitchen 2 in Hillfort Lodge equipped with full oven, microwave, fridge/freezer
Double Bedroom
Large family bathroom with bath, shower, twin basins and toilet. Bath towels & hand towels provi
Picnic/BBQ area & Play area
Plenty of outdoor space
great veiws
lots of walks
love the snow
Clwydian Lodge
Clwydian Lodge bedroom one - Double room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Nercwys, Mold, Flintshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mitch P
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place for a large group/Chester Races”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for the weekend as a base for a trip to Chester Races. There were 10 of us and so our accommodation options were somewhat limited, but I have to say this was an excellent location regardless.

The lodge has 5 bedrooms, 2 bath rooms and 2 kitchens, so it's ideal for large groups: we were able to split the cooking and washing up across the two kitchens and 2 bathrooms were a must with 10 people!!

There's plenty of room for 5 cars to park, and - good size of grounds - there's a BBQ, but unfortunately the July 'summer' weather precluded us from enjoying this!

The beds were really comfy, as were the sofas. There's a big dining table that seated all 10 of us, so we could enjoy a breakfast of kings

Accommodation was lovely and clean, with all the kitchen utensils and pots that we needed to cook dinner and breakfast.

The only downside is that there is literally NO internet or mobile signal, and no WIFi...so we had to talk to each other instead! Joking aside, in the interests of conversation, a lack of Internet could be considered a good thing, but in the event of an emergency it's not a good thing, so bear this in mind.

Our stay was for a trip to Chester Races. It's a half hour drive away, so bear this in mind, and we struggled to get a taxi so had to drive into Chester. However a taxi back was only £31, so between 5 of us that wasn't too bad.

Overall, well recommended. We are going to book to go again next year, so that probably tells you all you need to know!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Hi thanks for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and chester races we are glad you are booking again for next year but dont forget to book your taxi in advance also hopfully you will have better reception on your phone normally its not to bad if you stand on a ladder. Only kidding
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant T
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base for outdoor adventures”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Have just returned from an excellent long weekend in Hillfort Lodge which we used as a base for riding the mountain bike trails at Coed Llandegla.

Brian and Angela were extremely helpful and accommodating in arranging the stay, getting back to us via email and text almost immediately every time. Upon arrival Angela showed us round, explaining how everything worked and where everything was. After a long journey the tea, coffee, milk and sugar provided was much appreciated! The lodge was spotlessly clean and much bigger than we expected.

Coed Llandegla is only 10 minutes away by car, which is what attracted us in the first place and after hours of dragging ourselves round the trails the hot showers and clean towels at the lodge were appreciated by all. Using the excuse of mountain biking to get friends from around the country in one place it was really good to be able to get everyone round the large dining table for a sit down meal for the first time in many years.

The beds and bedding were, like everything else in the lodge, all comfortable and clean and were well needed at the end of each day for those of us who were a little out of practice on the bikes.

Although phone/internet reception was a little hit and miss (as expected with the lodge being quite remote) it wasn't missed at all as we watched biking DVDs on the lodge's DVD player and explored the games cupboard. Two grown men spent 4 hours completing a jigsaw which at least kept them quiet and out of trouble.

The next time we ride at Coed Llandegla we won't hesitate to contact Brian and Angela to stay again, and in fact those of us with families have put it on the list to come back with the children and extended families to make us of the Play Park and generous outdoor space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. Your kind comments are much appreciated. Look forward to your return visit be it with friends or family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisew91...
Javea, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

stayed at Rhydtalog for two nights between Christmas and New Year and what a brilliant time we had. We were a family of ten, five adults and five children age range 3 to 66 years. The lodge is immaculate, lots of room for us all and beautifully decorated.
Brian and Angela were there to welcome us and give us the necessary information about everything.
Everything was there for a self catering break and they even provided a starter pack of tea, coffee, sugar and milk plus some cleaning materials which were very welcome.
Lots of towels and nice linen provided with very comfortable beds. The central heating was very efficient and there was a log burner which made it very cosy at night, in fact we didn't need the heating at night as the log burner was enough.
All the family enjoyed their stay and would recommend it to anyone. We were there during the Christmas period and the lodge was beautifully decorated for Christmas which the children were thrilled about (as were the adults)!
Plenty of space outside and lots of games and dvd's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Countryside location away from it all and overall comfort of the lodge
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments. So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
114anner
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Possibly more than we expected, brilliant.”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Family weekend break, travelling from Stevenage, Lincoln and Lancashire. Beautiful setting and views. Lodges very clean and spacious. Lovely outside areas which would be great in the warm weather. Definitely worth a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remoteness of the place.
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hillfort lodge. We are always happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wranspbc5
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Perfect for an extended family get together.
The owners were friendly the lodge. The stunning views and quiet area were perfect. Plenty of space inside, the rooms were a very good size. Even with 12 of us there it didn't feel crowded. The bigger living room has a wood burner which was a lovely touch. I'm sure we'll return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: sat nav directions a little misleading at the very end for all cars that came
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trips_aho...
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived as a group of 8 including 2 children, owners were very welcoming and informative about the property (heating and hot water etc). We had a lovely weekend in the lodge, plenty of grounds and a small play area for the boys to play. Beautiful scenery. More than enough room for our family and more if we wished. Lodge is not far from Chester, so had a lovely day exploring Chester city using a treasure hunt purchased online before we arrived. Would definitely return to lodge and would stay for longer.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. Hope to see you and your family again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy W
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ideal family getaway!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

7 members of my family rented the Hillfort Lodge when attending a family celebration nearby and we stayed over the bank holiday weekend. We were all really delighted with the quality of the accommodation, which was both modern and clean, spacious and well equipped. Because we had hired both sides of the lodge (it can split into two separate lodges) there were ample bedrooms for all of us, 2 kitchens and 2 lounges and a single dining area. The lodge is situated at the summit of a hill, so it can be a bit windy and cool but the central heating supplied warms the house very quickly. It is situated in lovely surroundings with great views, and garden space to run around in. It is somewhat isolated in it's location and if you intend to visit the locality you will need a car, particularly for shopping as the nearest large supermarket is situated in Mold some 6-7 miles away. There are some local pubs but again you would need to drive to them. There is a local taxi service but it is not extensive. There are barbecue facilities in the garden although we didn't use them, and a children's climbing/play area. There are no Wi-Fi facilities available and phone signals can be erratic, but we found that we perhaps had a better time without the technology! The owners provide a full briefing on arrival as they do not live near to the premises so once they have left you are pretty much left to your own devices. We had a great time here and we are definitely looking at coming back next year for maybe a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you for your reveiw and so pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay. We are looking into installing wifi in the future so hopefully if you do return we will be up and running.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing