We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous stay at castello di spessa”
Review of Castello di Spessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Spessa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent 4 unforgettable days in March in castello di Spessa, Capriva dei Friuli, in the friuli region.
Beautiful, elegant, peaceful castle hotel, set amidst a lovely, sumptuous park, surrounded by a golf course. Very well decorated interiors. Excellent restaurants in the grounds. Various possibilities of agreable walking trails and driving loops amongst the great vineyards of the Collio in the Friuli region.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wow! This castle-turned-hotel is Amazing! I was visiting with a tour group. We had a local historian provide information about Casanova's stay and the use of the castle by the Nazis. Ask about the history!

The grounds are beautiful. There is plenty of outdoor space to stroll, sit, and enjoy the regional views. There is also a full golf course on site.

The rooms are beautiful with period furnishings. My room had a glass chandelier for a light fixture. Other room amenities included wi-fi and a mini fridge.

The breakfast was lovely. And, there is an amazing wine cellar that you can tour.

Please note, I was traveling in August, and my room was hot. The a/c barely worked, and this was true throughout my vacation. I was told that Americans run a lot of a/c compared to the Europeans. I was hesitant to open my windows as there were a lot of mosquitos outside in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank removeyourshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Every year we stay about 3 times in this beautiful setting amongst vine yards and a great golf course.
The very old building is in great condition, the gardens are beautiful and the staff very helpfull.
Great views, great rooms and a great golf course!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and the setting is absolutely beautiful. Our room was large and comfortable. The only thing that was missing was a tub for soaking (other rooms may have tubs I didn't ask) - we were on a cycling trip, so it would have been nice to have a big deep tub for a soak after our long hilly ride. The breakfasts were served in a very large Italian kitchen and were wonderful. I liked that the breakfasts included scrambled eggs in addition to the European staples of bread, cheese, meat and fruit. We were fortunate enough to have a local historian come and tell us about the history of the castle and of the Friuli region in general, which made staying there that much more fascinating. If you are lucky enough to get to stay here, be sure and read the write up of the Castle's history which can be found in your room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent two nights here in April in one of the loveliest rooms possible, #13. Spacious, exquisite in decor, and quiet. Also, the eat-in breakfast kitchen was a dream! As the place wasn't busy, we had time to talk to the multi-purpose bellman/breakfast helper, who had been there for seven years. He gave us a private tour of the entire ground floor, which is used for weddings, etc. Just amazing, with Murano glass chandeliers everywhere, a bride's room, a hunting room, a billiard room and more!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Александр В
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dandy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capriva del Friuli
4.2 mi away
Hotel Franz
Hotel Franz
#1 of 2 in Gradisca d'Isonzo
661 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Entourage - Palazzo Strassoldo
0.9 mi away
Relais Russiz Superiore
Relais Russiz Superiore
#1 of 3 in Capriva del Friuli
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vinnaeria La Baita
Vinnaeria La Baita
#2 of 3 in Capriva del Friuli
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tavernetta al Castello
Tavernetta al Castello
#3 of 3 in Capriva del Friuli
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Spessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spessa

Address: Via Spessa 1, 34070 Capriva del Friuli, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Gorizia > Capriva del Friuli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Capriva del Friuli
Price Range: £148 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Spessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Spessa is an historical residence in the heart of Collio in Friuli Venezia Giulia, one of the most famous Italian wine regions. It was built in 1200, and for centuries it was the residence of the aristocracy and a destination of illustrious personalities as Giacomo Casanova and Lorenzo Da Ponte; the castle offers 15 romantic rooms decorated in Venetian ‘700 and ‘800 style, and is part of a resort consisting of Castello di Spessa winery, Wine Shop, 18 holes golf course, Bistrot Il Gusto di Casanova, Hotel and gourmand Restaurant La Tavernetta al Castello, bar and restaurant Hosteria del Castello, digital detox Apartments in the vineyards furnished in country-chic style, and country hospitality at La Boatina in Cormons not far from the castle. It is also possible to visit the medieval wine ageing cellars, the most ancient in the area, and taste our wines by appointment. The Resort is the ideal location for ceremonies and classy events, as well as to organize meetings and conferences, thanks to the equipped Conference Room Casanova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello di Spessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing