We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I agree, its terrible.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn and B&B

The Wheatsheaf Inn and B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws yn Rhos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wheatsheaf Inn and B&B
Conwy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I agree, its terrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We took Mum for mothers day lunch a few days after the official day, it was dark, completley lacking atmosphere, and VERY dated. Scruffy appearance, OOD signage, and the food took 40 minutes to arrive, and when it did, it was terrible. Cold, and tasteless.
We complained of course, but had little response. I was so incensed that I sent my wife and my mother to the car, and asked to speak with the management. The barman rang "downstairs" butsaid no-one was available - although he had just spoken to his manageron the phone!
I siad I was paying only £5 for the whole experience ( bill was around £20 ) and gave him my phone and car registration - no one bothered to contact us. TERRIBLE experience and we shall NEVER return. We live 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimConwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have been coming here since I was about 4.. I am now 20 I have many memories from here through growing up, This place is a gem. I have always found it is very homely and once your in you don't want to go back out! The food is absolutely amazing and I would recommend anyone to try the beef sunday dinner. I came along with my dad yesterday after not coming for a couple of years and this pub still has the homely feeling. I have never stayed here in one of the rooms so couldn't comment, I'm sure they are spot on though! The only thing I can critize on is the portion of veg shared between 2 with the Sunday dinner- It was enough but a small portion. I have reccomened this pub to family and friends and will never stop coming to this hidden gem.
Beautiful :-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimzybaby91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had an evening at the Wheatsheaf Inn while we were staying nearby. The owners were very welcoming & as we had 3 children with us they were more than happy to accommodate our needs. We had a lovely meal & a very enjoyable evening in this very cosy Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My Fiancée and I come here on our first date a few years back, so it was very fitting that he should ask me to marry him here. Lisa and Bernard, couldn’t not have been more helpful, if they tried. Even, going that extra mile to make the table look so nice and the chef making chocolate hearts for our desserts. The food was fantastic, the atmosphere is wonderful.
We hadn’t planned on spending the night but they had a room free, the room as clean, tidy and the bathroom as spotless, plenty of tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast was lovely as well and if you didn’t want the breakfast they would of made us a packed lunch.
We will definitely be going back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Potty-Ottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Always pop into the Wheatsheaf after shopping at Llandudno on our way home for some tea. W e love it there always get a home cooked meal. Lisa and Bernard are very welcoming. All day serving food too on a sunday which is great for us, dog friendly too proper little country pub with a lovely fire to greet you not many of these places left now been going there for years with my children too.Havent taken my dog there yet have to give him a trip out bet he will love it too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
463 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We Live in a village which is quite close to the Wheatsheaf Inn and have over the years frequented the Inn for meals.on many an occasion but never wrote a review for Trip Advisor.
I Think it is about time we did.
In all the times we have had a meal we have never had one complaint.
It was always served hot Quick and Very Tasty.
It has been a while since we went last for a meal however so when we past the other day we called in for a swift one at the bar.
The place hasnt changed at all, It is after all quite a few Hundred Years old and it is set in one of Wales nicest Villages. So what more could you ask for,yes its off the Beaten Track so why not give this place a try and stay a night or two. You will not be Dissapointed Guaranteed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUMBRIAVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

A lovely character pub in a quiet, pretty village. Hosts Bernard and Lisa were really welcoming and offered great food, great beer, a relaxed atmosphere and comfortable rooms.
Our family room was large, warm, clean and nicely furnished with a great en suite.
Bernard cooked a lovely breakfast which set us up for the day.
The evening meal was enjoyed by everyone in our party, and the chef took the trouble to cater to our personal requests.
The bar is traditional and cosy with two real fires and some comfy sofas to relax in.
There are lots of places to explore locally and further afield and the surrounding area is really pretty.
Overall I can highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The spacious en suite family room was a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws yn Rhos
4.5 mi away
The Kinmel Arms
The Kinmel Arms
#1 of 8 in Abergele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ffarm Country House
Ffarm Country House
#1 of 3 in Betws yn Rhos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Vicarage Cottage B&B
Old Vicarage Cottage B&B
#2 of 3 in Betws yn Rhos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn and B&B

Property: The Wheatsheaf Inn and B&B
Address: Dolwen Road, Betws yn Rhos LL22 8AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Betws yn Rhos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Betws yn Rhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Inn And B&B Betws Yn Rhos, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing