We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B”
Review of The Farm, Snead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Farm, Snead
Ranked #2 of 2 Snead B&B and Inns
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Farm is simply outstanding in every respect. On arrival we were treated to a pot of tea and delicious home made teisen gri (traditional Welsh griddle cake).
The accomadation is very comfortable and en-suite bathroom facilities excellent, the bedroom offered panoramic views accross the Welsh countryside.
As the farm is somewhat isolated, we had pre-booked an evening meal, which was served in a delightful private dining room. Sandra is the most amazing cook and served up a roast pork dinner with all the trimmings, the quality and choice of desserts on offer (all home made) would not be beaten in any top restaurant! Sandra, Alan and their daughter Rebecca were most attentive, ensuring there was always plenty of wine and extra food on the table for us to enjoy.
Breakfast was the same high quality as the evening dinner, all the ingredients are locally sourced and cooked to perfection. If you're looking for outstanding B&B and a very warm Welsh welcome; you will not be disappointed at the Farm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is one of the most delightful B&Bs I've ever had the fortune to stay at. I stayed in a very comfortable double room with a digital tv and walk in shower room. There was plenty of room to park my car and just over the back of where I parked my car there were some lovely chickens.

The room was very spacious - not that this is necessary, as the grounds are amazing. The grounds are decked with tables and chairs which guest can sit outside and have breakfast, read the newspaper or just enjoy the weather and the beautiful grounds.

To top of a super stay, the owners of the grounds and the B&B are the nicest people. Alan and Sandra could not have made me feel more welcome, and along with Meg (their corgi), I've had the most gorgeous stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Had a truly wonderful experience at the Farm Snead...firstly, a really warm welcome; Alan and Sandra are very knowledgeable and friendly hosts who provided excellent food and a very comfortable and quiet bedroom with lovely views. The B&B is set in a former working farm (there are still sheep about) and the eggs for breakfast come from the chickens outside...the bread is home-made and delicious and most of the breakfast ingredients, if not made or grown on-site, are apparently locally sourced. The gardens are delightful and the views are wonderful...I felt as if I was in Tuscany (made even more real by the glorious weather). There are incredible walks to be had close by (my real passion), with breath-taking views of the Shropshire/Welsh countryside...add in some very good pub grub afterwards and a cosy bed to finish...what's not to like?? Would definitely stay again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eidde54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Farm was in a beautiful location and the owners were friendly and helpful. A generous, cooked to order breakfast was served in a lovely old dining room. HOWEVER the room we were allocated (a twin with private bathroom) was definitely not up to the standard we were expecting of a 4 star B&B. The room was very small and didn't have anywhere to store clothing - no drawers or wardrobe! The bathroom was actually a shower room - no bath - although this was not a problem as we prefer to shower. It was along the landing, very dated and robes were not provided to get to it in privacy. The owners charge the same rate for this room as they do for other larger rooms with en-suite facilities although, after some negotiation, they did agree to a small reduction. This accommodation was far below the standard of other 4 star B&B's we have stayed at in Wales.

Room Tip: Do not book the twin room with private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon190731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I was working around 15 miles away from The Farm, however after talking to Sandra on the phone I felt it would be worth the travel,it was , The Farm is in the middle of glorious landscape and the room that I had was very spacious and comfortable, breakfast was out of this world including home made bread.
Alan and Sandra make you feel very welcome in the home and to do every thing they can to make your stay as comfortable as possibile, I will defintely stay they again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hams
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A great farmhouse B&B near Bishops Castle. When we arrived our hostess Sandra predicted (correctly as we found out later) that the eateries of Bishops Castle would be full and therefore booked us a table at a nearby pub, which we would never have found on our own. The food was excellent. Our rooms at The Farm were large, well equipped and very quiet

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7barrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Farm, Snead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm, Snead

Property: The Farm, Snead
Address: Snead SY15 6EB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Snead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Snead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farm, Snead 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Farm, Snead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farm, Snead Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing