We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming”
Review of Drewin Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drewin Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Church Stoke B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2013

On arrival, welsh cakes and bara brith and a cup of tea were waiting for us in a warm kitchen. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable and the views spectacular. Ceinwen was extremely welcoming and is a very friendly host. Although we did not partake, the tea and cake was on offer on each day (we stayed three days). Breakfast was exactly what was needed to start a day walking, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast and toast. Alternatives were offered, had we have wanted them.
From what I saw the whole family are happy to welcome guests and that includes the dogs especially Jess who sat on my feet as I was trying to unload the car just in case I missed giving her a pat.
I could not recommend this place enough. They understand the hikers need and make sure they provide for it..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

A real welcome with tea and great home baking. A working farm with a very comfortable relaxed feel we were given a lift to a splendid pub in Bishops Castle and kindly collected afterwards. The breakfast was fresh and delicious and most important the host was totally charming and friendly. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaffsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Lovely rooms, lovely views, lovely breakfast and lovely host. My family loved it and already looking to return next year. It was wonderful to be welcomed with tea and welsh cakes, which were very nice and much appreciated. Wish we could have stayed a longer but we will next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We walked the extra 5 miles to make the 'switchbacks' a bit shorter the next day, a bit of a struggle but what a welcome at the Drewins. Fresh tea and home-made Welsh cakes in a warm kitchen - just what we needed. The rooms were just like you would picture a farm-house B & B to be like in a fairy tale! Within an hour I felt completely refreshed. Lovely comfortable lounge - I got the recliner, which was very welcome and then the bedroom was just perfect.
After the full Welsh breakfast with porridge the switchbacks were a breeze (figuritively speaking of course).

Room Tip: If you like a bath just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-boyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Couldn't agree more with Duncan S that Drewin Farm is an ideal place to stay when walking Offa's Dyke. This is especially so due to the fact that the section Knighton to Cwm is probably the toughest on the whole walk, and we managed to strike it just after the wettest week for a million years, making it even harder. After a hellish day, to be welcomed into the kitchen for coffee and the wonderful Bara Brith is just heaven. Ceinwen had had to go out before we made it there but kindly arranged for her daughter and family to welcome us and serve us dinner - it was truly appreciated - they even carried our bags up to our rooms. The hospitality was fantastic, food was great, the room was wonderful with a divine view & a great bed, not to mention the shower and the gigantic heated towel rail. I can't recommend Drewin farm highly enough - we were made to feel like part of the family and Ceinwen even shared her recipe for Bara Brith with me but I have to say my version is no where as good................

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeregianAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Drewin Farm is an ideal place to stay when walking the Offa’s Dyke path (just a hundred yards or so off the track). After the tough Knighton to Cwm section it was great to be welcomed at Drewin Farm by Ceinwen and Robert Richards with a plate of Bara Brith and a hot chocolate. The whole farmhouse had a homely, relaxed feel to it and our rooms were very spacious with comfortable beds and well supplied with teas (including Earl grey), coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits.
One point that some guests may need to take note of is that the stairs up to the bedrooms are wide but quite steep.
On the evening that we arrived at Drewin Farm Ceinwen was not cooking but Robert was quite happy to drive us to the nearby Mellington Hall Hotel for dinner and collect us after the meal. The food there was very good but the service was rather slow, such that we had to ask the receptionist to call Drewin Farm to delay Robert’s return trip.
Drewin Farm’s breakfast the following morning was truly excellent, served at 7:45am so that we could make and early getaway. To start there were big bowls of fresh strawberries and fruit salad. This was followed by creamy porridge (which we had requested the night before) and then all the usual cooked options up to a full Welsh breakfast - all beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed two nights with Cainwen Richards at Drewin Farm. It is only a hundred yards off Offa's Dyke, so very convenient, with an amazing view to the north so you can see where you've been and feel very pleased with yourself. She is a loving, sunny, warm, bubbly person, nothing is too much trouble, and the farmhouse is charming in a slightly old-world sort of way, having been in the family for generations. We were treated as friends, invited to join her and the other two guests, who are old friends of hers, for dinner at nearby Mellington Hall, and really looked after. We particularly appreciated being allowed to come back and let ourselves in for an unscheduled second night with her, as she and her friends had advised us not to try to drive home after doing the switchbacks. They were right!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Drewin Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drewin Farm

Address: Church Stoke SY15 6TW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Church Stoke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stoke
Price Range: £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th C farmhouse retaining much of its original character with oak beams and Inglenook fireplace. En-Suite bedrooms with panoramic views. Fully central heated. Offa's Dyke path runs through the farm. Best Breakfast award for Wales, WTB Award, which recommended. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drewin Farm Church Stoke, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing