We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good/very good”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brynarth Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lledrod B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good/very good”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The communal grounds are lovely and the games room is fun. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable but small and it would have been more comfortable to have a shower instead of a bath with a hand-held shower head. James was friendly and helpful with his advice. We were a little disappointed by the breakfast. The fruit salad was out of a tin and the jams were pre-packaged. It all felt a little cheap given the price we had paid. Perhaps, we had been spoiled because we had just come from the best B&B we had ever stayed in and we had high expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
130
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed in a cosy single room for a couple of nights. Everything was spotless, James and Stuart were very accommodating and the setting is beautiful, really peaceful. Would really recommend anyone staying in the Aber area who wants a bit of peace and quiet, whilst being thoroughly looked after gives it a go.

Room Tip: As a solo traveller, rooms 8 & 9 were perfect. Cosy, with everything you would need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Beautiful setting, amazing view, lovely comfy,clean well appointed rooms. James and Stuart provide something different with their excellent customer service and relaxing atmosphere. They are friendly warm and nothing is too much trouble. Really recommend you give it a try. My party had a diverse age group teenagers to ninety years old and all loved it. can only say you just feel better for staying there. Food is of a high standard and am looking forward to the custard and ice cream added to the menu (dont forget the strawberries). Different relaxing fun, loved it. looking forward to coming again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our second visit to Brynarth, and even better than our first, because we were able to stay longer. James and Stuart are perfect hosts, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Our room was even serviced daily, so that we never had to ask for more teabags or anything else! We were even offered fresh milk for an evening cuppa - just perfect.
The food is superb: all fresh ingredients sourced as locally as possible, and from known and trusted suppliers. We opted for dinner at Brynarth each evening, and it was like eating at a Michelin-starred restaurant, but without the superfluous fuss, and with far more generous portions!
The grounds at Brynarth are beautiful, and the new fish pond is a real attraction, with koi carp, goldfish, and water lilies - so restful to watch in the heatwave we had last week. (Which is why sleep quality only gets the 4-star rating - not Brynarth's fault!)
Can't wait for our third visit.

Room Tip: Free wifi in Farmhouse rooms, also in lounge and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Having driven the five hours from London we were more than grateful to be welcomed by James and Stuart with a lovely pot of tea and hot Welsh cakes. Located amongst the fields and forests of mid-wales, the view was spectacular from every vantage point. Little benches and seating areas were found around the property offering ample opportunity to relax. It was nice that our entire party was housed in the same part of the guest house. The single room with it's own en suite was of ample size for one person and the bed was extremely comfortable. The double bed rooms were slightly smaller due to the slanting roof but listening to James and Stuart's plans for improvement this will not be a problem for long. The guest house had a lot of charm and we were lucky to be able to enjoy breakfast outside. Breakfast was ordered the night before and made to our specifications. James and Stuart were happy to help with all our enquiries and charming in conversation generally. One of the biggest draws was the presence of spoodle, Brian, who was even able to win over my dog-fearing aunt with his sweet temperament and puppy-like enthusiasm.

Sophie and Marcella, London

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Brynarth is located out on the classic tiny Welsh roads in the middle of forests and farmland. Beautiful charming room with hand hewn lumber beams. Very comfy bed and we had an en suite room. Room is average size for European rooms and was easy for two people to move around. Dinner was a fantastic cod filet prepared by the owners and breakfast was full English and delicious. Wish we had stayed longer! There are some bike and walking trails nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

6 of us stayed here as part of a bike trip through Wales owing to the recommendations on trip advisor & the offer of secure parking. I'm glad to report that the fantastic reviews were not wrong.
Both Stuart and James were the perfect hosts. On arrival we were met with warm freshly baked cakes and pots of tea which was very welcome after our long day riding. The location is very much tucked away and so peaceful. The whole house and gardens are beautiful and obviously a lot of time is spent on the upkeep.

The rooms are all more than adequate and pristine. The lovely little snug was ideal for a glass of wine (or 2) and the only sound to wake you was wildlife!

Food was lovely and served at a time to suit us all. There were 2 other couples staying at the same time as us and they too were impressed with their meals.
Brian (the pet pooch) we considered dog napping him but he would not fit in the top box on the bike! He is gorgeous and exceptionally friendly.

The only thing I would improve is the showers. (That's very much a personal preference)

Stuart and James state they are fairly new to the hotel business but they were better hosts than anywhere else I have been.

Will we or I go back.... Yes without question. Secure parking. Lovely rooms. Stunning location and the warmest of welcomes with attention to detail at every turn. Go on treat yourself and book it up, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lledrod
7.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
473 reviews
9.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
9.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
339 reviews
6.3 mi away
Nanteos Mansion
Nanteos Mansion
#7 of 36 in Aberystwyth
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Brynarth Country Guest House

Property: Brynarth Country Guest House
Address: Trawsgoed Road, Lledrod, Aberystwyth SY23 4HX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Lledrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lledrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynarth Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynarth Country Guest House is nestled in rural splendor amongst some of the most stunning scenery in the Ystwyth Valley. It is owned and run by James Dwyer & Stuart Betts and is situated within the beautiful countryside in the foothills of the Cambrian Mountains. Brynarth is ideally located to access not only the many attractions in Ceredigion, The Ystwyth and Elan Valleys but is close enough to easily enjoy the bustling coastal town of Aberystwyth itself. The 17th Century farmhouse and barns have been tastefully and sympathetically renovated in keeping with Brynarth's age and time in history, with two acres of bluebell woods included within it's eight acres of grounds, Brynarth hosts an abundance of wildlife - including regular fly-pasts by red kites, successfully re-populating this area of mid-Wales. Bats, owls and pheasants are usually both seen and heard daily. Crystal clear spring water comes down from the mountains to supply Brynarth even through the driest of summers. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind, whether for a weekend break or a longer stay, and if you're feeling more energetic there is so much countryside waiting to be explored, particularly by foot or bicycle. The accommodation includes two double rooms in the main farmhouse, both with large en-suite shower rooms, one with sitting area and dual aspect windows looking out over the countryside. Just across the courtyard, The Old Dairy Barn has 5 delightful en-suite rooms, 2 being singles, plus a further double and a twin that share a bathroom and are ideal for use as a family 'suite' or small group. All rooms are centrally-heated, have free Wifi, radio alarm clocks and hair dryers, tea and coffee making facilities, Welsh toiletries and egyptian cotton towels. Rooms are serviced each day to make your stay as comfortable as possible. An iron and ironing board are available on request. Our Bed and Breakfast rates include a cooked breakfast of your choice from our menu, plus fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and toast and preserves. We pride ourselves on offering as much local, fresh produce as we can, most of our eggs come from our own chickens! Breakfast is served in the warm and welcoming farmhouse Dining Room. Evening meals can be arranged for groups of four or more guests and are bookable in advance. Dinner is normally served at 7pm and comprises a set menu of two courses, a main course and dessert, with after dinner coffee/tea/mints for £25 per person. If you wish to dine with us please note that we require at least 48 hours notice. Packed lunches are also available by arrangement, if you are planning a day out walking or cycling. Guests can relax in front of a log fire in the lounge with it's adjoining licenced Snug Bar. We are fully licensed with a good range of beers, wines and spirits. To enhance the evenings, there is a separate Games Barn where one can enjoy table tennis, pool & darts, here there is also a large colour television with comfy sofas. We have a large car park and also offer secure, covered parking to motorcyclists and cycles. We welcome 'Well-behaved' dogs by prior arrangement only. We have designated rooms that can accommodate your pet so please contact us first to check availability and requirements. We allow a maximum of 2 dogs per room. We charge £10 per dog for a one/two night stay, and then an additional £5 per night thereafter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brynarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynarth Country Guest House UK/Lledrod, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing